Nutty 4th Gear December 19, 2006 Share December 19, 2006 The wet weather looks like going to drag for another week. Here's a list of roads to avoid. Feel free to add on if you have any in mind. 1. Junction of Joan Road and Olive Road (Caldecott hill valley area) 2. Junction of Admiralty Road West / Woodlands Ave 10 3. Junction of Upper Thomson Road / Mandai Road 4. Thomson Road (Near the nurseries) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BoneStock 5th Gear December 19, 2006 Share December 19, 2006 thanks! I nearly used 2 of the roads you mentioned. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear December 19, 2006 Share December 19, 2006 20+ cars flooded to the roof in macritchie carpark song song mans bloody cheapskates all park there Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nutty 4th Gear December 19, 2006 Author Share December 19, 2006 Why park there = cheapskates? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Teckheng Neutral Newbie December 19, 2006 Share December 19, 2006 free parking overnight ? i am not sure. But what should i do if my car is stuck in the flood ? i leave my car there and call a workshop to tow it away ? or i try to start back my car ? or is there a method to drive past the flood without getting my car to 'die' off ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nutty 4th Gear December 19, 2006 Author Share December 19, 2006 Tow it away... I saw several cars being tow-ed today. There's no external damage, so I guessed they were stucked flood rather than involved in accident. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spikedoll Clutched December 19, 2006 Share December 19, 2006 cars kena in water --> salt water car? kiam zui qia may grow moulds Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fondue Neutral Newbie December 19, 2006 Share December 19, 2006 (edited) The wet weather looks like going to drag for another week. Here's a list of roads to avoid. Feel free to add on if you have any in mind. 1. Junction of Joan Road and Olive Road (Caldecott hill valley area) 2. Junction of Admiralty Road West / Woodlands Ave 10 3. Junction of Upper Thomson Road / Mandai Road 4. Thomson Road (Near the nurseries) 5. Junction of Upper Bukit Timah / Mandai Road ..... seems like both end of Mandai Road also flood Edited December 19, 2006 by Fondue Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear December 19, 2006 Share December 19, 2006 put in lowest gear and dun let go of accelerator use clutch to control power if auto car..god help u Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aristotle 5th Gear December 19, 2006 Share December 19, 2006 Do you guys think it will be the same in JB? Planning to go in tomorrow, shopping in Carefour and maybe Jusco? Most likely only using Tebrau Highway. Hope to get a quick reply! Any experienced JB bros or anyone who went in yesterday or today, please give your field report! Thanks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear December 19, 2006 Share December 19, 2006 JB u got to b more careful. Their roads & water drainage not so good. If flood, then sometimes the whole road blocked by the rising water & u cannot move. Just sit & wait till the water subside. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Imp_drv Neutral Newbie December 19, 2006 Share December 19, 2006 JB is still fine, I just went in yesterday... just be careful of its uneven roads and potholes....avoid places like kota tinggi...i think the surrounding kampongs were reported to be flooded liao... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged December 19, 2006 Share December 19, 2006 The weather affected Malaysia badly also. Some of my Malaysian workers could not come to work because their bus were stuck in the flood in the morning. Better Don't Go. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aristotle 5th Gear December 19, 2006 Share December 19, 2006 Thanks guys! Think I will take the risk and go in. Hopefully no flood there! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adam251 Neutral Newbie December 19, 2006 Share December 19, 2006 just got back Jusco on Sunday... heavy rain... pot holes a lot near construction of a flyover bridge ... really messy jam near the construction area as water puddles a lot but not really flood .... just be careful if going at night cos the construction site entrances got no barricade ... I went on Friday night after midnight and ended up the uncompleted flyover as the road signs really bad and dark ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackt4 Neutral Newbie December 19, 2006 Share December 19, 2006 (edited) Nearly got caught in the flood at Lornie Rd junction this afternoon. Was at the junction before realising too late that it flooded. Saw a couple of car stranded by the junction, shifted to lower gear and powered through the junction hoping that the van in front of me did not stop in the middle of the flood. Got through the junction without incident or so I thought. When I reached home, I realised that the I 'lost' my front licence plate together with it's holder as well as my lower front splitter! Opened my bonnet to check on the cone filter and noted that it quite a close call as the heat shield was damp and there were splashes of water on the custom air box. Edited December 19, 2006 by Blackt4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear December 19, 2006 Share December 19, 2006 free parking overnight ? i am not sure. But what should i do if my car is stuck in the flood ? i leave my car there and call a workshop to tow it away ? or i try to start back my car ? or is there a method to drive past the flood without getting my car to 'die' off ? Depends... if you're driving a hilux just crank her up and go on your merry way (as tested by the good blokes at top gear ). For the rest i would suggest getting it towed, just in case water made it into the engine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear December 19, 2006 Share December 19, 2006 JB was badly flooded this morning. Danga bay area by the coastal road was impassable. Had to drive against traffic (since most malaysian cars were doing it), back into the town area. Took the flyover to get to Tebrau Highway, abit jam. PG highway also kena jam some 1 km (about 100m before the Projet station) before the Kempas turn out. All over was bad jams. Evening time... flood subsided and all roads passable. But jams were still everywhere. Lucky the causeway was not too bad compared to elsewhere. In fact, the caseway jam was better than yesterday's. If going tomorrow, should be alright if the rains don't carry on overnight. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...