Ricleong Neutral Newbie April 5, 2003 Share April 5, 2003 Great stuff in MCF ! Need some help here. Just got my bimmer a month ago that comes with original alloy rims. Applied Armourall wheel cleaner but after 2-3 applications, the front wheels start to haze and lost its shine. Very rough feeling. Really heartache The rear wheels are OK. Read the bottle label and realise warning against applying on hot wheels (the front wheel are ussually hotter than the rear)...but it is too late now. Any remedies ? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pauly75ts Neutral Newbie April 5, 2003 Share April 5, 2003 "but it is too late now. Any remedies ?" Hi! there, RicLeong, Why didn't you use the wheel cleaner from PML?? Looks like you'll have to repaint you front wheels, check with the guys in www.bmw-sg.com. You'll have to wait for E46RadX to answer you, YOOhoo!! Stick!! yooHOO!! Sticky Boy!! Rgds Paul Yong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cool_jazz Neutral Newbie April 5, 2003 Share April 5, 2003 Sorry to hear that.. hope you will find a solution soon. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie April 5, 2003 Share April 5, 2003 Hi, Welcome to MCF.... Do join us for our weekly meetup.... Try clay barring the rim when cold and then apply polish.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie April 6, 2003 Share April 6, 2003 hey where you disappear to Pauly.....din see you around for as week man Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie April 6, 2003 Share April 6, 2003 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ricleong Neutral Newbie April 6, 2003 Author Share April 6, 2003 Why didn't you use the wheel cleaner from PML?? Learnt my lesson..so now I am using the wheel cleaner from PML to save the rear wheels loh..very effective product, and nice smell too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Assassin Clutched April 6, 2003 Share April 6, 2003 Hi Ricleong, Welcome to MCF ! Do enjoy your stay here and come along for our weekly meetups ! More info in our MEETUPS folder on the main page. Armorall Wheel Cleaner tends to do this...it even rusted my wheel nuts after a few applications, so had to get them replaced. As for my front wheels, they're rougher now, so have to polish them now and then to get the rough feeling out...also clay barred them too. Personally I've given up on using wheel cleaners...and am just sticking to washing the rims regularly with car shampoo. Does the work just as well. At a later stage, when it is about time to replace your brake pads, you might want to consider aftermarket pads which causes less brake dust than the original ones. Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator April 6, 2003 Share April 6, 2003 Sorry to hear of ur rims....you should get the BMW RIMS cleaner...the best by far... As for now, try and claybar it with old claybar, but there is another Rims Wax, and you can get more info from the bros in delphi www.delphiforums.com/bmwsg. Come down to the metups so i can perhaps have a look! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chris_ck Neutral Newbie April 6, 2003 Share April 6, 2003 Great stuff in MCF ! Need some help here. Just got my bimmer a month ago that comes with original alloy rims. Applied Armourall wheel cleaner but after 2-3 applications, the front wheels start to haze and lost its shine. Very rough feeling. Really heartache The rear wheels are OK. Read the bottle label and realise warning against applying on hot wheels (the front wheel are ussually hotter than the rear)...but it is too late now. Any remedies ? Sorry to hear about what happen to your rims. I nearly did the same thing too to my rims when i nearly bought a tyre rim cleaner (forgot the brand)... luckily i checked the fine print and they state not to be used on certain kind of metal and as i dunno what metal my rims are made of i did not buy it eventually... so guys be careful and check the fine print when you buy stuff Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pauly75ts Neutral Newbie April 6, 2003 Share April 6, 2003 "where you disappear to" Hi! there, Quek, You know very well how to find me. Try to keep your passport with you & you'll get to see me. Rgds Paul Yong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie April 6, 2003 Share April 6, 2003 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie April 6, 2003 Share April 6, 2003 my is perpetually in my glove compartment Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie April 7, 2003 Share April 7, 2003 same here... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie April 7, 2003 Share April 7, 2003 then mai toos liao..........see you at causeway liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie April 7, 2003 Share April 7, 2003 PUT HORSE COME OVER... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie April 7, 2003 Share April 7, 2003 when and which day.....thought we two cannot meet too often, or cannot meet whole day? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie April 7, 2003 Share April 7, 2003 Cross the sea, the ban is lifted lah.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...