BMW 5 series or Merc E Class

F1ngolf

Oh ya, everybody also 25.... once before, some time some ppl stay at age 25 for 40 years!!! [laugh][laugh][laugh] Sorry super7, if you are around, no offence pls. [rolleyes]

che......thought you driving a humvee.......

so how is your RC thingy going man.

Edited by S2P2

Hi Caaa,

Here are the dimensions for the new E-Class and 5-Series. nod.gif

E200K

Weight: 2105 kg

520iA

Unladen Weight: 1600 kg

You mean the E-Class is a full half tonne heavier than the Five??? [jawdrop]

i saw one when i was in US......they park it outside this showroom......chio chio armani.....

Hello F1NGolf

I did not go for the V6 (e240) engine as like you put it, the 16k

difference is not worth my money. Furthermore, I am buying the car not

for "chionging" and more for my family affairs and a better image quotient.

Anyway, I put better use for my money. I chalked up a few more ks (about 3) to upgrade to

the avant garde 17" rims/wheels and a white speedometer. kewl!

this is money well spent. and not 16k for just a v6.

also, a merz is still a merz.... base model premium brand always attracts a larger

pool of buyers. might as well you buy the e200 and trim-up your car to make

it look more attractive. maybe an 18" AMG wheel for you? [;)]

Just got back to Singapore last nite. Anyway, thanks for above tips. [thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup]

I am no guru but this is based on my own experience. Generally speaking the power of an engine can be derived from a mathmatical formula. Horsepower = (Torque x RPM) / 5252. Based on the formula, if you increase the RPM, you increase the horsepower. In general, a bigger engine will have higer torque. So a bigger engine can achieve a rather higher bhp number without having to rev till the redline.

This is what I have experienced, had some 2L and a 3L NA car in the family. The car with the 3L engine pulls easily and hardly ever hits above 4000 rpm even when I floored the accelerator, yes even at high speed. A smaller engine will have to rev really hard to get the necessary power to propel the car from rest, a smaller engine will also probably be running at above 4000 rpm when the car is doing anything above 180 kmh.

The snag? Higher rev = more engine noise. Think of the great Honda SiR, Type-Rs. Great engine, great bhp, fairly good toque but high rpm.

Sports car (as in F1, Lambo, Ferrari etc) have the big engines with the ability to maintain high rpm.

So where does this bring us? Enter the turbo and super chargers... these kits packs more compressed air into the engine thereby increasing the torque.

The Supercharger (kompressor) is a more sophisticated alternative to the well-known turbocharger. The advantage in relation to the turbocharger is that you get no "delay" because the Supercharger shows its power at once. With the Supercharger you get a far more cultivated and controlled power development, with traction at the lowest rpm and flexibility as the key word. No time delay exists between moving the throttle and boost pressure response. When motoring along, the boost response is as fast as you move your foot. Another plus point, tax savings, because the E200 is actually a 1.8L unit.

Downside? Fuel economy, the harder the car is driven the less the fuel mileage. Sound, the Supercharger unit whines when under boost and it is known to sound like a sewing machine in the Mini Cooper S. Of course this is subjective and some people love the sound. Maintenance, additional piece of kit means additional maintenance cost, more parts to be replaced etc. Turbo chargers have been known to overheat and might kill the engine but thus far have yet to hear anything about the supercharger

Summary, getting the E200 Kompressor is going to save you quite a bit of money. Savings from the cost and the road tax, but it will not be as refined as a NA engine.

Hi Cool_Jazz,

I am impressed with your above explanations. [thumbsup] btw, I would not consider the F1 engine

"big" @ 3 litres considering that they are delivering more than 700 horsepower. But I must say,

the noise level is REALLY very loud. This is really at the fore front of engine technology [nod]

Wow, Tks for the info. So the E class is more roommy than the 5 series. But the weight is so much different? How come?

The figures refer to different kinds of weight. Managed to dig out some more weight figures...

E200K

Unladen weight: 1570 kg

Max permissable weight: 2105 kg

520iA

Unladen weight: 1600 kg

Max permissable weight: 2035 kg

Edited by Assassin

Tks for your effort but dun need to do so much cos I now understand a bit liao. Anyway tks. [nod]