Speed camera in TPE

Roh96

On 11/2/2010 at 4:25 PM, Icyfreakass said:

kns my place to work is loyang to cck. I more exposed than u. Unless u say bedok got. =p

Since when you started work at CCK? New branch ah.. [:p]

guys,

was driving home around 10pm on the PIE towards changi airport.

there were 3 TP on motorbikes + 1 subaru passing at high speed (to catch speedsters i presume).

1 got caught after the BKE before eng neo.

be careful and mindful of your speed and the vehicles around you.

i stuck to my "normal" 80kph on lane 2 [;)]

sometime my gps will prompt "approaching speed camera" along major xpress way. i just drive on as per speed limit. dun noe hv speed camera or not. travelling thru ns highway also kena prompt. cannot see dem but just drive as per speed limit. dun nos this machine cheat me or not? any advise...

On 11/2/2010 at 3:36 PM, Icyfreakass said:

Don scare me leh. Now tpe also have ah

Yesterday morning, one TP escort me from Loyang to CTE.

Very nice drive, constant 90km/h on lane 2.

Those on lane 1 also 90km/h, nobody cut lanes.

Bus, lorry, kangaroo all on lane 3. [thumbsup] No bikes in between lane 1 and 2.

When near Sengkang, caught up a big bus on lane 2 going at almost 90km/h.

The bus could not switch to lane 3 as lane 3 was pack.

After Sengkang, TP finally overtook the bus, stare at the driver and stop at side to write something.

Today, no TP. Lane 1 back to 100-110. Lane 2 with buses, lorry and kangaroo.

On 12/26/2006 at 4:12 PM, Carmour said:

Anyone here knows how speed cameras captures the offender?[hur]

Cos I have always been wondering... the speed camera is mounted at chest level.

So if I'm speeding, but there's another car besides me, won't the camera capture the side of the car instead of my number plate?

Will I get away with speeding by driving in the lane furthest from the camera, and making sure that there are other cars blocking the line of sight of the camera?

it'd be interesting if anyone could comment on this question cos many others incl myself are clueless on this. But when i drive i still stick to same lane la, no pt cos i usually slow dwn. BTW, do u guys feel tt the speed limit on the expressway in SG too low? personally, i feel that 130km/h is manageable in sg context esp if there is mid to low traffic flow. i think tp shld focus cameras more at the bends as this is whr most accidents can happen (lose control aka lane eaters/take 1.5 lane to corner). But if its on a straight road, wad possible accidents can happen on normal circumstances? dnt talk abt tired drivers or wad lah.. abit of considerate drivers can alrdy for those overtaking or switching lanes on straight road can liao. think abt it..

the way i see accidents, its either human error or mechanical error. The latter we can discard cos its unprobable and too low in freq. For human error, usually straigt road no prob la.

i no long yr of exp but this is my view after driving quite a bit (1 mth) on the e way.

Be careful when travelling at tpe .... Saw tp at the last overhead bridge (if heading hougang) half hour ago. Not sure if camera was aiming at vehicles towards sle or hougang exit thou... Happy new year

On 2/5/2011 at 2:31 AM, Cutiejas said:

Be careful when travelling at tpe .... Saw tp at the last overhead bridge (if heading hougang) half hour ago. Not sure if camera was aiming at vehicles towards sle or hougang exit thou... Happy new year

Is very common to see them on the 2 overhead bridge between Punngol road and Lorong Halus

On 11/3/2010 at 2:51 AM, Avant_stealth said:

it'd be interesting if anyone could comment on this question cos many others incl myself are clueless on this. But when i drive i still stick to same lane la, no pt cos i usually slow dwn. BTW, do u guys feel tt the speed limit on the expressway in SG too low? personally, i feel that 130km/h is manageable in sg context esp if there is mid to low traffic flow. i think tp shld focus cameras more at the bends as this is whr most accidents can happen (lose control aka lane eaters/take 1.5 lane to corner). But if its on a straight road, wad possible accidents can happen on normal circumstances? dnt talk abt tired drivers or wad lah.. abit of considerate drivers can alrdy for those overtaking or switching lanes on straight road can liao. think abt it..

the way i see accidents, its either human error or mechanical error. The latter we can discard cos its unprobable and too low in freq. For human error, usually straigt road no prob la.

i no long yr of exp but this is my view after driving quite a bit (1 mth) on the e way.

My personal opinion is that TP using mobile camera on overhead bridge to catch speedsters or static camera on expressway is all wayang - and designed to make money with no concern or improvement in safety at all.

After all - what is the actual "intent" of catching speedsters? Officially is because stopping people from speeding is supposed to reduce accidents right? However, in ALL honesty - have there been ANY accidents AT ALL due to speeding at the spots where they have deployed the speed cams? No, right?

