Shsoh Neutral Newbie December 26, 2006 Share December 26, 2006 This is my original email to MDA: Hi, I have some questions on the car radio licence scheme in Singapore which need your clarification: 1. Why is there a need for car owners (with receivers) to pay car licence whereas owners of MP3 players, handphones, alarm clocks with radio are exempted from the same fee? How about users accessing the radio free from the internet? 2. Is Singapore following some international standards in this radio licence scheme? Could you provide some examples? 3. What is the licence fee used for? Are not the radio stations already privatised? 4. I do not listen the radio on my receiver. However, the receiver is needed for my mp3 playback. Do you have a disabling service for the radio reception on my receiver without the need to remove the entire unit? Looking for the favourable reply. Thanks. ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- This is the formal reply. Nice attempt but of zero substance: We refer to your email of 21 December 2006 on the above subject. We would like to explain that a vehicle radio licence is required as long as a radio receiver is installed in the vehicle, regardless of the nature or frequency of use of the broadcasting device. The collection of both TV and Radio licence fees is still necessary to ensure that the public has access to public service broadcast (PSB) programmes in the four official languages. Such broadcasts include current affairs, information, culture, local sports, quality drama, children’s and minority language programmes. These are local programmes that help keep Singaporeans informed about issues of relevance to them, bond the various community groups, and help to anchor local audiences to Singapore. Unlike mass entertainment programmes, PSB programmes often do not attract sufficient advertising revenue and hence need to be supported. Besides Singapore, many countries like UK, Japan, France, Norway and Germany collect TV licence fees to fund their TV stations. Funding support for such programmes has enabled our broadcast services to offer greater balance and variety in their programming to serve the needs of our society. There have also been many developments for audiences in Singapore since 1994, including an increase in the number of free-to-air channels from 16 radio and 4 free-to-air TV channels in 1994 to 18 radio and 6 free-to-air TV channels currently, as well as developments in new technologies such as digital audio and digital TV broadcasting. All these have been achieved although the licence fees have remained unchanged since 1994. For household who have taken up TV Licences, they do not require to apply for household radio, mobile phones and MP3 players. Thank you for your attention on this matter. Yours sincerely Tan Jennie (Ms) Customer Service Officer for Director Customer & Licensing Services ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lukie102 Clutched December 26, 2006 Share December 26, 2006 I think the main thing is this......"We would like to explain that a vehicle radio licence is required as long as a radio receiver is installed in the vehicle, regardless of the nature or frequency of use of the broadcasting device." The rest are just more explanation. See this http://statutes.agc.gov.sg/ Broadcasting Act (Chap 28). I extracted the below for your info. Licensing of broadcasting apparatus 20. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alpha78 6th Gear December 26, 2006 Share December 26, 2006 Times have changed, technology has improved, lifestyle habits are different, but the rules have remained unchanged and hence look utterly archaic in current times. Paying radio and TV license fee is as archaic as saying oral sex is illegal. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged December 26, 2006 Share December 26, 2006 just a template reply.. soooo obvious what we're paying now is for the sake of tax moolah.. if they scrap this, somehow they'll have to fill the shortfall from elsewhere.. perhaps they just save the trouble and maintain status quo no matter how irrelevant it is now Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dermocyma Neutral Newbie December 26, 2006 Share December 26, 2006 (edited) soon, even computing device like PC and PDA will need a license tax too. also the current amount is also due for inflation adjustment. Edited December 26, 2006 by Dermocyma Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ldawn88 2nd Gear December 26, 2006 Share December 26, 2006 my friend, the charging model seems to be from yester era. there is no way that they can charge for usage of internet streaming (radio), mp3 sets with radio, mobile phones with radio etc. if they is a way to track if you are using one, they would charge you for this too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
