Spinworkx Clutched December 20, 2006 Share December 20, 2006 Hey guys, I just went 2-way active via the 8650 HU today... However, there's tons of new functions i have no idea how to use... Since it's active, i'm afraid to blow my tweeters.... So i would like some advice from you guys on what i should set for tese settings; TWEETERS --- High LPF - ? Slope - ? Speakers --- Mid LPF - ? Slope - ? Speakers --- Mif HPF - ? Slope - ? Woofer --- Low LPF - 50hz Slope - 12 Thanks all... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bobcatsysop Neutral Newbie December 21, 2006 Share December 21, 2006 Hi Bro, As you know, my setup is passive thus I have no experience in Active setup. However, I did a search in MCF and found the following thread that may help you. http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/gforum.cgi...1556797#1556797 Use Kwong Wing's advice of "safe" settings as a start and thereafter tune to suit your system / needs. For your tweeters: use High HPF: 2.5 or 3.15 KHz with slope setting at 18 or 24 db/oct For your mid-bass: use HPF 50 - 100 Hz depending how much your driver can take, with slope setting at 12 or 18 db/oct; LPF 2 or 2.5 KHz with slope setting at 6 or 12 db/oct Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kwongwing Neutral Newbie December 21, 2006 Share December 21, 2006 Congrats! TWEETERS --- High LPF - 2.5KHz, -18db/oct Speakers --- Mid LPF - 2KHz, -12db/oct Speakers --- Mid HPF - 60Hz, -12db/oct Woofer --- Low LPF - 50hz Slope -12 db/oct Then play around with the settings from there Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarong1 1st Gear December 21, 2006 Share December 21, 2006 Spinworkx, I can't reconcile the HU crossover setting option of your tweeter. Is it really the case where your HU allow you to set the high Low Pass Filter merely? What I think, for tweeters, is to set the High Pass filter. i.e. if the crossover point of your tweeter and mid is at 3.5KHz for eg. Tweeters - High Pass Filter (set at 3.5KHz, that means allowing freq at 3.5 and above to pass thru to the tweeter). Speakers - Mid Low Pass Filter would then be something like 3.5KHz and below. Speakers - Mid High Pass Filter would be like 50Hz and above. Woofers - Low Pass Filter would be 50Hz and below. What you have stated is: "TWEETERS --- High LPF - ? Slope - ? Speakers --- Mid LPF - ? Slope - ? Speakers --- Mif HPF - ? Slope - ? Woofer --- Low LPF - 50hz Slope - 12" Can confirm once again? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kermit 1st Gear December 21, 2006 Share December 21, 2006 (edited) He's probable made a typo error lah. KW has given quite a good baseline guide. However, to really setlle for the "correct" slope depends on quite a few other factors like, frequency response of your drivers/speakers at the crossover points and slope selected, the efficiencies of the tweeters and woofer playing at the selcted freq range, amp gains matching and distance of the speakes away frmoo each other.... You'll need to have to listen to a few more tracks after selecting the crossover points. This one you'll need to train your ears... Bear in mind that the speaker continue to play freq beyond the crossover points, but attenuated at rates of -6db/oct, -12 db/oct, -18 db/oct, -24 db/oct, -30 db/oct. This means that for example, if xo point is HPF 3.2 KHz at -18 db/oct, and the gain at 3.2 KHz is at 0db, at 6.4 Khz the tweeter still plays at -18db. This is done so that when the two speakers "meet" we hope to achieve a "flat" freq response at and around the xo point. If got RTA to check it's the best lah. Otherwise quite hard for most people to tell the diff. Have fun. Edited December 21, 2006 by Kermit Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarong1 1st Gear December 21, 2006 Share December 21, 2006 You are absolutely right. . Hmm, RTA to scope it will look interesting. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coolbreeze90 Neutral Newbie December 21, 2006 Share December 21, 2006 yo bro, think the seniors have given you a pretty good explanation of the issue. But just a few cents worth if you are still not sure of the cross over frequencies and slopes, you can try googling it or check it out in the product manual... However, these figures are still just figures, a few of the most accurate ways of confirming it is your ears if not use a RTA. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spinworkx Clutched December 21, 2006 Author Share December 21, 2006 Haha, you confused me yet again :) RTA have also i won't know how to use...besides, go shop to RTA very expensive...i dun think i can use tat method... Maybe will need some experienced ears to hear hehe.. Anyways, some more info of my speakers ans current settings: Speaker: 6.5" component speaker 220 watts 75 watts 50Hz - 20kHz 92dB Tweeter: 1" inverted titanium dome tweeter 180 watts 75 watts 2.8kHz - 20kHz 92dB Current Settings: High LPF - 3.15hz Slope -24db/oct Mid LPF - 4hz Slope -18db/oct Mid HPF - 60hz Slope -18db/oct Low HPF - 50hz Slope -12db/oct I think those are the settings last i remembered... Any comments? I think there're some missing frequencies in between ya? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coolbreeze90 Neutral Newbie December 21, 2006 Share December 21, 2006 Speaker: 6.5" component speaker 220 watts 75 watts 50Hz - 20kHz 92dB Tweeter: 1" inverted titanium dome tweeter 180 watts 75 watts 2.8kHz - 20kHz 92dB Like what your specs have already said, the mid bass can handle 50hz - 20khz and tweets 2.8 - 20... Try searching online or the passive cross over points. it is usually what the manufacturors think it optimal. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kermit 1st Gear December 21, 2006 Share December 21, 2006 not missing per se. But maybe a dip in between? maybe not also. must listen... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarong1 1st Gear December 21, 2006 Share December 21, 2006 Welcome to the world of yet more confusion. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coolbreeze90 Neutral Newbie December 21, 2006 Share December 21, 2006 it might be a dip or then might be cancellation like mine.... Must Cuntfuse you more!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spinworkx Clutched December 21, 2006 Author Share December 21, 2006 Dip? Cancellation? Yikes...yea, even more confused... Aiyah,i just play by ear and next week get someone to explain and help la... Should've stuck to passive haha... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarong1 1st Gear December 21, 2006 Share December 21, 2006 Once you are into active, there is no way to make u-turn. Unless you go inactive. Enjoy the journey, its really fun. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coolbreeze90 Neutral Newbie December 21, 2006 Share December 21, 2006 i said the same thing too.... Thats why now my system cmi..... got hell alot of tuning to do...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie December 22, 2006 Share December 22, 2006 > This means that for example, if xo point is HPF 3.2 KHz at -18 db/oct, and the gain at 3.2 KHz is at 0db it should read "the gain at 3.2 KHz is at -3db". that's the definition of crossover point, it results in -3db (or half volume output) at the crossover frequency. and that is why you can : "This is done so that when the two speakers "meet" we hope to achieve a "flat" freq response at and around the xo point." cos when 2 speakers meet at half volume output, it adds up to full output (flat). but of course in practise so many variables effect the end result. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie December 22, 2006 Share December 22, 2006 roy next meetup bring the passive crossover take a look lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spinworkx Clutched December 23, 2006 Author Share December 23, 2006 Bring passive got use meh? I also not using it mah... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...