Malaysians are bad drivers?  

55 members have voted

1. 1.

• Agree
    • Disagree
    • Neutral

http://news.asiaone.com.sg/a1news/20061212_story4_1.html

Malaysians are bad drivers

There are 320,000 accidents and 6,200 deaths yearly on Malaysian roads and a shocking 67 per cent of the accidents were caused by human error. Why?

By Minderjeet Kaur

Dec 12, 2006

New Straits Times

KUALA LUMPUR - Sixty-seven per cent of road accidents this year was due to human error and some guardians of road safety are putting the blame on driving schools for this.

These experts came up with a resolution to improve the driving skills of new drivers at the Road Safety Council

Malaysia is a big place. You get lots of bikes running arnd kampungs, B & C roads with no helmets, 3 person on a single bike etc . Police also bo-chap. Or rather, they cannot afford to offend the kampung folks. Not surprised if most of these kampung bikers have no license at all.

Then they move on to cities to work. Buy a bike & zip around cities like they do in their kampungs. Just that being in the city, they have to put on helmet. As to whether they have license ??? lipsrsealed.giflipsrsealed.giflipsrsealed.gif

Same with car drivers. They drive along kampung roads also like that.

Hence, you have issues with massive fatal accidents in MY & discovered such & such a driver has got no license & insurance cover ....

As to the so called 'kopi-o-license', hiaz, it has been around as long as I can remember .... just that I'm surprised that the Pan-Malaysia Lorry Owners Association president actually said it on record ..laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif

Actually, MY drivers are much better compared to SG drivers. Just go on NSH & observe the protocols & etiquette of highway driving. Or observe the mutual understanding between drivers in a bumper to bumper crawl. It'll put SG drivers to shame.

That is one of "greatest" export to our singapore road, btw I live in Woodlands [thumbsdown] ..... have more than enough share of kuku [hur] kampong drivers coming from the north

last Sun,i was being tailgated by a Malaysian Wira on CTE at lane 1.

i was not even road hogging.i was behind a camry by about 1 car length and the road ahead was packed also.

i guess he did it on purpose because he moved more to the right side and i could see his right headlight via my right side mirror.i did not want to spoil my Sun so i signalled left wanting to filter to lane 2 to let him go.but he also filter to lane 2 because he is going to exit.before i switched to lane 1,he was behind me on lane 2.and only within a short distance and he exited.hur.gif

maybe he thought that CTE is an Extension of NSH... [:p]

always good to stay clear...if accident, also dunno what kind of problems we may face claiming their insurance! [sweatdrop]

Actually, MY drivers are much better compared to SG drivers. Just go on NSH & observe the protocols & etiquette of highway driving. Or observe the mutual understanding between drivers in a bumper to bumper crawl. It'll put SG drivers to shame.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Agree on your observation.They 're more willing to give way to you on the NSH then our own on the expressway.There're some even argue that the "speed limit is 90km/h mah so I'm not road hogging"....c'mon , if the chaps behind need to go fast just give way to him/her - no big deal.

Edited by Contax

I feel that, generally, the M'sian drivers are better than ours. Their high accident rate could be due mainly to lousy tyres, badly maintained braking system, older cars etc. I find more polite than us on NS highway. But I find most JB drivers drive like us.

I find most msia drivers better ...more patient and they give way most of time..but many msia bikers are horrible riders...esp on BKE/KJE toward customs..maybe they are rushing home..

my car tiong is my business,he drive so close for what.hur.gif

Malaysia got more tiong chia for him to tailed.my car also not very tiong mah,no stickers all.

i seldom have this kinda experience for being tailgated.at least not as close as what he did.

i thought he wanted to ram on me.sweatdrop.gif

Edited by Turbonetics

maybe he forgot that he's already in S'pore. laugh.giflaugh.gif

I noticed that many cars also tend to speed right after the Tuas immigration complex on Jln Ahmad Ibrahim. That stretch is only 80kmh and 90kmh only start after Tmn Jurong. I can understand the damn sian feeling as shiok-shiok 110-120kmh in NSH and then feel like crawling arnd 80kmh immediately after custom complex. unsure.gif

i was actually quite surprised about this report as i always felt that M'sian drivers have better driving etiquette on highways compared to S'pore drivers because of the fact that they have more experience and "practice" of NSH. [scholar]

When I drive on NSH, i'm always quite impressed. [thumbsup]

well...there will always be bad apples in a fruit basket, just didn't expect to have so many. [thumbsdown]

relax lah..cool down lah..

driving is like da one mah..y get so worked up over such drivers?laugh.gif

and driving civic is like da...i thought u suppose to be used to these?

i also kena tailgate all time leh coz my car slow...but i take it easily lah..car slow mah..wat to do..hahahaha..if everytime kena like da also unhappy then mcf will be full of my postings of kena tailgate etc and v soon my blood pressure shoot up and die in my sleep sweatdrop.gifdead.giflaugh.gif

ya...i must keep extra caution and lookout whenever driving on KJE sweatdrop.gif these riders can suddenly cut in & out..no wonder so many accidents at KJE..mostly are msia riders sweatdrop.gif..

iam fine now lah.

but seriously when he tailed me hor,cannot relax loh.

i really very stress then.i scared infront jam brake then he hit me.sweatdrop.gif

don't want to spoil my mood going town to see girls.laugh.gif

when he left,i felt relieved.

i never thought of posting here until i see this thread title and it reminds me of the recent incident mah.