What is the right way to measure ATF level?

Roh96

Can you advise what are the ill effects of over-filling the ATF? I find it extremely difficult to read off the dipstick as the ATF smears all along it...... [sweatdrop]

So the indication seems that it is past the max mark all the time. [:/]

Thanks for the feedback. But is there any symptoms to indicate that one has overfilled? Or is there any overflow valve/port that'll take care of the excess ATF poured in?

That is why after I send my car for oil or ATF change, I will always re-check myself later.

Many mechs just "short-cut" cos they feel they have enough experience to agar-agar the readings when cold & engine off for ATF.

Engine oil they usually just run engine awhile then off engine then check. They don't have the time to follow the exact procedures recommended by the manufacturers.

That is why sometimes with inexperienced (and sometimes the experienced) mechs, the level is wrong which may cause problems later on.

Overfilling ATF & engine oil may cause foaming in the sump. This can lead to oil starvation.

If u clean the ATF dip stick thoroughly & slowly re-insert & wait a few seconds then slowly remove it, the smearing sud b less but u can still read the actual level as it will b the straight line of oil across the dip-stick.

I can "feel" my ATF is low when the gear-change is not so smooth. Too high, so far I never did it.

There is no overflow valve for the excess oil to drain off. The system is sealed. That is why u have to check the level properly.

Any idea whether ATF gets consumed??? Engine oil will get "consumed".... the amount depending on the engine type.... but what about ATF???

Mine damn "leche" one lah... I can't even access the dipstick & read the level w/o taking out parts. [rolleyes]

ATF won't get burned up like engine oil. If your ATF level keeps dropping between changes, means there is a leak in the system.

I suggest u use a good quality, synthetic ATF so u can just follow the drain intervals recommended by the manufacturer. Some cars damm difficult to DIY stuff. Maybe it's done on purpose cos the manufacturer don't want inexperienced drivers from fiddling around & making a mess. But like that, u spend more $$$ cos everything u have to send to AD & IMHO, I don't trust the workmanship of the AD's here. [shakehead]

Which is the right way to measure ATF level?

1) Engine on, and gear at neutral. Look at the level at the 'hot' state?

2) Engine off and look at the level at the 'cold' state?

Any advise?

Thanks.

right way is (1).

best is when u come back after driving, then off engine, put gear to N, and see the reading on ATF dipstick and check if its at hot.

for engine oil level, check when engine is cold. Best to do is in morning before start car.

if yr car is relatively new, mileage around 30k-40k, best to do a complete ATF flushing by a responsible mechanic, and change the AT filter and gasket (maybe manual will say just change ATF at 60k, but for ATF, good to be kiasu). usually problems for most auto car is the autogearbox.

Pond fishing can lah.... but not out to sea.... that one no license. [sweatdrop]

Edited by Dwoon

Can lah. Any good lobang where got saltwater pond with biggies? Last time the pond at Yishun near the temple was good. Only open on weekends. R they still operating? Saltwater fish still OK. Freshwater fish can forget it. Most got bad smell. [lipsrsealed]

I lost touch with ponds here. Tg.Pinang got something like pond fishing. They have "kelong" with big net surrounding & they put fish inside.

Think the Yishun one is gone..... Last I was there was about a year ago and there was talk that the land might be taken back by the government.

There's Punggol saltwater pond... dunno how good is it nowadays.

There's also a new one at Pasir Ris Farmway... having both fresh as well as saltwater ponds.

Errrmm... what's your definition of biggies? 1.5 kg and above? Most ponds don't stock up with more than 2kg size fish. Well maybe Pasir Ris Pro pond... but I don't like the place.

1.5KG & above is good enough. As long as they don't have a muddy taste. Saltwater fish usually taste better unless those toman from the reservoirs, which taste good cos the water is clean.