Is tire patching effective?

Patcheon

Just helped a friend in the evening to bring his car to a workshop to patch up a tire that was kenna hooked by a little finger thickness hook. The workshop guy pulled out the hook and then patched up the tire. My friend later asked me a number of questions like how effective is the patching? Will the tire suffer any long term effects and is there any risk driving a patched tire esp on journeys into Malaysia. Was Kinda lost of answers, so like to seek the opinions of people here. Thanks.

a patch tyre is ok for city driving. [thumbsup]

if u wanna NSH at 150km/h. u better change. cuz at high temp for long distances, the patch may give way or leak.

i aso did patching before... but after a few weeks air leak out again. its due to the poor workmanship.

try to monitor the tyres pressure lo..

I have patch twice on my previous 2 rides and the tyres lasted for years before I got ride of the cars.

I have also driven to penang at 160~190km/h for god know how many hours bothway under hot and wet condition,it just refuse to melt away..... [laugh]

It all depend on the workmanship.... my tire kena big nail.... workshop patch up, I drive for another year or so before the tire go botak and I change....

My patching is all done at Teo Hin Tires. And so far, quite ok.

In fact, I've even used patched tires for drifting at Gelang Patah. The tire rubber falls apart before the patch gave way.

Don't have to worry, of course provided workmanship is good! I had pataches done in many of my previous tyres and driving to KL with Average speed of 150-160km/hr. But I prefer internal patching.

Just saw in the tyre shop the other day, there is a 'new' type of patching which does both internal & external, cost $15/patch.

Its ok lah bro. I ve seen tyre patching done on a lamborghini as well, whose rear big farking tyre 295-width tyre kena one nail. Since its a bloody expensive tyre(P-zero I think), the shop patched it. After that still ok and can vroom vroom away [nod]

Boh tai chee aa mai gia [kiss]

Edited by Ahbengdriver

Do they use inner tubes anymore? Cause if you are uneasy with patching (whether external/internal) and continue to be tubeless, use a tube for ease of mind.

Thanks guys for the replies, I will tell my friend to just monitor the tire pressure. What the shop did should be external patching since he did not remove the tire from the rim. Can drop a hint on where this 'new' type of patching is done, just to arm with the knowledge in case the need to do patching arise again. Thanks.

Any tyre that has a punctual will eventuall cause damaged to the steel/nylon belt that runs along the tyre. This will weakened the structual strength and by any safety standard, it should not be used again.

However, the high cost of living here in Singapore make cahnging of tyres very expensive hence, the various way of patching has been develop. The most 'secured' way is the internal patching,

the process involves

- removing the punctualed tyre

- removed the nails or object

- treat the sutface that are deisgnated for patching

- applied the adheresive on the patch and tyre internal surface

- once dry, refit the tyre, pressure up and check for leak

the effectiveness of internal patching is all depends on the workmanship and the process know how, (exmaple, allow sufficient time for the adheresive to be cured before fitting back the tyre and pressure up.

a good tyre shop will inspall the tyre back with the orginal positions as this should has minimum impact to the tyre's balanced properties.

by asking around, you will find various tyre shops that is able to patch from internal.

I have been using ptached tyres frequently, (due to running very often to Tuas and shipyard). and the patched tyres has been serving me fine.

But I do garee that do check the tyre pressure more regularly just in case the patch was not done correctly.

happy motoring...

hi you are right, but i have 1 very important point to add.

by removing the tyre from rim than they can do a thorough inspection of inside of tyre,

is no point to sealed a hole from outside and actually tyre had injured internally which may lead to tyre failure.

I stronly believe a responsible/professional tyre service providers should carry out the internal repaired.

Just MHO