Ccssgm 1st Gear November 25, 2006 Share November 25, 2006 Korea Car Improved Liow.............. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Humsuplou Neutral Newbie November 25, 2006 Share November 25, 2006 4 disc brakes does not mean anything... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear November 25, 2006 Share November 25, 2006 Would 4-disc brake with EBD equates to shorter braking distance compared with 2-disc (front) brakes? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear November 25, 2006 Share November 25, 2006 In today's automotive pantheon, it's not uncommon to find four-wheel disc brakes as standard equipment on medium-priced, non performance-oriented models. The majority of new vehicles, however, continue to utilize a front-disc/rear-drum brake setup. What does this say about the current state of braking systems? Are these manufacturers sacrificing vehicle safety in order to save a few bucks by installing disc brakes on only the front wheels? While a "yes" answer would certainly be great for increasing Town Hall traffic, the truth is that today's disc/drum setups are completely adequate for the majority of new cars. Remember that both disc and drum brake design has been vastly improved in the last 20 years. In fact, the current rear drum brake systems on today's cars would provide better stopping performance then the front disc setups of the '70s. And today's front disc brakes are truly exceptional in terms of stopping power. Combined with the fact that between 60 and 90 percent of a vehicle's stopping power comes from the front wheels, it's clear that a well-designed, modern drum brake is all that's required for most rear wheel brake duty. High performance cars like the Viper, 911 and Corvette can justify a four-wheel disc brake system, especially if their owners participate in some form of sanctioned racing activity on the weekends. The rest of us get more of a benefit from the lower cost of drum brakes. Expecting every vehicle built today to come with four-wheel disc brakes would require an across-the-board increase in purchase price, and that could stop new car buyers much quicker than any brake system. What car are you driving? I suppose have rear brake drum? Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear November 25, 2006 Share November 25, 2006 Is not easy or difficult to service disc or drum. Is expensive($$) to maintain disc compare to drum. Depends. Tell me is it cheaper to change disc brake pad verus brake drum pad? Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged November 25, 2006 Share November 25, 2006 Vios runs 4 disc brakes, Yaris has front discs, but Yaris is still more expensive than the Vios. What I have read is that for normal driving, drums perform just as well as discs, but for repeated stops eg. on a racetrack, discs resist brake fade better. I believe it is easier to change a disc brake's pads than a drum brake's. 4 discs do look nicer than having drums at the back. If you use sport rims, the bits behind the spokes don't look so empty. So in the end it is all about looks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Humsuplou Neutral Newbie November 25, 2006 Share November 25, 2006 No Unless you drive a performance car running at high speed Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cool_jazz Neutral Newbie November 25, 2006 Share November 25, 2006 dics brake is the toyota's most favour, almost all toyota models except Wish regless Engine Capacity are all disc brake, but Nissan is another end, you almost can't find any 1.6L and below Nissan models c/w all disc brake, even 2.0L Sylphy still is using rear drum brake I wonder is it necessary that 1.6L and below family Sedan equip all disc brake You can get the Wish with 4 disc brakes. Its the higher specs model. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cool_jazz Neutral Newbie November 25, 2006 Share November 25, 2006 "What I have read is that for normal driving, drums perform just as well as discs, but for repeated stops eg. on a racetrack, discs resist brake fade better. I believe it is easier to change a disc brake's pads than a drum brake's. " Yeap.... even if its not on the track..... just coming down Genting makes a difference. Another thing is steel wheel vs alloy rims. Steel wheels has less holes for air to flow and cool the disc/drum brakes so the car will get brake fade pretty quickly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
EventH 1st Gear November 25, 2006 Share November 25, 2006 Just like the higher spec new stream ... I heard disc brakes are better for big/heavy vehicle like SUV and MPVs Wish and Stream are not exactly heavy in the first place. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cool_jazz Neutral Newbie November 25, 2006 Share November 25, 2006 Wish and Stream are not heavy weights in the MPV segment but when its fully loaded,...... I think it can be heavy. Another advantage of haveing rear disc brakes.... Cars with disc brakes as standard can upgrade their calipers, rotors or pads easily. And slotted rotors makes a big diff. How's your Altezza doing? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear November 25, 2006 Share November 25, 2006 Would 4-disc brake with EBD equates to shorter braking distance compared with 2-disc (front) brakes? i think for daily use, it's equal to front disc, rear drum with EBD Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear November 25, 2006 Share November 25, 2006 Is not easy or difficult to service disc or drum. Is expensive($$) to maintain disc compare to drum. Depends. Tell me is it cheaper to change disc brake pad verus brake drum pad? Regards, actually i thot drum is much more leh cheh. need to open up the drum after taking out the wheel. for disc, just remove wheel then can access caliper liao. drum brakes also need to "blow dust" now and then.. but the best thing abt drums imho is that LESS BRAKE DUST . personally, i dun mind rear drums, wud rather upgrade front braking system than change my rear drum to disc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear November 25, 2006 Share November 25, 2006 No Unless you drive a performance car running at high speed Example, if a car is travelling 180km/h, does 4-disc with EDB equates to shorter braking distance vs 2-disc (front) ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skunk Clutched November 25, 2006 Share November 25, 2006 dics brake is the toyota's most favour, almost all toyota models except Wish regless Engine Capacity are all disc brake, but Nissan is another end, you almost can't find any 1.6L and below Nissan models c/w all disc brake, even 2.0L Sylphy still is using rear drum brake I wonder is it necessary that 1.6L and below family Sedan equip all disc brake nah, my ancient Nissan Presea 1.6litre is all disc brakes.....keke...not trying to be funny, but i know what u mean. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackspotgg Neutral Newbie November 25, 2006 Share November 25, 2006 IMHO, think all discs brake should be better la. Else Mazda that time would not offer free upgrade to the Mazda 3 to all discs brake... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mysteria Neutral Newbie November 25, 2006 Share November 25, 2006 other than that.. i guess it looks so much nicer with 4 disc brakes.. drums brakes really.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ldawn88 2nd Gear November 25, 2006 Share November 25, 2006 in the context of 1.6l cars and below... drums at the back are sufficient. if you see all 4 discs, most probably these cars are zhngable (mostly in looks only lah). esp you change to cool sports rim. in terms of performance, again in the context of 1.6l domestic cars, no diff between disc and drum. dics brake is the toyota's most favour, almost all toyota models except Wish regless Engine Capacity are all disc brake, but Nissan is another end, you almost can't find any 1.6L and below Nissan models c/w all disc brake, even 2.0L Sylphy still is using rear drum brake I wonder is it necessary that 1.6L and below family Sedan equip all disc brake ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...