Law_ong Neutral Newbie November 14, 2006 Share November 14, 2006 Guys, i have decided on one of this 2. Have ditch the mazda as i dun like the acceleration and do not think its worth 7-8k more. I need advice as to whether latio 4AT has problems in long run, say 4-5yrs. Latio owners & Toyota Altis owners, pls comment. 1.54AT is 53.8k. Altis with deluxe is 55k. mz 7-8k more meh??? for latio, issit for the basic that comes with nothing... i dun like both but latio will be better buy in term of the technology (i not referring to engine technology but the gizmos that comes with it) and built quality compare to altis.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic November 14, 2006 Share November 14, 2006 looks like coffin car ... too uncle for yr age How corny... coffin-car for uncle! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic November 14, 2006 Share November 14, 2006 got plasmacluster (good to have, esp during the next round of haze) But i thought it only ionises the air molecules? (remove odour) It's the air-con air-filter which is most effective against haze. Nowadys a lot of new cars dun come with one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Panda88 Clutched November 14, 2006 Share November 14, 2006 http://sharp-world.com/plasma_c/features/index.html Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carcraze 1st Gear November 14, 2006 Share November 14, 2006 Believe Axio will be replacing the Altis next year. So better to wait for a while and compare Axio with Latio. Nope, the Altis replacement model will only arrive in 2008 as BM will be bringing in the Thai assembled generation10 corolla Altis(it may not be named corolla"axio" as that's the JDM name). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Panda88 Clutched November 14, 2006 Share November 14, 2006 in fact u will realise a lot pple selling off altis at sgcarmart. at least more than vios, city, latio .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carcraze 1st Gear November 14, 2006 Share November 14, 2006 it's not a recent trend. altis is on the market for about 2 years already. it's the best selling mid-size sedan in singapore. so naturally u'll see a lot in the second hand market. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jazz 2nd Gear November 14, 2006 Share November 14, 2006 Altis is almost 5 yrs old in Thailand. Singapore only 2 yrs ? I thought seem longer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coolpica 4th Gear November 14, 2006 Share November 14, 2006 Guys, i have decided on one of this 2. Have ditch the mazda as i dun like the acceleration and do not think its worth 7-8k more. I need advice as to whether latio 4AT has problems in long run, say 4-5yrs. Latio owners & Toyota Altis owners, pls comment. 1.54AT is 53.8k. Altis with deluxe is 55k. i am not a fan of latio or altis but i can suggest u seriously consider latio - cheaper than altis - better interior - better legroom - better fc - quieter than altis - got plasmacluster (good to have, esp during the next round of haze) - slightly cheaper road tax - not so common on the road (at least for now) above just a comparison after tested both rides recently. U forgot to mention that Latio is made in Japan while Altis is made in Thailand. The difference between Latio and Altis's OMV is only $700 with Altis being more expensive, but the selling price is about $2000 more. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic November 14, 2006 Share November 14, 2006 http://sharp-world.com/plasma_c/features/index.html Nice website. But in the whole article I couldn't find the key word FILTER. Haze are actually particles just like dust. Plasmacluster only get rid mould, germs and smell. It does not filter dust and particles. There's no air-filter in it too. Anyway nowadays Latio seems to be beta than any car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keithpapa Neutral Newbie November 14, 2006 Share November 14, 2006 come on, there is more altis than others make lah based on BM sale. This implies in proportion more in 2nd car market. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Panda88 Clutched November 15, 2006 Share November 15, 2006 true..well i still believe latio is giving better value to customer compared to altis. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blurtux Neutral Newbie November 15, 2006 Share November 15, 2006 IMO, these are the 4 main differences between Latio 4AT & Altis 1. FC - Altis abt 11-12 while Latio abt 12-14 (of cos one is 1.5 and the other is 1.6). At the end, you have to ask how much power you want to get out of it versus the price of fuel. 2. Altis interior is less fun, pretty boring, panel too straight that gives me some sort of 'ah-peh' feeling. But I like Altis' control button on the steering wheel. Sit in it and you must be comfortable. The feeling is unique and varies from individual. 3. Latio with plasma aircon while Altis normal aircon. 4. Of cos, the exterior look. Altis more conventional, typical car shape while Latio has that unique shape (ugly versus beauty varies from individual taste - important, you must be comfortable with it). There are as many Latio and City of this non-conventional car shap out there on the road, so that means they found a place in drivers' preference! Although Altis is made in Thailand, IMO, rather insignificant BM/Toyota & Altis has been around for some time, so there must be certain product confident & credibility. And Latio being made/assemble in Japan is a 'woah' factor. Overall, Latio has a better edge in value over Altis. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damnjian Neutral Newbie November 16, 2006 Share November 16, 2006 I like your comments I've bought Latio so will definitely say its better than Altis...Just to add more: 1. I like the intelligent key of Latio which the Altis doesn't have. 2. The Alcantara seat is also more comfortable and class,of course u also will not feel the burning sensation to the skin when under the hot sun. 3. The CVT transmission of Latio Premium is very smooth,although the pickup is a but slower than Altis as its 1.5L vs 1.6L. 4. Feel that Latio's built is better and more solid. 5.Have seen many Latios on the road but definitely still much less than Altis.To me,its a plus. 6. Interior spaciousness of Latio beats Altis hands down. 7. etc etc etc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Panda88 Clutched November 16, 2006 Share November 16, 2006 just to add on, Latio have cvt for premium models whereas altis bo... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Corgan Neutral Newbie November 16, 2006 Share November 16, 2006 anyway, to TS, go test drive both. doesnt matter if latio or altis has this function and the other one doesnt. As long as u drive and one feel more song than the other, then I think you will have arrived at ur decision. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blurtux Neutral Newbie November 17, 2006 Share November 17, 2006 Thanks. I was spilt with Altis and Latio. One with a sounding Toyota name and one with features that I can 'toy' with. Eventually, I go with Latio based on my heart and good feeling after the test drive. Complete those advertising words, numbers and performance statistics with a test drive, you will get nearer in your decision. Mind you, even today, I have frens with discouraging opinions on the shape, but I'm not quite shaken Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jaydos Neutral Newbie November 17, 2006 Share November 17, 2006 From one Latio owner to another: Well Said ! ! My decision to buy Latio is similar to your comments after I had test drive both cars. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...