Ultramega 1st Gear November 19, 2006 Share November 19, 2006 (edited) Hi,Yesterday i was surfing Nam Huat's website and i found their worksmanship for soundproofing to be very good. see this pic: http://www.namhuat.com/trackrecords/pictur...-9450MP0008.JPGas you can see, the sound insulation material conforms to the shape of the door, and a heatgun is used during installation to achieve this. then i went on to the "Featured Products" page and found they carry a brand of sound insulation material by the name of CAE.Anybody using this brand? Is it good? Any comments? where else can i get this kind of worksmanship? i am really keen on letting them do sound insulation for my car.Thanks. Edited May 27, 2014 by Ragingbull ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
User12343 Clutched November 19, 2006 Share November 19, 2006 plenty of places, so long u are willing to fork out some good $$$, most decent installers can do a good job. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dome81 Neutral Newbie November 19, 2006 Share November 19, 2006 similar material as GSI Soundproof.... have to use a heatgun in order for the material to form the shape.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XLR8 1st Gear November 19, 2006 Share November 19, 2006 Nam Huat at autopoint? I kena by them before. Just take note of the price. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ccssgm 1st Gear November 19, 2006 Share November 19, 2006 Many years ago at Jurong East Shop .............. Now at autopoint also SAME Meh.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sphecldi Neutral Newbie November 20, 2006 Share November 20, 2006 ask ard the price b4 doing..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coolbreeze90 Neutral Newbie November 21, 2006 Share November 21, 2006 Brother, Sound proofing got alot of ways and methods. Seeing the mat conform to the shape of your door is damn normal cause if it doesn't then it is not soundproofing. Another method is just using bitumen. Even though it is heavy, i find that is it cheaper and much better in the long run if you feel like doing more layers of sound proofing. I just did my many many layer sound proof and enjoying the feel of a continental door..... The quality of mid bass that comes out is also better... Maybe it is my mind playing tricks on me but thats wat i feel. Feel free to come to the meet up on Wed and discuss more... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiss29 Neutral Newbie November 21, 2006 Share November 21, 2006 I was thinking to do the soundproofing work myself, to save cost. I have bought a 62feet roll of raamat from the local agent. But faced with one problem....Side-air bag on my front seats. Can anyone with experience, teach me what is the correct procedure to remove the air-bag fitted seats? Do I need to short the electrical connectors? Will I need to visit the car workshop to reset the airbag failure warning lights later? I worried that improper removal may 'accidently' deploy the airbags. Or should I just let the experts at audio shop do the soundproofing work? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carlover76 Neutral Newbie November 21, 2006 Share November 21, 2006 For me, I have tried their sound proofing using Dynamat Extreme to do on my 4 doors single layers, quite satisfied with their workmanship and service. Will be doing the wheel arc and fenders this weekend using Dynamat Extreme too! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ultramega 1st Gear November 21, 2006 Author Share November 21, 2006 hmmm...seems like we don;t have many positive replies here... thanks for the replies so far. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarong1 1st Gear November 21, 2006 Share November 21, 2006 You are having an illusion... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ehonda Neutral Newbie November 22, 2006 Share November 22, 2006 bro, can share where u got yr raamat and what is the damage? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Santa Neutral Newbie November 22, 2006 Share November 22, 2006 anyone brother here can advise for those sound proofing material that required heat gunning to install versus 'silent' soundproofing (which is a stick on)...which is a better bet choice ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunny9036 Neutral Newbie November 24, 2006 Share November 24, 2006 i did mine there... find the workmanship pretty gd.. but over at toh guan centre branch Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ultramega 1st Gear November 24, 2006 Author Share November 24, 2006 so how's the effect? did u use "CAE" brand materials? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Santa Neutral Newbie November 24, 2006 Share November 24, 2006 how much did u pay for each door - i mean the sound insulation ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Paffendorf Neutral Newbie November 25, 2006 Share November 25, 2006 I was thinking to do the soundproofing work myself, to save cost. I have bought a 62feet roll of raamat from the local agent. But faced with one problem....Side-air bag on my front seats. Can anyone with experience, teach me what is the correct procedure to remove the air-bag fitted seats? Do I need to short the electrical connectors? Will I need to visit the car workshop to reset the airbag failure warning lights later? I worried that improper removal may 'accidently' deploy the airbags. Or should I just let the experts at audio shop do the soundproofing work? Why airbag? Juz remove the battery connection.... anyway, airbag would not be easily activate unless u wanna short circuit the system which trigger the compressor....! Juz do it...my installer also do the same..disconnect battery and deactivate the fuse of circuitry... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic November 26, 2006 Share November 26, 2006 You can contact Mike, 93862658 or [email protected] Raammat comes in 62.5 sq ft, cost about $2xx per roll. I also DIY complete car, add Armaflex on top of Raammat. Result is quite impressive. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...