Weixiang_06 Clutched December 9, 2006 Share December 9, 2006 Hello everyone, i got a nagging question.. recently, i come across a post in a forum that mention that using API specification SJ grade is suitable for modern cars? Is it true, from what i have obtained from the web, its mentioned that SJ grade though still existent is getting obsolete.. The most recent addition and current grade is SM grade, if not one can also fall back on SL grade... SM grade oil are considered more stringent and thus of better quality than that of SL, and likewise SJ... mmz... i was wondering for the range of budget cars like vios, altis, sunny, lancer, jazz and etc... is SJ grade suitable? i think its not, at least the manual states a minimum of SL grading, if possible get SM grade... oil gurus, can help me on this? Trex101? Genie47? or simply anyone in the forum who would be more knowledgable in this area... thanks! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear December 9, 2006 Share December 9, 2006 i'm nowhere near as knowledgeable, but errrr... where in singapore got sell SJ??? in malaysia petrol kiosk still can find la even the straight grade oil for heavy machinery tt i saw is API SL (and API CH-4, since it's diesel rated oil for diesel engine) btw, i think my getz manual says min requirement is SJ. might be wrong though. anyway, got "CL" which is API SL for those who are not fussy.. as well as even cheaper offerings like trex's chevron dino oil. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nine_eleven 2nd Gear December 9, 2006 Share December 9, 2006 SJ oils are harder to find now even if you want it... there is no price advantage to go for SJs anyway... just go for SL can liao... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weixiang_06 Clutched December 9, 2006 Author Share December 9, 2006 (edited) hello, dun know coz i come across a forum, where there is an active thread.. about a workshop that gives servicing.. the servicing package is quite enticing... as in its only $170... they are throwing alot of things with the package... but the grade of the engine oil is SJ the name of the engine oil is Bizol Formula 1 SAE 0W-40 you can find out more about the oil here... http://www.bizol.de/products/det.php?produ...d=23&c=2&lang=3 i was quite amazed when i came across this... for my tomyam ride, a FL version, it states mi requirement is SL, if possible and got money can go for SM.. the thing i know of is SM grade is more stringent than SL which in turn is even more stringent compared to SJ. SM grade would encompass the protection found in SL and with even more stuff included... so the order is like SM > SL > SJ? so asking people around... hehee.. wow.. your getz is really fuel efficient.. i got friend who is driving 1.4A getz, she complaining her ride is like like hippo petrol drinker.. enjoy ur ride.! Edited December 9, 2006 by Weixiang_06 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear December 9, 2006 Share December 9, 2006 btw, why u ask? did u think that it wud be cheaper than SL/SM rated oils? CL kena condemn liao, even tho it's SL, i think no-one on MCF will try SJ rated Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weixiang_06 Clutched December 9, 2006 Author Share December 9, 2006 haha.. coz i am SJ grade oil in modern cars? i was confused.. so posting in MCF to ask for comments and opinion.. couldn't find the information by searching... its not CL.. its some other oil... i edited my post le.. its an engine oil called Bizol... check my previous post, its printed in bold and highlighted in red now Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear December 9, 2006 Share December 9, 2006 i have to disagree.. vios which is 1.5 can get 15km/l easily (for those who dunno how to drive properly or hrf and kpkb just ignore the buggers ). jazz which is 1.4 can do 17km/l? however, since 1K i'm running on 15w-60 semi-syn . and i have heavy right foot. currently FC drop even more to 14.something km/l. i cannot complain la Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear December 9, 2006 Share December 9, 2006 haha.. coz i am Sweat Drop SJ grade oil in modern cars? i was confused.. so posting in MCF to ask for comments and opinion.. couldn't find the information by searching... its not CL.. its some other oil... i edited my post le.. its an engine oil called Bizol... check my previous post, its printed in bold and highlighted in red now Thumbs Up ========= ya i know it's not CL! CL is SL-rated. i was just using it as a comparison i think we discuss also no use. waiting for the arrival of the experts Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weixiang_06 Clutched December 9, 2006 Author Share December 9, 2006 (edited) no lah.. rem chery QQ... its 0.8l but the FC is like quite jialat... i better dun mention figures.. haha.. else people will start remembering the past.. but ur figures are really good for a 1.1 litre car.. and some more its a w60 engine oil... amazing! remeber ur car body is heavy and stable leh.. not like vios which is milo tin yeah let's wait for them and meanwhile anyone can chip in too.. share share Edited December 9, 2006 by Weixiang_06 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maddriver 4th Gear December 10, 2006 Share December 10, 2006 Chemlube is SJ u can get them at "Pin Liang" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weixiang_06 Clutched December 10, 2006 Author Share December 10, 2006 my FL version, manufactured in 2005... the manual states SL/SM grade, would using SJ grade harm the engine? apparently in a post of another forum, a forumer says its okie.. i was like can anyone help? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seanboi 1st Gear December 11, 2006 Share December 11, 2006 I tink i ever heard that SJ contains lots of addictives in e oil. Y bother about SJ grade? SL and SM grade prices oso reasonable wad... Like e oil u using now, Motul H-Tech. one more ting is that the SJ oil tis workshop is offering might have been stored for quite some time liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weixiang_06 Clutched December 19, 2006 Author Share December 19, 2006 icic.... tt's what i tot too? Genie47 where are you? upz! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...