Curahee 1st Gear January 6, 2007 Share January 6, 2007 This two to three years, i notice that car ownership are increasing rapidly. Believe that in near future, more vehicles will be travelling on the road. Traffic condition getting worse, travelling time lengthen compare to few years ago, parking time also lengthen due to large amt of car and CP full, even for my HDB area, when i reach home late, i need to park at another CP as the one below my block all filled up with new cars. If condition get worst, i believe govt will intervene and solve problems with monetary means eg. more ERP gentry, increase ERP price, CP price etc. I wonder if this goes on, are we "killing" each other with such car buying fenzy?? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vooth 2nd Gear January 6, 2007 Share January 6, 2007 Most everyone wants to own a car in singapore mah, so they don't care about the consequences. Esp. when prices are quite affordable now, pple just chiong, buy opc also never mind... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnoikj Neutral Newbie January 6, 2007 Share January 6, 2007 Worse is buy OPC and try to cheat... Should clamp down on this type of drivers... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vesfreq Neutral Newbie January 6, 2007 Share January 6, 2007 Most prob those who drive during peak hours (ie, the morning and after rush hour) will kena more erp and town parking will only get more jialat. For your case, I think your area just happened to kena all this congestion in your neighbourhood CP. If you have a look at the CP around my area (ie, Woodlands/ Sembawang), a number of CP is quite under-used. The problem would be more of uneven parking lot availability. IMO, the more jialat issue is the CTE. Its really screw up. Jam for most parts of the day... unbelievable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vooth 2nd Gear January 6, 2007 Share January 6, 2007 Just let them lor, kanna caught just once will be enough to burn their pockets deep deep... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alpha78 6th Gear January 6, 2007 Share January 6, 2007 We have already been killing one another with the COE bidding frenzy in the early days. Remember the time when the COE for a 1.6l car costs $100k? Using monetary disincentives as a means of regulation has been the norm since independence . Why else have we become a "fine" city? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear January 6, 2007 Author Share January 6, 2007 Yeah now i feel that the current condition is still acceptable, juz hope with the future increment of car ownership will not deteriorate the road and traffic conditions. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear January 6, 2007 Author Share January 6, 2007 Imo, such measure really decrease the number of cars on the road. But such measure make car ownership extremely in affordable, only the rich can afford. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged January 6, 2007 Share January 6, 2007 Well, it's a 'free' country. Anyone who can afford a car can buy one if he wants. We can't stop them. How are we going to tell who can buy a car and who cannot? See of it this way, soon it will be a case of only those who can afford to, can drive a car during peak hours. Then the 'killings' will probably lessen. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alpha78 6th Gear January 6, 2007 Share January 6, 2007 In Singapore, owning a car is a sign that your have "arrived". To help more people "arrive", the government is making car ownership more affordable, via reduction of ARF taxes. However, people will still have to pay for usage, ie parking, ERP, petrol. This will mean there will always be people who can haolian to their friends that they own a car, but take public transport most of the time, cos they can't afford the parking after stretching their finances to buy a car. In reality, everyone is "renting" their cars for 10 years. With the lower cost of car purchase, it's only a matter of how many people fall into the trap of living beyond their means. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fang Neutral Newbie January 6, 2007 Share January 6, 2007 This two to three years, i notice that car ownership are increasing rapidly. Believe that in near future, more vehicles will be travelling on the road. Traffic condition getting worse, travelling time lengthen compare to few years ago, parking time also lengthen due to large amt of car and CP full, even for my HDB area, when i reach home late, i need to park at another CP as the one below my block all filled up with new cars. If condition get worst, i believe govt will intervene and solve problems with monetary means eg. more ERP gentry, increase ERP price, CP price etc. I wonder if this goes on, are we "killing" each other with such car buying fenzy?? the garmen's position on this issue has been apparent for some time already. i.e to make car ownership affordable but car usage expensive Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vesfreq Neutral Newbie January 6, 2007 Share January 6, 2007 The thing about everyone "renting" their cars for 10 years. Its old news. The best way to beat the system is never to buy a car, or be like one of those guys who buy one car drive more than 10 years and renew COE. I wouldn't even say that car buying is causing more people to fall into the trap of living beyond their means. Have a look at credit cards.... Thats truly evil. Use card to buy 5 apple, but if never pay up, have to return 5+5 apple. Or have a look at how some people overstretch to buy a condo... Its just as bad. Its all in the name of poor financial sense or is it sheer ego? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ltcy Clutched January 6, 2007 Share January 6, 2007 Initially, what was the reason for the garment to implement the COE system??? To control the number of cars on the road. Then a decade later, they announced that they wished to increase the car ownerships in Singapore, and the target was 1 out of 4 households own a car. Therefore they increase the supply of COE and lower the tax to reach this target. When this target is reached, they will tell you that the congestion condition in Sg is getting worse. And they will have to think of SOLUTIONS to solve this problem. And their solution will always be the same. Increase ERP, parking charges, number of ERP gantries, increase of Tax. This work out to increase of revenue for them. Isn't they contradicting themselves? Many yrs back, they encourage Singaporeans to have more time with the family. Encourage everyone to go home earlier after work, to have dinner with the family, to spend time with the family. Then suddenly, they set up a ERP gantry to charge those who wish to go home early to spend time with the family. Their reason was to solve the congestion problem. But was the problem solve??? Everyone knows the answer to this. Conclusion, our garment has the power to walk up to a white man and force him to believe that he is a black man. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear January 6, 2007 Share January 6, 2007 If you think the cars are jamming up the roads.....pleaseeeeee take a ride on the mrt during peak hours...say.....Jurong East to City or even Pasir Ris or Woodlands to City area. Its practically a sardine situation on the trains. Dont u think the traffic jams are bad.....wait till you try the public transport.....its 100 times worst!!!!!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Barcode 1st Gear January 6, 2007 Share January 6, 2007 No need peak hour ah... take a train on a weekday at say 12 noon, from jurong east to pasir ris, u won't even have a seat. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keithpapa Neutral Newbie January 6, 2007 Share January 6, 2007 that is why I quite bochap my ride. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Landex Clutched January 6, 2007 Share January 6, 2007 unfortunately it has oredi begun..... lottas of young pple r oredi caught in the web... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Landex Clutched January 6, 2007 Share January 6, 2007 u 4got to mention dat there r chio-bu to bio.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...