Blaupunkt THC 172 and THY 132

Perseus76

Anyone uses this set of components and coaxial before? any comments? was intro to this by Ong Hin Seng at tampines, anyone had their systems install by them before? any feedback and comments on their workmanship and aftersales service?

Edited by Perseus76

hi perseus.

the 132 is rather small. if u want a complete sound with lower bass, it won't give it to you.

the 172 would be a more "complete" set. hope it's price matches its quality.

hmm i noticed their tweeter is 1/2" size. these tweeters don't play very low. so you may end up finding that most of the sound strongly comes from the doors rather than from the windscreen region.

if u chose to buy the 172, it should be able to play frequencies down to about 125hz without much loss. it might start losing loudness below that, and at perhaps about 80hz it won't have much kick. u can try to boost the bass control to increase it .. or us the sub to try to take over.

an active sub can easily give you 80 hz and below, but after about 50hz, it would probably start to weaken, and at 40hz, it would probably feel weaker a bit.. below that, the weakness gets more and more obvious, so at 31.5hz there is not much of a significant effect to talk about, perhaps a small rumble.

so what u're losing is rumble. for mp3 music, there isn't much rumble encoded in the compression, so u may not notice it. but for CD quality, there is something missing for like big drum sounds etc.

also, if the sub is under your seat, the whack might be noticed to come from below too. if it's mounted in the doors, u might feel it's more frontal sound.

our doors can take 165cm speakers (the 172) no problem.

check out other brands too, they might be just as good for similar money. how much are these anyway?

i was quoted a total of 870 for the 172 and 132 plus the pioneer active sub, think is WH11, including workmanship.

I dont go ard bom bom bom....i only listen to songs, and just need a reasonable to good sound system. anyway, i am not intending to install any amp, and everything will just be driven by my panasonic DFX777 alone.

with the 172 compo and 132 coax...plus the WH11 active sub.....in you guys opinion, will it gives me the quality full range sound for songs and music?

i'm not sure how confident you are of DIY skills. cos if u buy an active sub yourself outside, and connect it up yourself, u can save quite some bit.

as mentioned, the active sub doesn't go that low. for most people, they prefer their sub to play maximum about 63hz, and for some, as high as 80hz or a bit more. i prefer to stop at around 50hz. as for lower end, many subs in boxes go down to about 40hz, and then at 31.5hz the effect is reduced, and below that, many of the lower end subs may not have much effect. but still, when you compare with how i describe the active sub in the previous post, subs in boxes go lower. but they tend to be in your boot so you might feel more "rear sound" instead of "under seat sound".

without an amp, it's a good idea to go active sub. but if u look around, there are many good deals 2nd hand.

for active sub, if u want, there are many people selling in the forums. try www.sgsoundsystem.com sales section. mostly selling halfprice, about $280 region or less. just that u have to DIY the connections urself or pay installer workmanship about $20.

for 132, i suppose you want to play rear music. most people here will suggest u forget it and save ur money. just buy the front speakers. rear hardly helps. anyway our stock got some rear speakers liao if u really must have rear music.

so if u ask about "full" range, for mp3 it may be not so noticeable but in full CD music, u may notice differences. most will advise you to join us for wednesday (tonight) meetup to listen to the effects of different setups and FEEL it before u spend money. using words can only describe so much.

hope to see u tonight! long time no see liao.

OK, so tonight i will go down sometime after 10. u coming down or not? later i go there see no pple......

i want to change my car sound setup soon.

sure got people one. if the nasi padang stall is closed, we'll either hang around outside or go to kopitiam to sit down. just see any joker sitting in car doing nothing wasting petrol lor. anyway YRV is obvious so u can't miss me.

last time got some member have active sub, but currently nobody i can recall. so what u can do is see what is possible with front speakers alone, without rear speakers, and see if anyone's sub is more like active sub nature etc....

