Mit Lancer or Toyota Vios

Solas

hi, i have been thinking of buying a new car.

can any one advice me which is better chioce?

Mit ot Toyota?

thank you!! [:)]

i have a friend who bought a lancer and regreted it.

why? according to him , driving the lancer not very shoik due to CVT there's no "chong" power....

Are you looking for "power" or "looks? looks go for lancer, power go for vios.

yr friend should have found out how does CVT works first be buying lancer.....

his SE didnt explain to him? SE didnt do a good job then.... or yr friend didnt go enough test drive before buying

you expect the SE to tell a potential customer about this??? i think this would require a beri beri ethical SE.

apparently he was just too kan chiong about new car.... [laugh]

hi

no need to think, VIOS

1. better name: toyota

2. better reliability

3. better export price

4. better economy

5. better looking

6. easier to find parts cos more units sold in sg

7. toyota the most profitable car company in the world, mit bankrupt

cheers

hi, when test drive, Mit is very comfortable compared with toyota.

you dun feel any tranmission going on, it is big and spacious.

because i am 1.84 m tall and abt 97 kg.

vios feel very cramp with full load of passengers, abt 5 persons

but strangely, vvti power is still there.

Mit sales staff gives out freebies but toyota sales person frimly say NO.

For a Mit 1.6 auto

1) leather seats

2) spoiler

3) visor

does the Mit gear box gives problem??

For 1.5 Toyota vios

-nothing !! the intrerior look very plastic .

the only plus points is the VVTI engine.

hi,

mit may hv encountered problems with old gearbox, but so far no reports on its cvt. the bad pt is cvt has no pick up power as compared to auto box.

mit must throw in many freebies cos if not they cant sell. vios is already quite fully packaged, so nothing much to throw in too.

anyway, if u wan space in mit, then no low fc as in vios. mit problems, usually ecu chip, radiator leak n aircon

cheers

I have been driving a Lancer for close to 4 years and yes, agree it is not very power, but the CVT really saves a lot of petrol and comparable to a manual car petrol consumption, but slightly less power.

For Vios, it go a more updated engine. My opinion is that its size is smaller than a Lancer. Moreover, it does not have a big car boot (hope I am not wrong). Hence, if you need a car boot and something good enough to drive, then get Lancer as it is still using the same old reliable but efficient engine. Go for toyota if you are looking for something new and new engine, and car boot is not a main concern to you.

Another plus point for vios is four disc brakes and dual airbag. [thumbsup][laugh]

If not becos of its cramp rear space, it should be a better buy than lancer.

hi, i have been thinking of buying a new car.

can any one advice me which is better chioce?

Mit ot Toyota?

thank you!! [:)]

test drove both myself.

Mitz :

Old engine. SOHC. but tried n tested. My sis is driving a Lancer Sports now(less than half a year old).

Mit's zhngability is very high... juz look at those zhng-ed mit around.

CVVT engine really help though might be less power than older ones(not driven any older lancer before)

SE more willing to give freebies.

VIOS :

new engine

better safety. disc brake, airbags.

Toyota brand

SE dun need to give freebies. Customer goes to them instead of they going for customers.

VIOS superb FC in it's class(now surpassed by Jazz).

VIOS is rather small compare to Mit.

Mit definately more power. we are talking 1.6l vs 1.5l.

Edited by Photog

hi my fren,

its CVT, not CVVT. different things :)

of cos, lancer is a bigger car, u compare lancer with altis, not vios, jus like taking jazz to compare fc with vios, different class again :)

generally, toyota tech more advanced than mit.

lancer can zhng, cos anyhow put in those things makes u a good ah beng :)

cheers

Y not get a Mazda 2 SP?

Cheaper than Vios or lancer if you compare the sports package they give...=)

$47.7 k if u take a loan from them....

FC definately no fight to either of them, but as mention alot in the forums, it depends alot on your right foot...yepz....

Think FC for vios accroding to wat i see ard is..14-15km/l

Mit is ard 13-14km/l

Mazda 2 is 11-13km/l

But other than that, i think mazda look wise sure chio chio...

Pardon me for speaking like a novice...cos i m really one..only a neurtal newbie.

Jus to share...

Oh, my M2 is coming...yeah....hopefully next month....thats y i know so much...i m not an agent...haha [sunny]

Agree that lancer dont give good pick-up power. But in Spore, how fast can u go ?????? At most reduce your journey a few seconds nia.

What i like most about my current Lancer is the smooth gear-changing...U cant feel it at all. As for Vios, i didnt even test drive it....cos when i sat at the rear seats.....feels damn bloody cramp, even tho im only 1.72m. Definately cannot sit 3 ppl at the back.