Kaer Neutral Newbie January 1, 2007 Share January 1, 2007 (edited) Does it even need detailing? Since there's no shine to it, no need for wax? Any experts care to share? Thinking of spraying car to matt black, looking for pros and cons. Thx! Edited January 1, 2007 by Kaer ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nine_eleven 2nd Gear January 1, 2007 Share January 1, 2007 matt black will absorb heat and retain heat longer than a shiny black one... other than that, no other cons i suppose... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched January 1, 2007 Share January 1, 2007 If you wax I think your matt black car will become matt grey. The bottom part of my rear bumper is matt black too. Sometimes when accidentally kena polish or wax it will stain. I think cons might be scratches and paint chips are more obvious, esp those caused by flying pebbles when driving. My rear bumper itself has quite a few. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ultramega 1st Gear January 1, 2007 Share January 1, 2007 my friend used to have a matt black motorcycle helmet. it can get scratched by just about anything, even fingernails. and the scratches are damn obvious. once scratched, tats it, the scratch will be there forever until the next respray. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S4vtec 3rd Gear January 1, 2007 Share January 1, 2007 (edited) will make yr car look like the ones on robocop ... matt black .. yucks in my opinion Edited January 1, 2007 by S4vtec Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahhuat 1st Gear January 1, 2007 Share January 1, 2007 matt black looks nice but depending on the make and model of the car.. what is the model of your car??? perhaps also take a pic of your car then photoshop it with matt black and see how it looks??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kaer Neutral Newbie January 1, 2007 Author Share January 1, 2007 Will try to photoshop the car and have a look... driving a 206. Any normal gloss surface, if there's scratches... some sanding and re-polish/wax can remove them but for matt surface............ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Caravan 5th Gear January 1, 2007 Share January 1, 2007 Isn't it like those matt green SAF vehicles? No need to detail Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrisshdw Neutral Newbie January 1, 2007 Share January 1, 2007 But Matt black easy to respray right? can even DIY? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kaer Neutral Newbie January 1, 2007 Author Share January 1, 2007 yah sama sama... tts why wanna know the how about or is it just wash the car with water only. no need anything special liao since there's no shine. checking around, wanna know abit more about the aftermath of spraying to matt black before I decide again.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ccssgm 1st Gear January 1, 2007 Share January 1, 2007 See Before a Old Sunny SBT......Half Shining On Front........ Half matt On Back...........Dun Know Wat Means ?.......... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Garlic 1st Gear January 1, 2007 Share January 1, 2007 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ccssgm 1st Gear January 1, 2007 Share January 1, 2007 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rliewky 1st Gear July 29, 2007 Share July 29, 2007 Does it even need detailing? Since there's no shine to it, no need for wax? Any experts care to share? Thinking of spraying car to matt black, looking for pros and cons. Thx! Kaer, so did you resprat your car to matt black? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged July 29, 2007 Share July 29, 2007 SAF Landies are more semi-gloss instead of matt black. Not sure if the paint comes like that or they used to be shiny but due to lack of care becomes semi-gloss finish. Semi-gloss should resist scratching and marks well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kaer Neutral Newbie July 29, 2007 Author Share July 29, 2007 nope. not yet. still thinking about it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rliewky 1st Gear July 29, 2007 Share July 29, 2007 kaer, so far have you check with any workshop that can spray matt black? heard that getting the matt black color is more difficult and required more skill. wondering if it true Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crowbar Neutral Newbie July 29, 2007 Share July 29, 2007 if theres as scratches...juz get normal matt black spray n spray ova..dats wat i call detailing..lol ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...