Anybody got any recommendation for cheap and good engine oil?

Novicej

Well depends on your point of view.

Chevron Supreme is the best of the dino oils. It together with Havoline are made from Chevron's Group II+ stocks. That is already very highly refined and more like close to Group III already. Very hard to break it down. A 10W30 has little viscosity index improvers so it is hard to shear down. I believe most use the pour point depressants. The oil can tahan a lot of whacking.

Schaeffer Supreme 7000 (usually called SS7k) is a blend. It is Group II+ with Group IV synthetic. So it is even tougher and the 10W30 is quite a gem. Some siao ding dong in the US took it 25k. The wear numbers look good but most of us think the oil is shot to pieces at 20k already.

Why a 30wt is cooler? Lighter oil means less frictional drag so the car is cooler. A thicker oil will make the engine run hotter at normal RPMs. Oil itself generates heat by shearing action. Think of the oil as layers, like a deck of cards. When you shuffle the cards, assuming you are Superman and shuffle it fast, you generate heat from the friction sliding to each other.

Thick oil is like shuffling cards made of emery paper. Lots of heat generated.

It's developed for diesels but is SL rated. So that means petrol engines can use too. Diesel engine oils are tougher. Hold the grade longer but not made for economy but SS9k is pretty much very economy driven.

how about motul engine oil anyone tried? any feedback? need to go for 30k soon

i tried the Motul H-Tech 100 5w30... 100% synthetic... not bad.. very smooth engine running.. not the 300v racing series though...

cost me only $100 at Huat Lee..

free original oil filter

free tyre rotation + balancing

free checks and top ups... [thumbsup]

Edited by Weixiang_06

erm SS9k is syn or dino? [dizzy]

i've heard of people swearing by Schaeffer...[laugh] but i think this means the oil ain't gonna be cheap? [sweatdrop]

(will reply to ur othe rpost later.. now middle finger too pain to type [lipsrsealed] )

SS9k is considered synthetic. Group III though is made from dino oil but it is the highest form of dino oil in terms of refining. It's performance is close to synthetic Group IV. SS9k is a blend of III and IV. In fact, all the 5W40 use a blend of Group III and Group IV. That is why they can market it as :"100% synthetic oil" because legally it is but technically, it is not.

Well, at least Schaeffer didn't beat around the bush with the terminology and scamming. They don't label their oil "100% synthetic". I applaud their honesty in their marketing.

Check with Trex101 or go to his webpage. You will be surprised by it's price. He doesn't bring in a lot because the thin oils are well liked but there are special customers like Furry who likes his oil strong like Guiness.

Edited by Genie47

Well depends on your point of view.

Chevron Supreme is the best of the dino oils. It together with Havoline are made from Chevron's Group II+ stocks. That is already very highly refined and more like close to Group III already. Very hard to break it down. A 10W30 has little viscosity index improvers so it is hard to shear down. I believe most use the pour point depressants. The oil can tahan a lot of whacking.

[reply]

i'm confused at this point... group II and III are dino right? so that said... a group III dino oil should be of better quality? but no one really produces a pure group III dino oil?

as for this 10w30... i'm concerned about the cold starting where oils weren't there to lub... (dang, i think i need to read up again. [laugh])

[reply]

Schaeffer Supreme 7000 (usually called SS7k) is a blend. It is Group II+ with Group IV synthetic. So it is even tougher and the 10W30 is quite a gem. Some siao ding dong in the US took it 25k. The wear numbers look good but most of us think the oil is shot to pieces at 20k already.

hang on, the 10w30 is SS7k? the same one we are talking about above right?

imho, all oils should be able to tarhan 12-15k w/o really causing serious problems.... especially when one driving style is really very 'sayang' the pedal. 20k is too serious... i don't like to change spark plugs w/o changing oil.. imho.. its too.. unnatural... like never wipe backside after do bizness. [laugh]

Why a 30wt is cooler? Lighter oil means less frictional drag so the car is cooler. A thicker oil will make the engine run hotter at normal RPMs. Oil itself generates heat by shearing action. Think of the oil as layers, like a deck of cards. When you shuffle the cards, assuming you are Superman and shuffle it fast, you generate heat from the friction sliding to each other.

Thick oil is like shuffling cards made of emery paper. Lots of heat generated.

hmm... interesting pt... but thicker oils 'absorbs' engine vibration thus causing it not to be so noisy? or where is this engine noise coming from?

since generally > friction == > noise > heat....

or am i looking at the wrong thing?

SS9k is considered synthetic. Group III though is made from dino oil but it is the highest form of dino oil in terms of refining. It's performance is close to synthetic Group IV. SS9k is a blend of III and IV. In fact, all the 5W40 use a blend of Group III and Group IV. That is why they can market it as :"100% synthetic oil" because legally it is but technically, it is not.

i figured that an oil from a pure group is going to cost a lot more than a mix... thus the blending to bring down overheads.... [lipsrsealed]

Well, at least Schaeffer didn't beat around the bush with the terminology and scamming. They don't label their oil "100% synthetic". I applaud their honesty in their marketing.

i got a suspicion that either they havent caught on yet.. or they didn't budget too much on their marketing dept... but kudos to them. [laugh]

some marketing dept is really 'jiak liao bee' (hokkien for wasted feeding)

Check with Trex101 or go to his webpage. You will be surprised by it's price. He doesn't bring in a lot because the thin oils are well liked but there are special customers like Furry who likes his oil strong like Guiness.

i wonder can we import a container of certain oils in.... is certainly worth a GP .... well until some giant superstore sells my fav 0w40 or 0w30 oil at see hum cheap again.. [laugh]

Edited by Ronnie

The Motul 300V is worth the money. It is purely synthetic. Double ester oil.

ic thanks. i also saw from Huat Lee promotion on Motul Oil. normal is $100 with oil filter, rotation etc. For 300V is $140. wondering if its worth it for the oil. Seems much more exp than idemitsu and royal purple.

genie mentioned... Motul 300V is very expensive one.... so $140 servicing... its quite okie....

remember you are getting

- 300V (4 litres)

- free original oil filter

- free tyre rotation + balancing

= free diagnostic checks and etc

[thumbsup]

Crud-lube?

4ss-whore Ultron?

Sick-ace?

Argh! Any 5W40 you see in the workshops. laugh.gif

[laugh][laugh][laugh]

but i still prefer cant-lube (as in CB lube) but due to recent female kpkb abt certain "offensive" terms or subjects, I try my best to toe the line.

but the above is not extended to clones and fxxtards (those who like to dial-a-mod machiam disclaimer or email product mfg/dist bec the product did not transform the grocery car into an EVO eating machine)