So far all the expressway accidents I have seen in all my years of driving is not due to speedsters - but due to roadhogging & tailgating, when 1 suddenlty brakes, the ones behind too close to stop safely and cause chain collision; or reckless driving - suddenly cut in and out of lanes without signalling, and thus cause accidents with the unwary other drivers. Rarely on expressway do you see a car buang because he is driving too fast. And definately not at the spots they place the cameras.

Even on normal roads, other than the occasional ricer car that buangs when driving 2F2F, most of the accidents are parking accidents and when someone beats red light, etc.

If the TP truly serious about safety - they would employ more resources to stop road hog/tailgate, reckless ricers weaving thru traffic, trucks and vans driving 2F2F on lanes 1 and 2 on expressways, taxis and buses suddenly stopping or shooting out of bus bays, more red light car cams at traffic junctions and pedestrian crossings to catch those who beat red lights, fail to stop at zebra crossings, catch those who fail to signal when changing lanes and turning. esp when not a turning lane, etc. This way the number of accidents will sure reduce - and can safely increase expressway speed limit to 110kmh.

On 2/5/2011 at 2:57 AM, Parkingidiot said:

If the TP truly serious about safety - they would employ more resources to stop road hog/tailgate, reckless ricers weaving thru traffic, trucks and vans driving 2F2F on lanes 1 and 2 on expressways, taxis and buses suddenly stopping or shooting out of bus bays, more red light car cams at traffic junctions and pedestrian crossings to catch those who beat red lights, fail to stop at zebra crossings, catch those who fail to signal when changing lanes and turning. esp when not a turning lane, etc. This way the number of accidents will sure reduce - and can safely increase expressway speed limit to 110kmh.

TP is also a human and had a family, they also want their job and work to be safe. everytime ride on the bike and chasing for offenders, can be stressful and very tired if under the hot sun but if they can relax at the bridge and just using camera to get his day easy and job done, why not.

does increase speed limit to 110km helps? ( i think those street racers will love this new rule )

if increase the speed limit , i think need another lane, bus and big truck use lane 3, van and lorry use lane 2 , forcing safety car drivers to go lane 1. sometime they drive 80km / 90 km cos they lazy to cut in and out of lane 2, so they road hog at lane 1. if they expand the lane for additional lane 1 for 110km , i agree.

On 12/26/2006 at 1:21 PM, Roh96 said:

There is speed cam installed along TPE towards ECP direction after Jalan Kayu flyover. I often use TPE but i didn't notice it until last night when i saw something flashed behind me. I think i was travelling between 90+ to 100km/h at that time and beside me was another car. Don't know if i kena or that fellow kena. [sweatdrop] How long does it normally take to confirm if i kena speeding offence? A week?

To the rest, please take note and drive within the speed limit along that stretch.

I believe the faster of the two likley to be awarded the honour

On 2/5/2011 at 3:26 AM, Lanevomax said:

TP is also a human and had a family, they also want their job and work to be safe. everytime ride on the bike and chasing for offenders, can be stressful and very tired if under the hot sun but if they can relax at the bridge and just using camera to get his day easy and job done, why not.

does increase speed limit to 110km helps? ( i think those street racers will love this new rule )

if increase the speed limit , i think need another lane, bus and big truck use lane 3, van and lorry use lane 2 , forcing safety car drivers to go lane 1. sometime they drive 80km / 90 km cos they lazy to cut in and out of lane 2, so they road hog at lane 1. if they expand the lane for additional lane 1 for 110km , i agree.

U r rite tat some drivers r "lazy" n so they stay in lane 1 to road-hog. This becomes a habit such tat even when lane 2 isn't occupied with vans/lorries, they continue to road-hog on lane 1.

Yesterday my kid suddenly developed a severe stomachache (might be gastric) while we were on the expressway, but there were so many road hoggers on lane 1. I had to end up zig zagging in & out of lanes to eventually get ahead back into lane 1.

On 2/5/2011 at 3:26 AM, Lanevomax said:

LOL... so we all just get on with life, and let TP take it easy instead of actually looking after the roads, whilst making money summoning speedsters which is only 1 part of the whole problem... ok.. win, liao... [rolleyes]

So whats the latest rule? Lorries and vans can travel on lane 2 and 3, for a 4 lanes expressway? or they have to stick to lane 4?

I rem many yrs ago, the e vans , lorries and bus can only travel on lane 4. Nowadays can see them at all lanes ( not during jams)

Edited by Hondavvvtec

On 2/8/2011 at 1:44 PM, Hope_n_pray said:

i don't remember there being any speed cameras on TPE leh. i drive almost everyday along that stretch.

Mobile one at Punggol bridge