Adrianlim13 2nd Gear December 25, 2006 Share December 25, 2006 head unit pionner 6850 front - CDT KA 61 rear - stock SW - Kenwood 8" with amp So now the question.... what type of amps to buy ? 2 channel or 4 channel. not really looking into high end stuff.. prefer clear with strong mid bass . budget - value for money type.... dont want something cheap but crappy. I was recommended by shop to by CDT KA .. wanted to buy the CL 61/62 series but they claim since quality same and cheaper why not... dunno whether got conned or not recommendations please anyone...?? After reading the posts here, learn a lot but also get more confuse. GURUS pls advise. Thks ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiss29 Neutral Newbie December 26, 2006 Share December 26, 2006 Hey...honestly you do NOT need any amp. The 50Wx4 from the pioneer6850 is GOOD enough to drive your front CDT and rear stock! If you want Louder sound you may need to buy better front and rear speckers!! The CDT most likly to be rated at 50W max...so adding a more powerful amp is wastful. To add salt to injury...the rear stock speaker most likely is rated at 30W at most, so any amps will not suddenly improve your sound system. If you want Quality sound....well.....its subjective. I would think that normally you will not hear any difference even if you use a better external amp to drive your speakers compare to the pioneer6850. Of course my ear may be cxxk-up. Why I know it? Well I have the same pioneer 7" LCD HU as you did. But I changed my four speakers to Pioneer ones as well. And added a 8" pioneer active sub. I did not add any amps. I am extremely happy with my $$$ spent. The sound quality compared to my many friends who has $8-10k sound system is 'almost' the same when I do comparision especially when the subwoofer is set to off/low. The highs on my 'cheap' system are as clear as those $1000 tweeters with digital amps. Only when it comes to bass......my system lose out totally..Cannot fight! If I were to add an amp to my current system, I would use a pioneer one. Of course I will also add in the pioneer module whereby the car acoutic and time alingment can be tuned to perfection. But thats a $2000 dollar question that I have to consider when I backside state to itch. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Approvel Neutral Newbie December 26, 2006 Share December 26, 2006 Amps has a big choices ranging from few hundreds to couple of thousands......, and yes, it does add sonic difference to your CDT speakers. Can try Autotrend at toa payoh, they carry some genuine CDTs and can offer you better advise minus the internet filtrations. You can also try Alpine entry level component speakers(good midbass) + Alpine Vpower amp. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Approvel Neutral Newbie December 26, 2006 Share December 26, 2006 Your pioneer speakers driven by hu6850 has HIGH freqs as good as those $1000 tweeters with digital amps? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear December 26, 2006 Share December 26, 2006 heya. ok lah. it all boils down to how much u are willing to spend. for most pple into ICE, they don care abt their rear fill.. they want sound to come from the front. a loud rear fill will tend to mess up ur front sound stage. SO, since u aint so much into ICE and just want something to sound better than stock, just get a simple 2 channel amp to power ur front speakers. 2x75 watts will be enough lah. addin an amp will bring out more from ur speakers as compared to usin ur HU to power it. Yes the HU will still be able to drive the spkrs, but adding an amp would most definitely be beneficial. since u saved on $$ by gettin a 2 channel amp, invest in proper sound proofing. this will prevent unnecessary rattling from ur doors and also result in better mid bass. welcome to the poisonous world of ICE.. hehehe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coolbreeze90 Neutral Newbie December 27, 2006 Share December 27, 2006 wah..... sounds like your system super nap nap... Can let us listen pls... If can achieve a tok gong system with the least amt of money, everyone will be interested... By the way, i am one of those who have no money.... If really good, then i will go and scold those that poison me liao... If not........ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coolbreeze90 Neutral Newbie December 29, 2006 Share December 29, 2006 bro, can audit your system?? i am really interested in your system as it can achieve wat others need to spend thousands on leh... Sry but i cheapo dun wan to waste extra money.. But since you can achieve so much with the cheaper speakers. why do u say that you need yo spend so much money on the sub?? Cant u get a cheap sub and do the same thing you did with your compo?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarong1 1st Gear December 29, 2006 Share December 29, 2006 Yes, shall we audit together??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coolbreeze90 Neutral Newbie December 29, 2006 Share December 29, 2006 kao of course... then like that we can learn and save together!! Heehee cheapo lar!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rairai Neutral Newbie December 29, 2006 Share December 29, 2006 Yes yes, pls go to darren's shop. He's good and reliable. In fact I'm regretting now cas I didn't go back to him for changing my rear speakers as well as adding a 4-chn amp for my ride. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coolbreeze90 Neutral Newbie December 29, 2006 Share December 29, 2006 why did you regret??? What was the problem?? Pls share with us so that we can learn together Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cyano Neutral Newbie January 9, 2007 Share January 9, 2007 Hi...may I ask a related question here. Since the 6850 HU suppports 'Direct Sub Drive', is it really possible to power a low end sub with the HU alone (HU currenly only powering 2 fronts)...or has anyone actually done that? Thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bobcatsysop Neutral Newbie January 9, 2007 Share January 9, 2007 (edited) Hi Bro, << Hi...may I ask a related question here. Since the 6850 HU suppports 'Direct Sub Drive', is it really possible to power a low end sub with the HU alone (HU currenly only powering 2 fronts)>> Your 6850 have 3 RCA preouts (front+rear+subwoofer). Sub needs lots of rms power to push the lows. Without an amp connected to the subwoofer RCA, correct me if I am not wrong. I think you need an 'active sub' to use this 'direct sub drive'. You can check out from this pioneer website for active subwoofers Edited January 9, 2007 by Bobcatsysop Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bobcatsysop Neutral Newbie January 9, 2007 Share January 9, 2007 Hi Bro, I was just reading one of the pioneer brochures that says: ""Your 6850 HU enables you to amplify your front speakers by 50w x 2 and you can add a 70w amplified filtered subwoofer (in 2 ohm mode) in the rear without an extra amplifier"". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simonwoo Neutral Newbie January 9, 2007 Share January 9, 2007 I decided not to change my Civic FD1 stock speakers because I find it to be pretty decent. It comes with tweeters already. So anybody wants to take over my CDT CL61? :) I will add a 2ch amp to power the front speakers plus put back in my Clarion SRV303 20cm active sub though... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cyano Neutral Newbie January 9, 2007 Share January 9, 2007 Hmmm...so the HU does support direct sub connection without amp. By the way...what is a "filtered" sub? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kwongwing Neutral Newbie January 9, 2007 Share January 9, 2007 Like what Uncle Bob has stated, you can add an "active" sub-woofer - which is a sub-woofer with a built-in amplifier. As for a "filtered" sub - it just means a sub-woofer which has a low-pass crossover which only allows a limited band of frequencies to pass-thru to the sub-woofer - usually below 120hz or lower. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bobcatsysop Neutral Newbie January 10, 2007 Share January 10, 2007 (edited) Hi Bro, "a 70w amplified filtered subwoofer (in 2 ohm mode)" to me, means an active sub.. corrected me if I am wrong. coz how to get a subwooffer amplified and filtered unless it's an active sub with it's own internal amp and xover, right? Thanks Kwongwing for helping to explain.. Edited January 10, 2007 by Bobcatsysop ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...