See_nik Neutral Newbie December 27, 2006 Share December 27, 2006 Same for road tax. Super outdated but still behaving like some third world country - taxing by cc. Mini, Volvo S40, Golf etc pays more road tax than some MPVs though they obviously use more road space. Hate esp those Camry drivers that can't park their cars properly - always eating into others parking space but they also pay same road tax. Someone should maybe tell the LTA to take a step into the 21st century. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluemice 2nd Gear December 27, 2006 Share December 27, 2006 (edited) hi, Part 1, so can i say that if we are able to buy a PURE cd deck that dun hv a "radio receiver", that means no need to pay lalio lic ? Part 2, if then we add a mp3(or even a HP) wif radio recv. capable to the aux in, this case how does it goes ? i m not trying to be farni, but seems like thats the way uts written ... mice Edited December 27, 2006 by Bluemice Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear December 27, 2006 Share December 27, 2006 For household who have taken up TV Licences, they do not require to apply for household radio, mobile phones and MP3 players. what crap is this template answer... We also pay for my TV licences per household, so why shd we pay again for each car we own? isn't it slapping on their face with this? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear December 27, 2006 Share December 27, 2006 I knew of a budget Starlet owner. Didn't install HU in his car.Instead he carried portable transistor radio. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear December 27, 2006 Share December 27, 2006 what public service programme do we have ?? During my past 30 yrs of life, I had never know the existence of public service programme !!! Is our Singapore make version of "Myth Buster" a public service programme?? Or those Sunday morning funny programme for kids consider PSG?? Or our election broadcast once in five years ?? To a layman like me. Things are very simple. Programmes are driven by profit. Profit come from adverts and sponsors. Adverts and sponsors pay to spread certain msg. So adverts and sponsors will pay for slots when good programme are play and many are watching. So the programme is pay off. If the programme attracts no viewership so attracts no adverts or sponsors then what is the programme still there when no one is watching!! We pay license fee to make programmes that no one watches ?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear December 27, 2006 Share December 27, 2006 I wonder if any of our Singapore elites are looking into MCF ??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluemice 2nd Gear December 27, 2006 Share December 27, 2006 r u thinking that MCF = public service programme from mice MCF has been and will be a great help to me. of course, on the other hand, whether they read or not, tats none of my biz, but as long, i got lalio, i pay $$ iaw regulations. we discuss, ie tok tok, chit chat , guess guess, think think ... its pretty OK, alast, though theres some creativity here, a bit too late shld start while schooling ... i brought this topic up after seeing the CNA show advert on this "HK inventor", wondering when will hv SG young inventor of this type. mice Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear December 27, 2006 Share December 27, 2006 SG young inventor ??? ha ha ha ?? should be soon...maybe sooner if this advert is shown on Discovery Channel...So can immediately copy then start produce...your young is how young ?? if young mean 12 yrs old then wait 12 yrs lor if start copying tomorrow.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darth_mel 1st Gear December 27, 2006 Share December 27, 2006 Times have changed, technology has improved, lifestyle habits are different, but the rules have remained unchanged and hence look utterly archaic in current times. Paying radio and TV license fee is as archaic as saying oral sex is illegal. Their answers hasn't changed for the last decade or so. Well, at least it better than saying the free radio and TV channels are heavily subsidized and all that crap...... I'd rather they be honest about it and just admit they wanna make more money. Even if they're not tired of explaining, I think we are tired of listening liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dermocyma Neutral Newbie December 27, 2006 Share December 27, 2006 there is a reason why MDA and IDA are 2 separated entities. until a time when the 2 are merged, one will expect to pay radio and TV license fee. and besides, nothing is stopping them from charging for broadband, wireless license. (which i believe IDA already do for telecommication device which utilize the civilian radio spectrum) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spenz Neutral Newbie December 27, 2006 Share December 27, 2006 Can't believe it.. we are donating them money... dont they even have the courtesy to write a proper reply??!! Since they are holding back the truth, why dont you send your letter to the ST Forum?? I'm sure you'll get a better reply.. or maybe they'll waive your licence fee privately?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lukie102 Clutched December 27, 2006 Share December 27, 2006 I dont study law leh....so I am not very sure if I quoted the correct law. But if my understanding is correct, ur car come in with the antenna liao right? so must pay lor. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...