How to palm steer?

Glendon

Can someone share how to execute a palm steer correctly? I got it right a couple of times and the turns were extremely smooth. However I don't get that result consistently because I can't get a good grip on every occasion.

Any pointers?

Thanks!

erm.. is that really important? cannot then use the normal steer la.. It is safer anyway..

palm steer stimes can slip... although I still do it everytime. haha..

not encouraging palm steering here... but for me in the past... had only simply use the right palm to maneuver... with the left hand idling. had no issue with corners and turns.

personal feeling... strongly believe it is really not necessary to use palm steering... think I feel safer to drive with 2 hands griping on the wheels.

get those knobs that the bus/lorry/big big vehicle drivers use lor.

Then not only you can palm steer, you can mouth steer , inverted elbow steer and erm... shall not say where else.... Just joking.

There is no correct way of palm steering i think, it is driver based and the biggest factor of whether a palm steer can be executed correctly is the character of the steering wheel itself.

For my car it is a little to slippery and the power steering lacks the power.

But for the toyota altis/corolla/camry, driving with one hand is so much more easierlaugh.gif

Easy. Follow this few simple steps if u can't get a good grip:

Firstly use left hand to put away your cell phone which u'r holding and SMSing.

Secondly place your left hand and your right hand on the steering wheel.

Whoa la! Good steering grip instantly! [thumbsup]

firstly.. not advisable as wht other bros here comment..

if u slip.. thts it [shakehead][shakehead]

second. some is leather. some with wheel cover.. main thing is u must haf friction..

thts for me lah....

i liek plam steering cause its more smooth when taking corner and easy to nego the corner thus lesser chance of eating out of the lane..

if u haf sweaty plams.and using leather... nt abviseable. SOrry ah. dnt kwn if u haf sweaty plams or nt. no offence ah. for me if using wheel cover with fabric .. too big for me to use palm.. leather is better for me...

if those wooden finishing.. nt good for me as its slippery at time... [jawdrop]

Sometimes, I see cabbies doing palm steer. IMHO, if u are a beginner or new to a car, it can quite dangerous to palm steer, even if steering is super light. [shakehead]

Even for experienced drivers, I dun think can do palm steering for cars with heavy steering, like getz, focus etc. I tried before on getz, simply no grip at all times. For lighter steering, maybe can, but need to careful.

On a lighter note, palm steering can really impress passengers, esp females. They could think, " whoa! Skilful sia! " [laugh]

You'll never see race car drivers "palm steer". Does that tell you which is the proper technique? For better feedback, use the pull and feed method. The reason you see a lot of taxi drivers unable to take a simple U-turn is because they did not employ the pull and feed method. People might give the excuse a taxi is RWD and longer and blah and blah but the fact is that it takes a lousy driver with lousy habits to show how much an idiot they are at driving, driver's license or not.

The pull and feed method enables you to turn tighter and faster. If your car specs 3.6-4.0m turning radius, you will achieve that turning radius more effectively and efficiently.

That's where you are wrong. Palm steering is slow and does not enable you to effectively turn quicker. Because you are using one hand, you have only one feedback. Two hands = twice the amount of feedback and feedback is important to your brain which is doing the adjustments through force of habit.

i liek plam steering cause its more smooth when taking corner and easy to nego the corner thus lesser chance of eating out of the lane..

[/reply]

Are u sure palm steering is better for cornering? [shocked]

Your car steering must be super-light, I guess.

pointers? use both hands.

if you palm steer while doing high speed cornering, and you happen to over/understeer, you are done for. Because you automatically revoke the slight chance of survival by (luck) to correct the over/understeering that you could have with both hands.

instead of cornering, why not try to palm steer a 2 lane U-turn at 60km/hr instead? [hur]

Edited by Ronnie

What material is your steering wheel ? Encountered slip before, scary. sweatdrop.gif

Leather... but I do it very slowly and in my car park; when visibility is good and no one is around.

If you must do palm steering, get one of those steering knob on fork lift truck steering wheel and then you can steer with one hand.

No joke I had seen people installing that on their car's steering wheel [laugh]