Vit4wd 1st Gear January 8, 2007 Author Share January 8, 2007 For me, I usually round the time off to the nearest minute, eg. if my watch shows 2:12pm, I tear off "2:15pm". There is this thing known as karma and all bad things will come back to one, eventually. I cannot reveal in a public forum who I got this info from, but it is because of this "cheating" of parking coupons that a certain authority is already in talks of planning to eventually build gantries at all public car parks (incl HDB lots). So eventually all payment will be by cashcard, and you get "billed" for your parking charges the moment you enter the parking compound, which means that you will be paying for the time that you circle around the parking lots looking for an empty lot. With charges based on the 1st hour and subsequent 1/2 hour, even if you park for 1 hr 3 mins, you pay for 1 1/2 hr charges (which is S$1.50 at current charges). Why is all these happening? Because of parkihg cheats which has resulted in a loss of revenue. To those who are going to flame me again, just watch this thread few yrs down the rd. They have already started the planning process. This is all I can reveal. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redswift Neutral Newbie January 8, 2007 Share January 8, 2007 Car owners try to cheat on petty things like : 1. Parking coupons (not displaying any or tearing off the labels at a later time) 2. Parking illegally to avoid paying parking charges 3. Waiting before the ERP gantry to avoid paying ERP charges (and obstructing traffic) Better off to be chauffeured around in a taxi. 1. You have NEVER displayed a parking coupon with a Later Time ? 2. Some times its not becos' drivers do it on purpose, maybe driver drove around and could not find a parking space at all ? 3. Waiting before ERP gantry is quite dangerous and common, but then again, maybe the driver did not have enough $$$ in the cashcard ? 4. Even Taxi drivers "cheat" on the above... go with the Bus ? Some people have Taxes, tons of Bills, Baby powder milk to buy, more bills, more summons, grandpa/ma to feed, maid services to pay....so by saving on every thing and Any Thing is necessary for some. With our gahment increasing on every thing, you don't want to save ? i agreed who dun wan to save money for other things so is normally for a person to have such a mentality Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flameevil Neutral Newbie January 8, 2007 Share January 8, 2007 i also "cheat" coupons~~ but the most 15 mins rah... need to be so zhun mehz? i realy hate opc driving during the day le, spotted a lot already.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
C708 Neutral Newbie January 8, 2007 Share January 8, 2007 (edited) To all nonsensical posters, IF YOU CANT AFFORD TO DRIVE......DUN DRIVE..... instead of posting stupid nonsensical postings...all behaving like little kids trying to justifying that cheating on coupons is OK [lipsrsealed] Edited January 8, 2007 by C708 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tploh Clutched January 8, 2007 Share January 8, 2007 The rich gets richer by being miser Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gary84 1st Gear January 8, 2007 Share January 8, 2007 some drivers just find it exciting to do it... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Metalslug Neutral Newbie January 9, 2007 Share January 9, 2007 maybe all should just give up driving and take public transport? end of the day, u can get your car but want to drive also expensive. i dont think we can reasonably deduce that the govt made the decision based on carpark coupon cheats, rather this is the way that it operates - since it is the most efficient way of getting revenue. we are thinking maybe we will get taxed on the air we breathe too, eventually. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mean76 1st Gear January 9, 2007 Share January 9, 2007 Car owners try to cheat on petty things like : 1. Parking coupons (not displaying any or tearing off the labels at a later time) 2. Parking illegally to avoid paying parking charges 3. Waiting before the ERP gantry to avoid paying ERP charges (and obstructing traffic) And ironically, these same owners can spend tonnes of money on modeifications, bigger sports rims wider tyres and ICE etc. ... worse still, spending money on unproven snake oil devices claiming to improve fuel economy. Why all the hassle and misery? Might as well not own a car. Better off to be chauffeured around in a taxi. To me, cheating from a drivers point of view is more like .. i) Cars patiently lining up one straight line to filter out of the area and 1 pigs charging down from the right and suddenly signal left and try to squeeze in near the front, as if the cars must give way. Most cars will give way because they cannot be bother with pigs like those. And remember those will always try this stunt. Yes, you're the pigs they are cursing at. ii) At certain lane where merging occurs, especially when the minor road are coming into the major road. Be thankful some drivers are kind enough to give way and let the cars pass, do not take for granted and the car behind also 'longpang' and squeeze in, sometimes ended up have to sudden brake. Very heaty to drive in Singapore somtimes. iii) Weekend cars, as mentioned. Driving like a normal car and hogging somemore, will never forget a pincanto OPC hogging my lane. How I wish a TP is around at the time. I don't recall seeing any stickers at the front windows for daily use. Such drivers are the real cheaters. LTA, TP will not come up with so much laws and regualtions in the first place if we all put our hands together and help each other while driving. My humble yet firm thoughts Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slayer Clutched January 9, 2007 Share January 9, 2007 U got a point there. the thing is , it is quite straining for most of run a car. can save, why not? afterall driving is about convenients and that is not easy to stomach to have to follow a system strictly and lose some convenients. if u know what I mean. we drivers always doing the balancing act of the panalty and convenients and cost. however, dangerous act that can result in accidents should be condemned. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Daniela Neutral Newbie January 10, 2007 Share January 10, 2007 this 1 better, outright Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hungryforcar 1st Gear January 10, 2007 Share January 10, 2007 Hey i didnt cheat on the parking fee, i bought park and ride and kena summon with the parking hours by URA. Write in for appeal and scold them upside down. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jacf Neutral Newbie January 10, 2007 Share January 10, 2007 (edited) For me, I usually round the time off to the nearest minute, eg. if my watch shows 2:12pm, I tear off "2:15pm". There is this thing known as karma and all bad things will come back to one, eventually. I cannot reveal in a public forum who I got this info from, but it is because of this "cheating" of parking coupons that a certain authority is already in talks of planning to eventually build gantries at all public car parks (incl HDB lots). So eventually all payment will be by cashcard, and you get "billed" for your parking charges the moment you enter the parking compound, which means that you will be paying for the time that you circle around the parking lots looking for an empty lot. With charges based on the 1st hour and subsequent 1/2 hour, even if you park for 1 hr 3 mins, you pay for 1 1/2 hr charges (which is S$1.50 at current charges). Why is all these happening? Because of parkihg cheats which has resulted in a loss of revenue. To those who are going to flame me again, just watch this thread few yrs down the rd. They have already started the planning process. This is all I can reveal. I think we have already seen ERP parking system for some HDB car parks. ERP parking system will require someone to be station on-site so as to resolve any parking problems that can occur( barrier cannot open,etc) and also checking of season parking lots are also required. Hence it's not profitable if the car park is not always full or occupied. I believe only those near or inside neighbourhood town centres will have the ERP parking system. Most HDB carparks have only a few cars during daytimes and also most which are season ticket parking. Hence it's more viable to have wardens going around to check on the cars in these HDB carparks. Yes, i do think that ERP parking will be carried out for some HDB car parks but surely not all. The days of the parking coupons will be here to stay for a long long time. The only thing that need to change to prevent cheating of parking is to change the way of using the parking coupons. To those who have used the MY parking coupons, u will know wat i meant.. Some correction on the ERP parking charges.. I once parked at TP Town centre HDB car park which is operated by ERP cashcard parking. There's is a grace period of 10 mins as i went in & out within 10 mins without any deductions. Also the charges are based on per min and not per half hour block. Which means if u parked for 42 mins, u dun pay $1.00, instead u only pay $0.50 + (50cts/30min)*12 min = 0.50 + 0.20 = $0.70. Hence it should be more fair for those who pay exactly the time that they park. Edited January 10, 2007 by Jacf ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...