Genie47 1st Gear January 2, 2007 Share January 2, 2007 OK I was at Xtra at AMK today. Went to the automotive section and saw Coughlube selling there. The 10W30 mineral oil is going for 29.90 The 5W30 blend is going for 39.90 Now here is the funny part. Somebody better tell the folks at Xtra to do more research. Coughlube 5W40 now appears in two forms. The long tall slim bottle and the familiar curvvy bottle. The long tall slim bottle is going for 39.90 and the curvvy bottle is going for 43.xx. All volumes are 5L. The difference is the curvvy bottle says FULLY SYNTHETIC and the long tall slim bottle has no such words.....AH! I get it! FULLY SYNTHETIC = PAY MORE! Both bottles say Tetrosyl on it. They are both the same oil at the same grade at 5W40. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear January 2, 2007 Share January 2, 2007 Think it not so slim lah, just boxy in looks.... I just used the squarish bottle which I understand to be the older packaging. (mine said produced in 2002) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear January 2, 2007 Share January 2, 2007 seh kor already, 4yr Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear January 2, 2007 Author Share January 2, 2007 I'm talking about the new bottle looks that is the same as the one at KOFFOR that is sold in the name of AutoChem. Also by Tetrosyl. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear January 2, 2007 Share January 2, 2007 Yah.... read somewhere that oils have shelf life of like 5 years or something.... so bought cheap cheap.... then dose it with Shaeffer Moly EP. Car is still happy with it I suppose, since it nice and quiet still..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear January 2, 2007 Share January 2, 2007 Oh... then maybe different thing liao.... thought it was the old packaging. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear January 2, 2007 Share January 2, 2007 calculate the price of use a good oil like scaeffers , or coughlube+molyep...lol no brainer leh...waste of molyep on crap like coughlube Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear January 2, 2007 Share January 2, 2007 Already done the price calculations. The "crappy" oil still cheaper with half dose of the Moly EP ~ $35. (Shaeffer costs like $39 for 4 ltrs which is not sufficient as I need 4.5 ltr) Anyway, I've already done like 4 oil changes with the crappy stuff... although the life is only like 8K kms.... its alright for my application (like doing 7 sec century sprints daily coupled with 180km/h runs). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bulls_is_back 1st Gear January 2, 2007 Share January 2, 2007 wow .. is that a WRX? how come only half dose? 1pint to 5quarts right Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear January 2, 2007 Author Share January 2, 2007 Don't follow the Schaeffers' instructions. Most BITOGers know that the whole objective of these additives is to enhance the formulation and not to change the formulation. I have a lot of respect for Schaeffers but 1 pint is really too much. Most follow the guideline of 0.5-1oz/qt. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear January 2, 2007 Share January 2, 2007 Nope... not WRX..... errr.... WRX wannabe. Half dose so that I don't want to have my FC suffer to badly. Moly EP bumps up the oil weight so to speak..... I dunno whether it protects my engine more... but I use it to extend the oil life (else the oil will be too thin at about 6K kms for me) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nine_eleven 2nd Gear January 2, 2007 Share January 2, 2007 tetrosyl is prob trying to slowly bring up the price of their 5W40 either by changing the packaging, re-packaging the oil under another brand or BOTH... with this kind of pricing, i really doubt that the oil is different... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Exxo Neutral Newbie January 7, 2007 Share January 7, 2007 This are the lube oil at NTUC Hypermart AMK having promotion now http://img92.imageshack.us/img92/8822/carl...d10w305lew9.jpg - $29.90 http://img296.imageshack.us/img296/2917/ne...40bottleiv3.jpg - $39.90 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Huggable Clutched January 7, 2007 Share January 7, 2007 They really screwed up the pricings. A bottle of Rain-x cost S$xx.80. Over a Homefix (a few stores away), it is at S$xx.50. NTUC pricing S$0.30 more than Homefix? Good thing I went over to check price. Got from Homefix instead. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nutty 4th Gear January 7, 2007 Share January 7, 2007 Aunty Lucy no longer provides the cheapest pricing for goods for many many years. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jtis 4th Gear January 8, 2007 Share January 8, 2007 oh pls, what WRX wannabe? You are pushing more whp than a stock rex... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bulls_is_back 1st Gear January 9, 2007 Share January 9, 2007 So is this added together with new oil, or at say 5k km to "beef up" the lube to push all the way to 10k km? Don't follow the Schaeffers' instructions. Most BITOGers know that the whole objective of these additives is to enhance the formulation and not to change the formulation. I have a lot of respect for Schaeffers but 1 pint is really too much. Most follow the guideline of 0.5-1oz/qt. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged January 9, 2007 Share January 9, 2007 yalor, dont know why so many people got brain washed in thinking aunty lucy stuffs r cheap??... i always prefer neighbourhood provision shop if possible..... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...