Hattee Neutral Newbie November 19, 2006 Share November 19, 2006 Came across some interesting news from recent Express Press Release about HP-1 High Performance Fuel Additive dated May 9, 2006. Not sure how true the claim of this revolutionary new Fuel Additive - increases Octane by 1-3 points, improves mileage by up to 30 per cent, reduces exhaust emissions by up to 80 per cent. From part of its FAQ at http://www.baautomotive.com/ ... What benefit can I expect from using ALL-IN-ONE? A: A major benefit, and of primary importance to most customers, is the immediate increase in power and fuel economy due to the increase in octane. The typical octane improvement is in the range of 1 to 3 numbers, but this of course depends on the fuel used. Some people report immediate improvement in performance. Others comment on improved fuel economy. ALL-IN-ONE also replaces lead protection, removes combustion chamber deposits and reduces smoke. It is important to note that the results will vary, depending on a number of factors, including the condition of the car, the quality of fuel, driving conditions, etc For US$50 enough to treat about 5000 litre of petrol. Works out to less than SIN$1 for every of our tanks to have higher octane and even better performance if the claim is accurate. Are we grossly short-changed by our petrol companies here? p.s. link to this Express Press Release @ http://express-press-release.com/25/HP-1%2...0per%20cent.php ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear November 19, 2006 Share November 19, 2006 (edited) Why waste time? Change to a cheaper and cleaner fuel like diesel or CNG lah! Diesel no need to say. CNG? For $2k conversion, you can buy SGD0.65/kg of CNG which at most cost you SGD10 to last you 180-200km assuming your car has an FC of 12km/L. Savings are even more if you go JB with the current exchange rates, SGD0.25/kg of CNG. That's MYR8-9 to last 180-200km. ROI in less than a year. Edited November 19, 2006 by Genie47 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chembeng Neutral Newbie November 19, 2006 Share November 19, 2006 i'd luv to convert to CNG use if i own a car too, for the low FC in the long run. But, there are several concerns we should take note: 1. Jeopardize the insurance protection scheme. i dunno the full details but i heard this is bcos CNG is presumably more risky than gasoline. 2. Currently SG got only 1 filling station - in jurong island. do take into consideration your office/home distance from the west, plus the compulsory time wasted at the checkpoint. 3. Despite the improved FC, the load of CNG fuel a vehicle can carry is much less compared to gasoline. Simple logic of gas relative to liquid. Simply put, most CNG cabs need to fill 1-2 times daily to meet their operation. I had this feedback from a few CNG cabs uncles personally. Pt 2 n 3 put together means u need to frequent the island very regularly. Whether it's worth to go CNG largely depends on your location, fuel usage rate, ease with a live 'torpedo' in your boot and car's age + insurance coverage plan. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear November 19, 2006 Share November 19, 2006 1. Unfounded. Talk to the majority of the Argentinians, Brazilians and Italians. The problem is unauthorized cylinders of dubious quality. Many of these in India. BTW, if you choose a fumigation system, it is easily removed. Insurance? LTA approves. Anyway I don't care for those gangsters in suits. Our insurance is just like hawker hangout protection money. Pay but they don't protect. Yes, I'm saying they are extortionists. 2. Jun 07. That's when the new stations come up. 6mths later is a very short time. Anyway, this bears no consequence to me. You however have to weigh this heavily. 3. FC is not improved. FC will most likely still be the same or a little worse. Remember, you will see 5-10% loss in performance. They have to fill 2X more but they cover more mileage than your average privately owned passenger car. Torpedo? Have seen a cylinder being punctured before? I have but the content is worse than CNG. Argon! Lots of money . The gas valve lopped off, it fizzed out the gas and the cylinder rotated round and round (apparenly not very straight) using the pressure as propellant until it ran out of argon. No it didn't explode or some fissure caused it to prematurely blow up. People have been fed with too many Hollywood movies. I see it everyday in CSI too. BTW to have CNG doesn't mean you have to use it exclusively. The Malaysian CNG users have already made it clear that to use CNG, you should not be some kind of CNG junkie. You just run on CNG until you fizz out and use petrol until your next convenient gas up. You get the benefit of a bifuel system. The key here is bifuel. You have a choice. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear November 19, 2006 Share November 19, 2006 heheh... spin round and round ah. Then like tt if any body accidentally kiss ur ass, ur car might spin round and round too lolz. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear November 19, 2006 Share November 19, 2006 That's called PIT maneuver. Only when you are wanted by the US police. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weihui Clutched November 19, 2006 Share November 19, 2006 ... Insurance? LTA approves. Anyway I don't care for those gangsters in suits. Our insurance is just like hawker hangout protection money. Pay but they don't protect. Yes, I'm saying they are extortionists. I love this comment so much Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hattee Neutral Newbie November 20, 2006 Author Share November 20, 2006 you still haven't used CNG afterall all that you said Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear November 20, 2006 Share November 20, 2006 (edited) And I will. Committment to it counts. I paid a deposit. ......AND you were saying that I was skeptical and not try anything? Edited November 20, 2006 by Genie47 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear November 20, 2006 Share November 20, 2006 The truth is actually revealed in The Incredibles. Mr Incredible was working for an insurance company and he genuinely wanted to help people get their insurance claims because people forked out money for insurance. To protect themselves from loss of life, property or misfortune. Instead, his boss reprimanded him for giving out "leaks" to customers on how to claim. His boss admitted that the organization is not out to help people. Insurance companies must make money. I'm OK with making money but what about helping people who put in money for protection? That's why I go for the lowest premiums. Don't bloody hell care what stupid incentives they offer. Doesn't make any difference. Claim a bit, raise premium. KNN! Sometimes I wonder if the people write the scripts for Pixar movies are geniuses themselves. My favorite line from Bug's Life. "It is not we ants who are weak. It is you the grasshoppers who need us ANTS!" . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hattee Neutral Newbie November 21, 2006 Author Share November 21, 2006 Great. That's action than talk. I do have prejudice against CNG but I certainly will open to hear from people who tried. Not everything in life can be found in books. Fear is not necessary the best solution to avoid poisonuous snake bite, perhaps. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ixat 1st Gear November 29, 2006 Share November 29, 2006 Sorry OT a little... Genie when CNG does eventually go mainstream in SG. Would you foresee ridiculous price hike? Supply vs demand....and lower cost product but charge at the same rate as petrol. We might be back to square one again? Whats your take on this? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hattee Neutral Newbie November 30, 2006 Author Share November 30, 2006 If I have not understood wrongly from users of current generation of CNG, it is clearly underpowered than petrol. Maybe can be better in future. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesgetz 4th Gear November 30, 2006 Share November 30, 2006 CNG vehicles underpowered? ever seen those white mercedes cabs with a green leaf sticker at rear bumper... they are jump you on a green light faster than you can say " C N G " Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hattee Neutral Newbie November 30, 2006 Author Share November 30, 2006 Maybe I am wrong. Might be for the same capacity, CNG not giving the same power as petrol. We can hear from Genie soon ... hmmm he will prove me wrong liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gamax Neutral Newbie December 1, 2006 Share December 1, 2006 no need to prove. he areadi rite. he is the scientist of mcf. the mythbuster of spore autp industry. with more ppl like him. the insurance, car price, fuel price will go down Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wishsing Neutral Newbie December 2, 2006 Share December 2, 2006 this CNG sounds interesting. where are you getting it done? SGD2K? thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear December 2, 2006 Share December 2, 2006 Melchers doing it. Jan 07. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...