Alfpoon

Malaysians are bad drivers?  

55 members have voted

1. 1.

• Agree
    • Disagree
    • Neutral

yours different mah.

no kar chng more tiong.mine got kar chng is family one.

honestly,do you miss your old car?or you prefer your new Marchie?

Edited by Turbonetics

i was actually quite surprised about this report as i always felt that M'sian drivers have better driving etiquette on highways compared to S'pore drivers because of the fact that they have more experience and "practice" of NSH. [scholar]

When I drive on NSH, i'm always quite impressed. [thumbsup]

well...there will always be bad apples in a fruit basket, just didn't expect to have so many. [thumbsdown]

yah they r good on NSH..but local cabbies really cmi...like drivers from hell

my car tiong is my business,he drive so close for what.hur.gif

Malaysia got more tiong chia for him to tailed.my car also not very tiong mah,no stickers all.

i seldom have this kinda experience for being tailgated.at least not as close as what he did.

i thought he wanted to ram on me.sweatdrop.gif

that is how they travel in MY. they tailgate as close as they can and overtake when possible. Nothing to do with your car tiong. [sweatdrop]

Dun worry your rear not that attractive yet.... [lipsrsealed]

last Sun,i was being tailgated by a Malaysian Wira on CTE at lane 1.

i was not even road hogging.i was behind a camry by about 1 car length and the road ahead was packed also.

i guess he did it on purpose because he moved more to the right side and i could see his right headlight via my right side mirror.i did not want to spoil my Sun so i signalled left wanting to filter to lane 2 to let him go.but he also filter to lane 2 because he is going to exit.before i switched to lane 1,he was behind me on lane 2.and only within a short distance and he exited.hur.gif

he move more to the right is becuz he wants to see if your front is clear, if it is he will overtake. thats what they do in MY. travel MY more often and you will understand but not only johor lar.... [laugh]

Dun keep thinking pple wan to tailgate you just cuz u drive a honda... [sweatdrop]

In Malaysia, I drive mostly on their NS highway and I must say that the drivers using the high way are ususally more skillful as compared to Singapore drivers. Singapore drives are poor at judging speed of car coming from their rear, there are many occasions where I was running at high speed but they just don't know or don't bother and just filter out to the right lane and I had to step my brakes. As for Malaysian cars, if you tail gate them at highway at high speed, they will usually give way to you, especially if you switch on your headlights (no need to high beem them).

Those drivers that goes to NS high way are usually skilled, those that just got their license usually do not dare to just drive on their high way because they are afraid of trucks using the left lane and they cannot handle high speed at the right lane, so ususally they still use the small roads (and can save toll charges).

Singapore drives on CTE, SKL, KJE, BKE, PIE, all the E including ECP, AYE,...etc are [shakehead]

They think driving at 90km/hr is already very fast and keep jamming up the right lane.

Left lane and centre lane are used by lorry, van, motor bike, container trucks, bus,..etc. Singapore basically left only the right lane to drive and we have lots of people road hog but they think that 90km/hr is already the legal speed limit and therefore they stay at right lane [sweatdrop]

I am a Singaporean by the way.

iam fine now lah.

but seriously when he tailed me hor,cannot relax loh.

i really very stress then.i scared infront jam brake then he hit me.sweatdrop.gif

don't want to spoil my mood going town to see girls.laugh.gif

when he left,i felt relieved.

i never thought of posting here until i see this thread title and it reminds me of the recent incident mah.

He's doing a FC challenge mah [sly] Less drag coz he's in your slipstream [laugh]

... Actually, MY drivers are much better compared to SG drivers. Just go on NSH & observe the protocols & etiquette of highway driving. Or observe the mutual understanding between drivers in a bumper to bumper crawl. It'll put SG drivers to shame.

I agree with that totally, but i have to admit, singaporean drivers are better in terms of defensive and safer city driving. Country/rural driving has its own set of driving techniques which they will naturally be better at since we don't have those type of roads in sg. On another note, coutry/rural driving skills worldwide are dropping as more people are moving to city/urban areas.

There're some even argue that the "speed limit is 90km/h mah so I'm not road hogging"....c'mon , if the chaps behind need to go fast just give way to him/her - no big deal.[/reply]

thts the worst excuse i always hear on the road. or cabbies gif tht excuse.... [laugh][laugh][laugh] ...somehow they simple dnt knw wht is road hogging..

once this cabby nvr brake and almost hit my mum on the passenger side. which he was coming out from the fliter lane. I almost bang into him n wind my window down, STILL horning.shout at him. how he drive one... He say. Y u horn me...

wow kaoz... come out from fliter lane nvr check blind spot almost cause accident and bang into me. Y i horn him... wow liao... [furious][knife][bigcry][whip][rifle] ......

last Sun,i was being tailgated by a Malaysian Wira on CTE at lane 1.

i was not even road hogging.i was behind a camry by about 1 car length and the road ahead was packed also.

i guess he did it on purpose because he moved more to the right side and i could see his right headlight via my right side mirror.i did not want to spoil my Sun so i signalled left wanting to filter to lane 2 to let him go.but he also filter to lane 2 because he is going to exit.before i switched to lane 1,he was behind me on lane 2.and only within a short distance and he exited.hur.gif

Then?

What's the issue here ...i dont quite get it.

Did him "tailgating" (relative verb) you caused you any financial loss? Hurt? Pain? Physiological Discomfort? Dont think so ...maybe more psychological - low self esteem

Singaporeans are not qualified to label malaysians as bad drivers. [:|]

mind u, i'm not even a PR, i'm born n bred here. [:p]

garang, even reckless, maybe. but they have better road courtesy and look out for their fellow motorists, even singaporean drivers. singaporeans tend to care abt themselves only

There are more Singaporeans dead on overseas hwy than any other nationalities...

And they drive like crap.

Talk to any NZlanders, Aussies, Americans...... Singaporeans are rated number one for dumb driving.... Look at our roads.. it's designed for sissies

that is how they travel in MY. they tailgate as close as they can and overtake when possible.

there's a reason for this, as i just found out when i took a trip up to johor with abt 100km or more of trunk roads..

u have to overtake quickly cos u can't see that far in front on the other side. or the overtaking window may be relatively short. by tailgating first, less time is spent on the wrong side of the road

it's far safer to tailgate first then overtake. if u don't tailgate, u may have no chance to overtake at all, unless u are driving some T/Ced monster car. even tho most of them have modded and loud exhausts, their cars aren't THAT powerful.

for me, to overtake even a lorry, i have to tailgate the lorry first, then drop two gears and floor the gas once the opposite direction is clear. sometimes when i revert back to my normal driving (no tailgating), i realized that i could not overtake. of course, it's largely due to my lack of horsepower [bigcry]