Redlining to clear carbon builtup?

Dermocyma

my car peak horsepower is @ 6000rpm so shifting at 6300rpm should be in the peak "poweband" . nothing wrong in touching the redline once in a while. my 11 years old bike redline @ 15000rpm and almost every week i redline it at NSH without any engine problems for so many years. 240km/h @ 14500rpm 6th gear.........woooooo

Does the car need to be under load since we're talking about exhaust flow and not the speed??? So can actually put car in Park or Neutral and just hit the pedal??? Holding high rpm for 2 to 3 min or till oil temp cannot tahan???

Never high rev when the car is in neutral...

There is minimal/no load to the engine, which is very very straining to the internals. Weird it may sound, but the power stroke of the engine does need a load to balance the force on the piston/conrod.

Just to share what my office's crazy Japanese guys did in NS Hwy.

He would floor with D from stop to max of 130 or 150 km/h or so.

Then down shift 1 gear, and let the rpm needle sees red.

Once needle enter the red zone, up shift back to D.

[hur][hur][hur][hur][hur][hur]

He zooms with following car,

1st car - Lancer 1.3 litres @ 170Km/h constantly in the north.

2nd car - Sunny 1.6 @ 190KM/h constantly too...

Sometimes, me too, drives their car locally.. their car really feels lively.

but, your will surely hear some king king kong kong sound below the chasis and gear box.

Of course, those r company cars... they whack like hell....

Car locally own is our own asset, try to protect it la.

Unless those rich rich guys.....always ram their expensive toy up there... [lipsrsealed]

but what i'm curious is wont it damage our engine if we redline? i redlined a volkswagen polo before and there was a wierd smell coming out of the engine bay.. and there was this hammering sound when i redlined a mit lancer(M).. is this safe?

i agree that after constant high speed and high RPM, the car will feel much smoother..

I am sure your car manual will say you should avoid driving with rpm in the red zone. If you constantly drive in the red zone, I am quite certain it will be bad for your engine.

You can push your rpm to near the red zone, but I see no reason for it as the power band (your torque and bhp) starts to decrease before the red zone.

true.. if redline is 6500rpm, and i go up to over 6000rpm, acceleration is very minimal.. so i guess red lining isnt very practical unless for clearing of carbon..

just whack to high RPM..

let's say redline starts at 6.5k, u hold the rev at 6k or so good enough.. go into that redzone is dangerous.. like for me.. i use 3rd gear on a lorry to drive 70kmh from start till end of the Pasir Panjang viaduct.. next day, fuel pump leak liao.. [sweatdrop][sweatdrop][hur]

As said by others, even for clearing of carbon there is no need to redline.

Lend me your car for 2 hours, and I will clear you carbon without driving into the red zone.

Edited by Dumb

[laugh] when i drive, i dun go high rpm.. cos sharing car with dad ma.. and its his company car.. so i better just get me from point A to B..

but when i rent a car, normally a manual one, i'll change gears around 5K for the first few gears.. so i guess i'm doing them a favour at the same time..

wah seh.. but u waste ur petrol.. u need to top up right?? unless u renting from car-sharing companies like city-limo.. whereby the petrol is "waived".. user only pay for time-usage.. [sly]

For me, I will do full launchings (just short of redline) from 1st to 3rd gear (minus wheelspins) to clear some carbon.

That should be good enough.

can u explain how u do it?

some update - i just did a 7000rpm redline at neutral for 15 sec. no damage cranky sound, no weird smell, no leak of engine oil whatsoever. but the revving was loud and noisy. whole neighbourhood can hear it. i wouldnt want to do it again for risk that police will arrived at my doorstep.

now, the whole car is much more lively and faster acceleration.

Edited by Dermocyma

I suggest u properly run your engine for at least 15 mins b4 redlining it. Get it warm up.

Actually I dun recommend redlining. Using higher grade of fuel once a while will help. Rev to max torque is good enough.

ouch!!.. poor engine, 15sec is a long time.

next time, try to have load on the engine.. it may seem like no damage now, but doing that over time will surely see something go wrong.. n it won't be pretty when it happens [sweatdrop]

I would suggest u rev progressively from low to high rpm rather than suddenly punch all the way to the redline.

Constant revving to the redline will cause major abrasions to the walls of the combustion chambers and pistons. U will know it when u feel that the engine becomes rougher and noisier than usual.

It will also risk damaging the head gasket which will cause engine oil to leak (that's when u smell burning cos engine oil contact with your hot exhaust manifold) or coolant seeping into your combustion chamber (white smoke coming out of your exhaust).

Although it's inexpensive to replace the gasket but it's tedious to do the cleaning up. In other words $$$ labour cost. [laugh]