NGK Platinum plugs - use how long?

Bigtoothpick

The finer the tip, the more efficient but at a cost. Fine tip = less material. When a spark plug fires, some of the material gets blown to smithereens. That is how they get worn down.

So with the Ir tips, they try to make it finer since they are harder to wear down. But they will still get worn down.

I don't like fine Ir tips because you cannot gap them. You might break the tip.

There are Ir tipped plugs that are thicker and these are usually cheaper and last longer.

Again the next thing is your annual mileage. If it is less than 30k, stick to coppers. They are cheaper and are actually more efficient in sparking compared to Ir or Pt but they get worn down very fast. Can last to 20k if you re-gap at 10k but 30k is really stretching it.

err.. sorry, forgot the shop address liao.. .somewhere in Ubi. if i can find the info, will revert. It was recommended by another bro in ClubHyundai, he's on this forum too

y brother, you refer to Ah yoke (Yoke automotive) at Eunos?

Denso Iridium cost only $60++ lah sly.gifsly.gifsly.gif

There are also the long life Denso Iridium plugs, known as 'SK' series which is slightly cheaper than the 'IK' series sly.gifsly.gifsly.gif

For Singaprean car owners. Pt plugs can most likely last the lifetime of the car ownership. They go up to 160k km if they are double Pt. Normal Pt should go 100k. After that is grace.

OIC... wah, like that quite worth leh... i paid only $36 for 4 pcs. My car usage so low, if can tahan till 100K km, i think will outlast my COE [laugh]

========================

If u change your plugs to non-original, make sure u know what type of sparking system your car uses.

Some new cars have a sparking system that changes from + to - & back again on every spark cycle. If your car needs full plat(+ & ground is plat) u got to use back full plat otherwise the non-plat electrode wil wear out faster.

I'm not very sure on this new technology but I read it somewhere & just let you guys know to b careful. I think it's on some of the Honda models like Fit & city & such.

Please do some checking with some reliable sources or the agent if u r not sure.

Edited by Pisces69

Um.... Have to check also if the ceramic insulator has cracked or the points melted in extreme cases.

Also re-using the flattened seal wil not give such a good seal anymore.

the mechanic changed my stock spark plugs during my 30K servicing..charged me $90+ dizzy.gif for denso spark plugs..said can last 30-40k..normal ones last 10k..

======================

I think the mech see you like those tai tai.

Did u wear alot of jewellery on that day? [laugh]