Nhrisuzu 1st Gear December 24, 2006 Share December 24, 2006 i know this sounds abit stupid if some of ur see this.. but anyway, got intro into this method by one of a fellow MCFer driving a cabstar.. but then, he uses Shell 95.. i use Silver Techron (95) from Caltex.. i was just wondering if the petrol mix will make the consumption improve as the engine is "cleaned".. just want to try out as they (Caltex) say techron can clean the engine etc.. pumping full tank will give me a $100 bill .. so i tried a mixture.. with first the petrol followed by diesel as petrol is lighter.. just tried it out a moment ago, butt dyno shows that engine is smoother and quieter.. mileage on full tank of diesel (50L w/o reserve): 495km mileage with this mix will be shown to all when i have finished the tank.. appreciate comments from fellow bros.. especially those driving diesel vehicles or drove before.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rustycar Neutral Newbie December 24, 2006 Share December 24, 2006 Try w 1/4 of vegetable oil. Works wonders on indirect injection or with pre-combustion chamber diesels. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear December 24, 2006 Share December 24, 2006 Diesel engines compression is 10 times more than a petrol engines and during compression stroke high heat is generated which will cause the diesel fuel to self ignite. With petrol in the system , the chance of the petrol igniting is very high even before the piston is half way up the compression stroke. The too-early burning taking place during compression stroke can cause serious damage to the pistons and con -rods. I believe the pre-ignition does cause a metal knocking noise, you may not have the opportunity to hear it because of the diesel engine noise. To me it is a very expensive experiment and you a very brave young man who dare to do it on your own or rather your father's vehicle. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear December 24, 2006 Share December 24, 2006 many have try b4 as long as u stick to 1L or so max for a full tank no issue Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nhrisuzu 1st Gear December 25, 2006 Author Share December 25, 2006 huh?? it will spoil the engine?? becos i was thinking about the fuel pump shoudn't have any problem.. Diesel is thicker than petrol.. so if pump can handle the diesel, petrol will be no problem.. that's my way of thinking before i pumped it.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kwchan 1st Gear December 25, 2006 Share December 25, 2006 what diesel vehicle u drive? FC so bad? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nhrisuzu 1st Gear December 25, 2006 Author Share December 25, 2006 3.1L Isuzu NHR lorry.. going to 5yrs old.. 309,000km mileage.. not sure what is wrong.. but now, the coupling is worn out.. workshop yet to call me for appointment, i suspect that is draining the power from the rear wheels.. hence bad FC.. but also, i think could be too much carbon in the vehicle.. cos the gas pedal not very responsive when i blip it.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercuri Neutral Newbie December 25, 2006 Share December 25, 2006 i concur with Yeobh... petrol supposed to run at lower compression. if used inside diesel engine, before the piston reach TDC, already ignited. in the end, may cause premature failure to your bearings, etc... since you already tried using petrol, can try experiment it with used veggie oil...saw it on Myth Buster on Discovery channel that it works! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear December 25, 2006 Share December 25, 2006 Diesel fuel does have certain percent of lub and is vital for the perfromance of the diesel fuel pump. Petrol on the other hand don't have. Diesel fuel pump have very high precision plungers and if starve of lub, the pump will seize and the end result is a big hole in your pocket. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nhrisuzu 1st Gear December 25, 2006 Author Share December 25, 2006 guessed this will be the last time i try this "stunt".. just a question, if i change to using ron92 instead of 95.. will the result still be the same?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear December 25, 2006 Share December 25, 2006 For diesel engines you can either run them with mineral diesel or biodiesel - petrol is out. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear December 25, 2006 Share December 25, 2006 u can try 1) do a auto-rx treatment 2) use FP60 3) use redline gear oil Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nhrisuzu 1st Gear December 25, 2006 Author Share December 25, 2006 those at petrol kiosk de diesel is which type?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear December 25, 2006 Share December 25, 2006 mineral biodiesel is good for cleaning ur engine and fuel tank also but dun try more than 10%-20% in case ur older vehicle fuel line cannot take it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spade Neutral Newbie December 25, 2006 Share December 25, 2006 biodiesel is vegetable oil you can use up to 50% vegetable oil in your mix for a normal diesel vehicle. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear December 25, 2006 Share December 25, 2006 U try petrol in a diesel engine? I heard a case of a taxi pump petrol instead of diesel & his engine start rev very high without stepping on the accelerator. Then whole engine "POW". Diesel engine got no spark plugs. It uses high compression=High heat to ignite the diesel inside the chamber. Using petrol in a diesel engine is really taking a big risk. I suggest u drain out the mixture & re-fill with only diesel. But u must still b careful cos some of it has already entered the fuel line. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear December 25, 2006 Share December 25, 2006 Any petrol, irregardless on the RON will have the same effect. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nhrisuzu 1st Gear December 25, 2006 Author Share December 25, 2006 (edited) guess i made a wrong move.. but hor.. the FC like improve alot leh.. now mileage on this mix is 54.8km.. and the needle is just slightly slightly slighty out of the the "F" marking.. regarding the high rpm at idling speed, i am experiencing it slightly.. previously with a/c on is below 750rpm.. now is above 750rpm at around 800rpm or so.... Edited December 25, 2006 by Nhrisuzu ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...