Wipers juddering very badly...any advice?

Sunnyvip

hi southpark2000,

can check if the effect after glass polishing is that when u pour water over the windscreen, it quickly forms a very thin layer of water on it and visibility is very good. And when i use finger to touch the water layer, it actually casues a ripple across the whole screen.

This is the correct result ? this ssems to be opposite of RainX, where the water beads and rolls off immed.

just polished mine last evening, now waiting for rain [laugh][laugh][laugh]

mice

I noticed the same effect as you are trying to describe

photo05.jpg

http://translate.google.com/translate?u=ht...Flanguage_tools

Though I did not use this Glaco product (trying to find it: essentially removes old film and puts Fusso [Teflon / PTFE] onto screen), I get the same effect.

This is probably because I change to using a Fusso-based wiper liquid. This, plus the cerium oxide to remove base film have helped me reduce juddering

Southpark

The Dude

Edited by Southpark2000

Heres a live pic, the red portion in the middle is not polished, while the yellow ones are done. Then at a go, i poured water across the whole windscreen. And effect as follows.

Can see watering "beading"/gathering at the red, while at yellow, it flows, form a thin layer and gathers at the edge of the polishing zone.

Now to wait for rain to confirm. Actually I m not hving problems wif jutters, but with "blurred" windscreen when it rains.

mice

[inline DSC01184.JPG]

post-14-1167648083_thumb.jpg

Edited by Bluemice

Hi Brother Bluemice

Thanks for the live pic....v. informative.

It seems to be correct...though as you said, gotta check when rain comes...

http://www.soft99.co.jp/howto/window/carepoint03.html

I guess when travelling, the speed will cause the water will go upwards and away as opposed to forming beads / dropplets and contributing to glare etc on unpolished portion or gathering at the bottom for the polished portion...

See oso Gen2's post that water will not bead on glass after polish...

http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/Aftermarke...;mh=-1;#1674732

I had that problem with the dropplets during the 48hr downpour - hard to see with the rain, and glare from the streetlamps... [sweatdrop]

I try and post some pics over the weekend, after I wash the car....

Southpark

The Dude

Edited by Southpark2000

Okay....here is the fusso / teflon-based wiper liquid I bot from Autobacs a week or so ago....

Been holding out well and reduces the judder and improves clarity of the screen (after polishing of course)....

...and it's not expensive.... $4.70 a bottle

Southpark

The Dude

EDIT: Pardon the image cos' it's a crappy 1.3MP

post-14-1167662677_thumb.jpg

Edited by Southpark2000

thanks for the pic.

i was at AB on Thur, i could hv swore that they now sells this with an applicator for $8.70, all in a plastic packaging. its position right smack at the eye level, on the left shelf when entered that row.

i was actually tempted to get this brand( instead of the other) due to the photo of the "before + after". So happened then was a ?? betw the last piece. so it was a "last pcs( guess if rest sold liao = must be good)" vs "good + attractive + assuring looking photo" ... no $$ for who won ... hee hee

now, when its gonna rain again ... no reason will also bring my ride out for a spin.

10s

mice

Edited by Bluemice

Hey bro, you bought the cleaner? Can take a bit from you to try? I tried a lot of products all dun work on my screen leh, it will work for maybe 50 swipes...and thereafter the judder comes back again..almost going crazy in the rain.. [laugh] when are you applying? can drop by your place tomorrow to try?

Wipe the wiper rubber. Use polishing clay to polish the glass to remove any contamination, without affecting the glass. You can get the Tuffi Polishing Clay from Tuff-Kote. Call them at 6453 3722 for a quote.

Hi there,

I have also encounter the same problem as you.Then the

service man advised me to replace the silicon type of wiper.

Guest what the jerking problem has solved & i am still using it about

3 years.

no prob for the trying. but my results aint confirm yet.

anyway, i hv already "polished" the glass, now awaiting rain to come and test test, before can attest that it works.

note that i m not solving juttering/juddering problem. mine DUN hv this problem, just that the water/wiper marks makes visibiltiy poor.

For the solution to the jutter/judder thats works for me, cost only $20 a yr( or FOC depending n when i go) , and is using stock rubber strips too( at $5 a pop, thrown in FOC). All this is when i go agent svc, just kpkb that windscreen jutter, ask them to mechanical polish the glass for me can liao ... if that SVC is big time, thus FOC, if small case they will charge a nominal $20 for labour.

mice

Actually what I do is use car shampoo to clean the wipers and windscreen, rinse them and wipe them dry.

After that, no more juddering. Cannot imagine everytime judder only change wiper. [:p]

Use whatever wiper to me make no diff. all are rubber material. [:/] What silicone bullsh*t all bluff u to waste $$.

Just clean off the fine dirt accumulated on your windscreen and wiper, wun judder.

I also do the same, wipe the wipers n windscreen with car shampoo and wipe dry. Then I guess is all preventive maintanence lor, cos what damages the wipers are probably those small particles of dirt then sometimes not enuf rain falling on the windscreen then ppl start to activate their wipers liao, then the wipers will drag all the dirt around the windscreen, either scratching the windscreen or making small little cuts on the wiper blade. So for light rain, no need to on the wipers at such a fast speed cos there won't be enuf water to lubricate the wipers properly.

wow, thats a good read. still digesting.

anyway, travelled at heavy rain ytd, the "hazy" patches are still there. maybe hv to re-polish again. effect not as per my desire. will try more and revert.

i tink need to work in combination with new al-cheapo rubbers.

mice