Do join us, If happen that you see no one at the store. just take a peep at those car that park in front of the nasi padan store.

you will see ppl inside the car playing their audio loud. [laugh]

> I dont go ard bom bom bom....i only listen to songs, and just need a reasonable to good sound system.

hardly anyone in the group boom boom except got one joker. the rest just play at listening volume. there is one member Nephilim just install speakers but no amp, so his style similar to yours. but donno if he'll come down.

got weekly meetup on wednesday but if u itchy to install and wanna meet earlier, friday night bishan MCF meetup a few of us also come down and talk some ICE.

i think for you what's important in the meetup is to listen and FEEL the effect of no sub system and sub system. if got people use active sub, even better, can feel that.

my suggestion is this. u haven't spoken about your budget yet. it's possible to get some nice speakers like what people mention in other threads: CDT but that one more expensive than this blaupunkt .. i think people talk about $300 including install.

using this speakers, for example, it'll be enough bass to make your door rattle until you want to put some thing to reduce rattling if u like to play loud. some things involve: just 1 layer of bitumen in the door, and 2 layers of quarter-inch superlon foam. this is so that you remain light-weight cos i'm sure u still want fast car. total weight not very heavy.

as for sub, my recommendation is to get a reasonably inexpensive amp that has enough power to play a reasonable sub. for example, there is this sub available called the RE12 sub, it's 12" diameter, so your sub box takes up about 25% of your boot space. the amp doesn't need very expensive cos the sub is quite low-requirement, about 175W RMS rating. so many amps can run it.

active sub has quite a few limitations, for example, one guy who ran active sub told me, he want it louder, he turn the volume up, the speaker cannot take it liao. the only good thing about active sub (apart from physical size) is the fact that you can place under your seat.

p.s. congrats on your wedding!

Edited by Hyun

i am laying aside $800 for ICE including installation.

went sim lim tower yesterday to look ard also. was quoted CDT KA61 for $245, and Rodek active 8" under the seat for $130, and another MBQuarte 6" under the seat at $165......Was intro to Boss coaxial for $35. These are well within my budget. I understand that without an amp, I will not be able to bring the full potential of my component....What would u recommend for either of the active sub? and setup? Or u have other ideas and suggestions?

I mostly listen to songs, and think clarity is more of a priority, which allows me to hear the different instruments being played during the song..

for 95% of the members here, clarity is the priority. 5% (which consists of one joker) he is probably too deaf to understand clarity. but the rest of us, we have the same idea as you, so don't worry. we're not recommending things to go boom boom around for no reason.

i'm not familiar with active sub. unfortunately our member Vicky donno whether he is still reading the posts. try pm him. he used to use an active sub. he can tell u what an active sub lacks. i foresee that the only good thing about active sub is 1) the price (when you compare with passive, a sub + amp brand new price is usually at least $300-350 minimum) and the location (it's in front, under your seat) and size.

i dun read your post clearly, u're very set on NO AMP or u're considering? if got amp, 5-channel amp is a good idea - 4 for fronts, 1 for sub. it can work out to be cheaper than front amp + sub amp + sub. (see the other post on cheap and good ice, got some basic ideas there.)

i didn't outright mention any brands cos they're not that far different. sure there are some lousy brands. but many are not too bad. i see 5-channel amp 2nd hand selling for $250. i see subs selling for below $150. front speakers 2nd hand from usually $200 2nd hand. a lot of nice deals out there on second hand market.

"boss coaxial" are speakers? errr.. if u get front speakers, u dun need any more for rear, really.

CDT KA61 is i think the lousier "new range". for some reason i think they made their new stuff lousier. the more popular one is CDT CL-61 or CL-62 (very similar) but the price is higher at closer to $300 (include install). i dont know exactly why KA61 is lousier but hey, it's cheaper.

there are some threads talking about running front speakers without amp, just from head unit. the usual things mentioned are CDT again, and Cube Acoustic got one model. i dont know if got people mention Rainbow to run from HU or not. it's possible. it's just that the HU has about 17W RMS of power. 17W divided into one tweeter, and one door speaker. that's not really a lot. if u pump up the volume, u're still getting sound - it's just not so clean. and since u mentioned "clarity is more of a priority", u may not like it.

so if clarity is a significant priority, and your $800 can stretch a bit more to about 900-1000, read the other thread about CHEAP AND GOOD ice. there is such a thing as cheap and good. last time i didn't realise, so now i post this so that people know some things are indeed possible.

if u want to go that route, then time to search 2nd hand forums, find out which components are better than which for that price .... we're here to help you.