Vit4wd 1st Gear November 24, 2006 Share November 24, 2006 (edited) Tell me - why would anyone want to pay a hefty premium for a 1.8l E200 at S$12,000/yr when they can have a much more powerful 2.5l turbo Volvo S80 for only S$7,700/yr? S80 http://www.sgcarmart.com/main/info-2EnH27ow-1076.html E200 http://www.sgcarmart.com/main/info-2EniU1oW-1076.html Is it purely the Mercedes badge that Mercedes owners / prospective buyers are going for? I don't see how the S80's overall features, reliability, handling and ride comfort can lose out to the E200. Given a choice between these 2, which would you choose? Why? * Both cars are 3 yrs old Edited November 24, 2006 by Vit4wd ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vblaster_w211 2nd Gear November 24, 2006 Share November 24, 2006 I posted my experience about 3 yrs back when I was contemplating these cars. In the end, you cannot judge by paper specs. You have to walk around, sit in, and drive. S80: Value for money, but the previous S80 simply lacks the character of BMW and Merc. Interior is uninspiring, handling a notch less than others. A competent up from the likes of Cefiro/Camry, but no in the league of the premium Germans. A6: Then the 2.4 was not in, so although I liked the looks and interior, it was not in consideration. The current FSI 2L model seems to be a good choice. 520 then: Very good choice. Driver's sedan. E200: I was actually against the Merc, but my spouse asked me to try it out. I was a convert after that. True, not as good in handling compared to the 520, but the build quality and luxuriousness is unparalled. With a bit of tuning, the 1.8L Kompressor is a sleeper engine. Still waiting for my spouse to give the go ahead with the Kleemann. But current E200K is a good 184bhp, so even stock, it's more than competent. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vit4wd 1st Gear November 24, 2006 Author Share November 24, 2006 The Merc may be better in certain aspects, but is it worth OR how does it justify that extra S$30,000 premium over its remaining 7 yr lifespan? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vblaster_w211 2nd Gear November 24, 2006 Share November 24, 2006 It's just personal choice. How do we justify a Civic's premium over Altis? Or an A4 over a Passat? Or E200/520/A6 over S80/Cefiro/Camry/Euro R? Or SLK/Boxster over Integra/RX-8/MX-5? They really appeal to different groups of people, that' all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latioboy 1st Gear November 24, 2006 Share November 24, 2006 Okay I so am gonna support s80.. cause my bro in law has 2 s80's and he's lovin them.. HAHA.. HE WAS DRIVING up KL for some meeting and he was telling me... the s80.. with the turbo and everything.. beat rex's and civic's who wanted to race with him.. Plus i sat in the car when it was at 140km/h? OHMYGOD super stable... and like.. Solid.. Plus s80 has lots of safety features.. I mean merc.. u can get the.. I HAVE A MERC kind of feeling.. but i feel the s80 is much betteer. No PUN intended... Sorry.. Just listing my thots.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Relagsingh 4th Gear November 24, 2006 Share November 24, 2006 2 S80s? Dun mind me asking, why will your bro in law have 2 S80s? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chan0004 Neutral Newbie November 24, 2006 Share November 24, 2006 Seems like S80 has an edge over E200 I've got a friend's dad hardcore S80.......ever since he switched from merz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latioboy 1st Gear November 24, 2006 Share November 24, 2006 ehs orry.. i mean.. he has one.. my sis has one. HAHA.. they love s80's/// L;OL... sorry lah.. i not rich.. so i cant enjoy their kind of life... Imagine.. my sis one s80.. my bro in law.. one s80.. HAWT STUFF MAN!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Relagsingh 4th Gear November 25, 2006 Share November 25, 2006 I still find it weird though... Husband and wife have a S80 each? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear November 25, 2006 Share November 25, 2006 Ah Boy, so your Bro-i-L and sis is in love with volvo and you are in love with nissan or maybe Tan Chong.. Is there any other people in your family that like other marques? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear November 25, 2006 Share November 25, 2006 People buy things with all sort of criteria. Vblaster_w211 have sort of explain in a very clear way. if you want a vague one, why would people want to buy a lambo or Aston Martin when a QQ can also bring them from point A to B? It's still a car. Same with Volvo and Merc. Or even a BMW, Lexus, Audi or even Saab. As for your last question, I guess we are all tired of these "if you were... " type of questions. Surprisingly, you are still going strong with new thread almost everyday... So can i ask "why"? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic November 25, 2006 Share November 25, 2006 Just buy the Picanto..cheap and good. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wasabi8888 Neutral Newbie March 22, 2008 Share March 22, 2008 Hi all I am new year and thus cannot start a new thread and was searching through and found this. Please forgive me for stealing the thread but in a dilema to choose a car to buy. 1. BMW 523 $171,000 2. BMW 520 $151,000 3. Merc E200 $168,000 4. Volvo S80 $145,000 I am currently driving iS200 and would love to try a continental car. What I am concerned is maintenance costs and reliability of course, drivability (how good the car performs). I am not good at techical specs, so any advice is great. I know the above is pretty vague, can anyone give me some advice? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic March 22, 2008 Share March 22, 2008 Are u talking about S60? Dun think S80 will be priced at 145k. I think u stick to cars with RWD since your current car is RWD. IMO U'll find that FWD(Volvo) handling is not as crisp as RWD. But in terms of maintenence Volvo do offer better options to help your wallet. Everything pro comes at a price. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic March 22, 2008 Share March 22, 2008 dont waste time, get the new S80 2.5T solid make and quality for under $140k Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged March 22, 2008 Share March 22, 2008 you are new year??? anyway i voted for S80 its a no brainer. 523 is out because i dont fancy a detuned engine. feel short changed. 520 isnt exactly a beemer with its underpower engine plus 4 cylinder E200 is good but taxis are using it. Also, too many of them on the road and built quality isnt exactly top notch. my friend's E200's interior (SFB car plate) is really looking like a proton with letters fading etc. S80, i've driven the new one. its such a gem. However, being a turbo, i donno if ownership will be bad, engine is too big for me at 2.5litre. i'ld prefer 2litre turbo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged March 22, 2008 Share March 22, 2008 volvo rocks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged March 22, 2008 Share March 22, 2008 indirectly u'r asking him to choose a beemer ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...