Glendon Neutral Newbie October 21, 2006 Share October 21, 2006 Hi, Anyone, besides me, feels a little annoyed when your passengers close your car doors with too much force? Though I doubt it, can someone confirm if that would cause any damage to the car? Thx. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Virginkilla Neutral Newbie October 21, 2006 Share October 21, 2006 (edited) Maybe passengers too used slamming doors with similar force on Taxi. We are sometime guilty of slamming action too .... Dunno own stength. Edited October 21, 2006 by Virginkilla Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Captain_redbeard Neutral Newbie October 21, 2006 Share October 21, 2006 (edited) u know what... i agree so much with you... espeically when someone you don't really know well. like your friend's boyfriend or friend.. slams it real hard like they don't care... i encountered once when he kept slamming hard and said sorry a couple or times but still act blur..even if it doesn't damage your car.. u still feel like sxxt ..i dunno if i should just scold him or what.. Edited October 21, 2006 by Captain_redbeard Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyousuke Neutral Newbie October 21, 2006 Share October 21, 2006 It will not damage your car. If it does, then it is the car that needs fixing. Not the passengers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Diesel 1st Gear October 21, 2006 Share October 21, 2006 Tell them off jokingly: "friend, it's not lolly(lorry) or ban(van), no need use too much force to slam one..." If it's my van door, it's: friend, not mercedes so lousy metal will dent easily one, so gentle force will do, vans also got hinge & spring..." Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Paffendorf Neutral Newbie October 21, 2006 Share October 21, 2006 I also scold to them when they slam my door. I said, "Either be gentle or dun be with my ride". " My ride is my 2nd wife.Pls take care also" I;ve paid $$ for usage and they juz lompang for free.if I want i gonna charge you guys . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rollagt 5th Gear October 21, 2006 Share October 21, 2006 Thou car doors are made of metal but constant slamming it will lead to premature wear and tear to the joints I guess.. Got to educate the passengers, by observation those who dun drive normally have this problem. COz they are not in the driver seat position to "feel" the slamming ..hehe! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic October 21, 2006 Share October 21, 2006 Hi, Anyone, besides me, feels a little annoyed when your passengers close your car doors with too much force? Though I doubt it, can someone confirm if that would cause any damage to the car? Thx. I try to close doors with as little force as possible and i always apologise if i slam my frens door. But actually i notice a lot of pple just slam doors as they are used to it even on their own cars. Some pple just treat the car as a transportation tool and hence use it more roughly then others. I used to be slightly irked by it but now, i just accept it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ac67 Neutral Newbie October 21, 2006 Share October 21, 2006 actually some car doors are heavy (like mine) and some are light. so unless you know the door weight, thus to ensure you can close the car doorly properly is to slam. like me, been so used to (my) heavy door, everytime i slam my friend's light door very hard. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fitvip Supersonic October 21, 2006 Share October 21, 2006 Hi, Anyone, besides me, feels a little annoyed when your passengers close your car doors with too much force? Though I doubt it, can someone confirm if that would cause any damage to the car? Thx. Can't agree more with you. When my Tumpang passenger slammed the door, my heart skipped a beat! WTF! but i did not scold lah. Sim Thiah! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear October 21, 2006 Share October 21, 2006 lower ur window to dampen the effect. usually, i dun gibe them chance to close door second time. either tell them off or say, it's ok, leave the door open, i need to get something. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vit4wd 1st Gear October 21, 2006 Share October 21, 2006 (edited) I used to drive a continental car, the Fiat 131 and when I switched to a Jap car ('81 Lancer), I sub consciously slammed it too... took me some time to get used to closing the door with less force. Edited October 21, 2006 by Vit4wd Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Glendon Neutral Newbie October 21, 2006 Author Share October 21, 2006 you must be quite unpopular with your friend. haha... kidding hor. :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Glendon Neutral Newbie October 21, 2006 Author Share October 21, 2006 Well, if we said that to our passengers, they might misunderstand that they are not welcomed in our cars. After all, they are guests in our cars. But really, when they slammed too hard, quite 'heart pain'. :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 21, 2006 Share October 21, 2006 Yah. Damm irritating these pple who slam my car door. Next time they sit, I tell them gently, this is not a taxi hor. Please dont slam the door. This is cos I regularly lube the hinges & latch, so the door closes very easily. Also the door is not sagging which makes it easy to close. I had one guy who got offended when I told him & next time, he scarcisticly close the door so slowly it cannot close. Then he look at me & smile. Damm @sshole. The only reason I give him a lift cos we work together & he stay near my house. Oh & constant slamming of the door wil cause the door to sag & become loose. Another thing I dont like is some pple like to rest their elbow on the side mirror. I have to gently tell them it might break if u lean too hard. They might then give me a surprised look as though your car so lousy issit. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 21, 2006 Share October 21, 2006 Thou car doors are made of metal but constant slamming it will lead to premature wear and tear to the joints I guess.. Got to educate the passengers, by observation those who dun drive normally have this problem. COz they are not in the driver seat position to "feel" the slamming ..hehe! ========================== I think I wil look for a small sign with a light that says 'Please don't slam the car door". I wil activate the light (with buzzer) just b4 they get down. It's a more friendly way like this. If they mention it, I just say it's automatic & came with the car when I bought it. Hehehe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spikedoll Clutched October 21, 2006 Share October 21, 2006 my colleagues sometime also slam too hard..i was like but LL ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged October 21, 2006 Share October 21, 2006 Hi, Anyone, besides me, feels a little annoyed when your passengers close your car doors with too much force? Though I doubt it, can someone confirm if that would cause any damage to the car? Thx. Yes, especially if u r inside the car. Well, I tell pple that my car is not a Conti, no need for too much strength. Furthermore, I tell them if they cause damages to other pple car & my car when they opened the door, be prepared to pay regardless of blood relations. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...