Bigtoothpick 3rd Gear October 15, 2006 Share October 15, 2006 hi all the ICE gurus out there - my brother's Wish HU is a Kenwood KDC-PS9016A. No power amplifier, just 2 stock speakers at front doors and 2 added Sony speakers at rear doors. Right now the sound in his car is sort of crappy (to me anyway). Will it make much difference in sound quality if he just replaces the front pair with component speakers? Without installing an amplifier. Coz he's not into ICE and not planning to spend too much or have too many things installed in his car. Thanks. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear October 15, 2006 Share October 15, 2006 yup, there will be a noticable difference lah.. stock spkrs are crappy paper spkrs Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yanuk Neutral Newbie October 16, 2006 Share October 16, 2006 The best speakers are made from paper cones* Depending on the brand of the car, some do throw in quite decent coaxials. Mine came with 2 pairs (front and rear) of 6.5" Lanzar VX (forgot what model) coaxials that costs about 40USD/pair on the net. *Disclaimer: This is based on my personal preference only So kevlar/carbon/plastics cone supporters dun and me. PEACE Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coolbreeze90 Neutral Newbie October 17, 2006 Share October 17, 2006 I was running without amps with my focal compos.... The difference was fanatastic.... Now with my amps and sub, its a totally new orgasm,.,,.,,,.,.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigtoothpick 3rd Gear October 17, 2006 Author Share October 17, 2006 ok... thanks for the feedback. looks like my brother will go ahead to get the component speakers. i know what u mean about the amp and sub - last time just before i scrapped my car, after the amp and sub were taken out, the sound was terrible... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigtoothpick 3rd Gear October 17, 2006 Author Share October 17, 2006 noticeable....ok Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silverycivic Neutral Newbie October 17, 2006 Share October 17, 2006 (edited) May I know which model of Focal speaker (without amp) are you running ? Tks. Edited October 17, 2006 by Silverycivic Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quikfire Neutral Newbie October 17, 2006 Share October 17, 2006 yup, there will be a noticable difference lah.. stock spkrs are crappy paper spkrs Hi... I am planning to upgrade my ICE too without amps and without burning a big hole in my pocket... Will 2 sets of component speakers 1 pair for frnt and 1 pair for rear be too strenous for the head unit w/o amps? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adawang 1st Gear October 17, 2006 Share October 17, 2006 (edited) the improvement will really come in with an amplifier together with a sub-woofer. with component spkrs , u will get better imaging, clarity. but still lack the bass punch Edited October 17, 2006 by Adawang Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear October 17, 2006 Share October 17, 2006 Arr...component speaker w/o amp? Sure can make it or not,the HU power is only 50watt....can meh? Get a decent 2 channel amp larr to boost the 2 front compo spkr,than run the rear spkr to the HU. If got money,buy another 2 channel amp to drive the sub Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear October 17, 2006 Share October 17, 2006 eeh don call pple leh.. for those who just cant stand their stock spkrs and just want to spend AS little as possibe, the HU is still able to drive entry level spkrs... but the satisfaction will not last for long.. heheh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronnchee Clutched October 17, 2006 Share October 17, 2006 (edited) Well, it's NOt music without amp and sub-woofer Edited October 17, 2006 by Ronnchee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silverycivic Neutral Newbie October 17, 2006 Share October 17, 2006 (edited) why call ppl , not everyone want to upgrade front speaker together with amp at one go. For the interim period, the sound must sound decent mah, especially ppl just go for entry level. If bro here can share and recommend some model that is friendly to HU, it would definitely be helpful.cheers Edited October 17, 2006 by Silverycivic Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coolbreeze90 Neutral Newbie October 17, 2006 Share October 17, 2006 I am using the focal K series and personally, i feel that these speakers are a real value for money... Maybe some of the other brothers in ICE forum can advice?? I am not promoting focal but it has delivered what i want, though not yet close to my final destination but defintely a great impovment. If you are interested in listening to some of the other cars, just head down to the weekly meet up at macpherson. we are more then willing to help. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pool100 1st Gear October 17, 2006 Share October 17, 2006 If bro here can share and recommend some model that is friendly to HU, it would definitely be helpful.cheers ******************************************************************************** ***** Yah this I agree... can anyone recommend good budget compo speakers? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coolbreeze90 Neutral Newbie October 17, 2006 Share October 17, 2006 It really depends on how hungry your tweeters are. Check you specs of the compo and output of ur hu and match them. If not,you are just throwing money away... If you dun mind can throw to me!! Heehee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear October 18, 2006 Share October 18, 2006 Alamak,so sensitive. Do you know ICE is addictive,one can spend thousands on ICE and some will just be happy with paper speakers. Since bros here into ICE,agreed first step is compo spk,but halt...i believe u guys will definitely come back for more i.e amplifiers. So, why fix spk than amp,you'll end up loosing time and money.My opinion is save up and fix both together,if on budget and dont mind taiwan products,some ICE shop sell a complete ICE system which is not bad. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silverycivic Neutral Newbie October 18, 2006 Share October 18, 2006 I would say to each he own. different ppl plan different route. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...