Carnage at the Brazilian GP

Yttrium

It was an action packed race of attrition at the rain soaked Brazilian grand prix at Interlagos. The race had to be started behind the safety car because of the wet conditions. Barichello gave up his pole position even before he made it to the first corner. He looked very uncomfortable and seemed to be tip-toeing through the turns.

Ralph Firman's Jordan suffered a suspension failure as he braked for a turn, the entire right front wheel coming off.. sending his car ploughing into the back of Olivier Panis' BAR.

Turn 3 was to claim many victims because of a "river" running across that particular section of the track. Montoya and Pizzonia crashed out within moments of each other to be followed later by M.Schumacher,Verstappen and Jenson Button. Mark Webber almost became the 6th victim but managed to recover his car brilliantly and continue with the race. He was however to crash spectacularly on the final turn in what was to be the last lap of the race. He came to rest alongside the barrier with only one wheel remaining and left debris strewn across the track. Fisichella who was the race leader having just overtaken Raikkonen managed to make it safely through the carnage but Alonso running in 3rd place wasn't so lucky. He charged straight into one of the Jaguar's wheels lying in the middle of the track and had a horrific crash. Still he managed to limp out of his car before he was taken away in an ambulance.

So, the final standings based on a countback to lap 53 before the race was redflagged on lap 55 had Kimi Raikkonen once again finishing first, pipping Jordan's Fisichella to a win. Alonso was 3rd but was absent from the podium due to his accident. Home favourite Rubens Barichello suffered a heart breaking loss of his lead in the second half of the race after his Ferrari gave up on him again.

Can't wait for the San Marino GP! [thumbsup][thumbsup]

Edited by Yttrium

Did you watch the race?

This is the first I've watched on TV this year.. and I managed to stay awake despite the unfriendly telecast time. [sleeping] The new rules have definitely made it more exciting. However, I hope it's not at the expense of the drivers' safety. One reason why there were so many crashes in this race was because the tyre manufacturers were only allowed one type of wet tire. They chose to bring the intermediates... and you can see the cars lose grip pretty fast once the shallower grooves of the intermediates start wearing down. [sweatdrop]

Edited by Yttrium

[laugh][laugh][laugh]

My dog suffered the most last nite... she stayed up with me until 3am+..

This morning she couldn't get out of her bed.. usually when we wake up she gets up and pounces all over us. [laugh]

[whip][whip][laugh]

No lah... she just won't go to sleep unless everybody has gone to bed. Even if you wake up to go to the toilet, she will also wake up and follow you. But she does nap in the day when we're all at work.

pity did not get to watch the race as I have to come to work at 7am...but from the reports and pics it looks like absolute carnage...this year's F! is getting interesting... [thumbsup]

If you have Starsports there should be repeat telecasts today. Not sure if RTM has any repeat telecasts, I tried checking their website but it's still showing last week's schedule! [laugh]

Pity poor Fisi and Jordan, it would have been good for his maiden victory. But such was the uncertainty of the entire race it seems. The general concensus is that it would have been a Coulthard-Raikkonen-Webber finish if the race hadn't been stopped. It was doubtful that Fisi could have lasted the rest of the race without stopping for fuel, and even Eddie Jordan's not saying. Good for Alonso for a second consecutive third placing! Hope he isn't too shaken by the shunt though...

Wish I caught it instead of just reading reports... [blush]

post-49-1049768396_thumb.jpg

post-49-1049768397_thumb.jpg

post-49-1049768398_thumb.jpg

Yeah, apparently Fisi said it caught fire because he was going too slow (behind the safety car) and it wasn't good for the engine [gossip]

I doubt so......he only followed the Safety Car for like less than 1/4 of a lap and the race was stop liao......but he is damn unlucky to lose to technicality to Raikkonen after pushing him and overtaking from him......but still great results for a low budget team like Jordan. [thumbsup]

Webber, Fisichella and Alonso sure gave the front runners a run for their money. And the Cosworth engines are sure looking good as well... maybe they just tend to overheat a little when the car's not running at speed eh? [sly]

You should've seen the car literally burst into flames shortly after Fisi pulled to a stop in parc ferme...and him scampering out of the cockpit! [laugh][laugh]

The feed that RTM gets is pretty good.. managed to catch most of the interesting happenings on the track.

Yeah ! [thumbsup][thumbsup] Anything beats the pathetic commentary that we used to get on ch12!! [laugh]

But donno why they get that ang moh to be their in house "expert" in the studio..

I know him because he owns this shop selling extreme sports equipment in KL... thought he looked familiar until the end when his name popped onto the screen

I had thought it made sense that the car overheated because of the slow speed of the safety car... but then again if Fisichella had to make another pit stop he would've had the car stationary for about 8-10s.. That would've been worse than cruising along even at a slow speed. Had the race not been stopped he may not even have finished... if the car caught fire out on the track [sweatdrop]

post-49-1049777442_thumb.jpg

Edited by Yttrium