Helix Neutral Newbie December 23, 2006 Share December 23, 2006 The shows at 2330h at the Cathay (not cineleisure). How's the jam like over the last night? I'm planning to skip the main stretch of Orchard Road by using Clemenceau Avenue and then turn towards Plaza Singapura. Are there any alternative routes? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mysteria Neutral Newbie December 23, 2006 Share December 23, 2006 (edited) no jam last night 12am.. as in cathay... usually jam will be at paragon stretch.. but dun worry.. on xmas eve or day.. i think it'll be close.. if coming using CTE then exit orchard rd lor.. 1 left turn u'll reach istana liao.. Edited December 23, 2006 by Mysteria Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jmsowen Neutral Newbie December 23, 2006 Share December 23, 2006 watch death note 2 tonight ah?? me also going to watch ...lol wondering to park at The cathay or at selegie will be better? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Helix Neutral Newbie December 23, 2006 Author Share December 23, 2006 (edited) Thanks mate. Will be coming from Holland Road and will be making a detour via Mohammed Sultan Road to skip the jam-packed Orchard Road stretch. Oh yah since you mentioned there will be road closure on some stretch of Orchard Road. Just need to it's not today right? Edited December 23, 2006 by Helix Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Helix Neutral Newbie December 23, 2006 Author Share December 23, 2006 Yah man...Death Note 2. Think the Cathay ba...it will be more convenient in my opinion. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear December 23, 2006 Share December 23, 2006 The parking there is NOT per entry .... I think .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Helix Neutral Newbie December 24, 2006 Author Share December 24, 2006 yo, its per entry. $1.05 only. Avoided the main stretch of Orchard road was a good choice. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic November 3, 2017 Share November 3, 2017 (edited) Cathay sells cinema chain for $230m The founding family that has run the historic home-grown Cathay movie theatre chain for more than 80 years is selling its local cinema operations for $230 million. Cathay Organisation's Cathay Cineplexes unit will become part of the expanding operations of entertainment company mm2 Asia, the backer of local films such as director Jack Neo's Ah Boys To Men. Under the terms of the deal announced yesterday, Cathay cineplex staff will stay on after the sale, which is expected to close by Nov 24. http://www.straitstimes.com/business/companies-markets/cathay-sells-cinema-chain-for-230m No wonder Cathay's movie selection very limited of late ... Edited November 3, 2017 by Blueray Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic November 3, 2017 Share November 3, 2017 Cathay sells cinema chain for $230m http://www.straitstimes.com/business/companies-markets/cathay-sells-cinema-chain-for-230m No wonder Cathay's movie selecetion very limited of late ... The cathay will be closing down end of this month? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic November 3, 2017 Share November 3, 2017 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator November 3, 2017 Share November 3, 2017 The cathay will be closing down end of this month? why would the buyer buy liao close down the cinema? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic November 3, 2017 Share November 3, 2017 (edited) The cathay will be closing down end of this month? Until the new owner decides how to re-position and re-launch I suppose. Cathay name will remain I suppose. Edited November 3, 2017 by Blueray Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator November 3, 2017 Share November 3, 2017 Until the new owner decides how to re-position and re-launch I suppose. Cathay name will remain I suppose. MM2 bought half of the GV shares and now Cathay, i believe they will keep the names for branding purpose. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic November 3, 2017 Share November 3, 2017 Easier to live off a family fortune than to sustain it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
andrewyewkc 5th Gear November 3, 2017 Share November 3, 2017 MM2 bought half of the GV shares and now Cathay, i believe they will keep the names for branding purpose. Maybe movie tickets price will go up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic November 3, 2017 Share November 3, 2017 MM2 bought half of the GV shares and now Cathay, i believe they will keep the names for branding purpose. Be interesting to see what this new operator does. Years back when The Cathay re-opened it was suppose to be the place for movie buffs, Picturehouse, shops selling movie posters and DVDs etc. Today The Cathay inside very quiet, and I guess if not for SOTA the place will be ghost town. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator November 3, 2017 Share November 3, 2017 Be interesting to see what this new operator does. Years back when The Cathay re-opened it was suppose to be the place for movie buffs, Picturehouse, shops selling movie posters and DVDs etc. Today The Cathay inside very quiet, and I guess if not for SOTA the place will be ghost town. i dun really like Picture house and Cineleisure but prefer Cathay at JEM, their theatre is much better than Shaw. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic November 3, 2017 Share November 3, 2017 no longer will have the cathay logo spinning around like blades of a fan intro? i dun really like Picture house and Cineleisure but prefer Cathay at JEM, their theatre is much better than Shaw. many of my schooling years was spent at cathay cine leisure haha ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...