"killing" each other with recent car buying fenzy??

Curahee

Ya...tell me about it. I regularly take the trip from Sembawang to Orchard MRT......and its always pack like siao. And mind u, im talking about the first or last carriage. Pack like Sardine man..... [shakehead][shakehead][shakehead]

So will you stop the "killing" by selling your car.. at least it's one off the road..

Anyway, traffic congestion is part and parcel of city living.. Frankly, we are controlling "rather well" but our pocket hurts..

Unless someone come out with better and more economical suggestions, we have to live the life of cheaper purchase of car but costly ownership in term of recurring expenses..

In Singapore, owning a car is a sign that your have "arrived". To help more people "arrive", the government is making car ownership more affordable, via reduction of ARF taxes. However, people will still have to pay for usage, ie parking, ERP, petrol. This will mean there will always be people who can haolian to their friends that they own a car, but take public transport most of the time, cos they can't afford the parking after stretching their finances to buy a car.

In reality, everyone is "renting" their cars for 10 years. With the lower cost of car purchase, it's only a matter of how many people fall into the trap of living beyond their means. [shakehead]

There's 2 schools of thoughts on this!

Some say "You have only 1 life! LIVE IT! Think so much; how to enjoy life? Just buy and enjoy your dream car and think about the problems later. You may not even live beyond tomorrow! What is the point of living if you cannot enjoy life?"

We have already been killing one another with the COE bidding frenzy in the early days. Remember the time when the COE for a 1.6l car costs $100k?

Using monetary disincentives as a means of regulation has been the norm since independence lipsrsealed.gif . Why else have we become a "fine" city?

never lah. for 1-1.6l, highest is 60+k. only for those 2000cc and above hit 100+k...

Every 1 of 4 adults in Spore is guilty of participation in driving the society crazy and helping to pollute the enviroment.

IMO, the more jialat issue is the CTE. Its really screw up. Jam for most parts of the day... unbelievable.

In 2004, there was some hints that a NS highway from Woodlands to City (parallel to CTE) is being planned.

Last yr, the tpt minister can come and say cost may not justify building it.

With the CTE almost bursting at the seams, if this is not justification, i dunno what is.

The minister shd move to Woodlands and stay there for 6 months and commute via the CTE and see the effects of their policies first hand.

hahaha, true. I live in the north and needs to travel via cte EVERY morning. tell me abt it.

well, tpt minister also mentioned in the papers that the current public tpt is not well utilised and make sense to make more ppl to use the world klas public tpt.

from above 2 pictures... you see that the garbemen does not want to improve both the traffic at cte and public tpt... what can we say.

bro, yup think last time you mentioned to me that you lived in Sembawang... if travel mrt from sembawang to city... piangz... I fully understand what you meant [sweatdrop].

sardine is an apt description.

If you think the cars are jamming up the roads.....pleaseeeeee take a ride on the mrt during peak hours...say.....Jurong East to City or even Pasir Ris or Woodlands to City area. Its practically a sardine situation on the trains. [dizzy][dizzy][dizzy]

Dont u think the traffic jams are bad.....wait till you try the public transport.....its 100 times worst!!!!!!!! [sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

Ya...tell me about it. I regularly take the trip from Sembawang to Orchard MRT......and its always pack like siao. And mind u, im talking about the first or last carriage. Pack like Sardine man..... [shakehead][shakehead][shakehead]

I wonder will the condition get worst as govt say wanna increase spore population to 6 millions. Can our transport system take it? Now as u mention train already so pack, some more they keep raising price...

I think in a way, increasing ERP price does help. Nowadays, let's say if I want to go Orchard, if I am not in a hurry, I will go in after 8pm and endure the jams with everybody else. But if I am in a hurry, I will go in during ERP hours as I know the traffic is much lighter during the ERP hours.

So will you stop the "killing" by selling your car.. at least it's one off the road..

For the time being its kind of impossible to sell my car, i need a car for my job as i need to do many traveling around for my business and other personal purposes.

so there you have it..

people have all sort of reason.. (valid or invalid as some term it) to own a car.. so what is the purpose of this thread? find reason to reduce the number of car?

or way to reduce congestion?

Dear all ,

Human and ghost are from gahmen !!!! another word can describes them they are two heads snake !!!