Bigtoothpick 3rd Gear October 9, 2006 Share October 9, 2006 hi all - my NGK Platinum plugs hav been used about just under 20,000km (my car mileage about 23K km). Do i need to inspect / replace the plugs? last time I told my mech, he said no need to change, and he didn't take out to check... thanks for any advice.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
EventH 1st Gear October 9, 2006 Share October 9, 2006 (edited) When I did my 40+k servicing, the mech took out my stock NGK (or denso??) Platinum and said that they are allright. I guess platinums really last a long long time. Edited October 9, 2006 by EventH Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear October 9, 2006 Share October 9, 2006 For Singaprean car owners. Pt plugs can most likely last the lifetime of the car ownership. They go up to 160k km if they are double Pt. Normal Pt should go 100k. After that is grace. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zrun Neutral Newbie October 9, 2006 Share October 9, 2006 I think rated to last nearly 150k km. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lukie102 Clutched October 9, 2006 Share October 9, 2006 damn. the alpine mech said no need to take out and check the plugs unless car experience some jerking or whatsoever. mine is inside for abt 40k liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear October 9, 2006 Share October 9, 2006 Yours are the Pt ones? Must still take out to check. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freeman 1st Gear October 9, 2006 Share October 9, 2006 Post: I think rated to last nearly 150k km. -- 2003 Toyota Matrix Sportline, TRD CAI, SF Fuel Rail, Apexi FPR, E-Manage, wbo2 ----------------------------------------------------------- Wah!!! 150000km!!! What about denso iridium? which can last longer? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear October 9, 2006 Share October 9, 2006 Ir plugs can last long but they are damn overpriced. Pt plugs should actually be more valuable than Ir because Pt as a precious metal is more valuable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lukie102 Clutched October 9, 2006 Share October 9, 2006 yeah lor. maybe go another workshop ask them help me check Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigtoothpick 3rd Gear October 9, 2006 Author Share October 9, 2006 For Singaprean car owners. Pt plugs can most likely last the lifetime of the car ownership. They go up to 160k km if they are double Pt. Normal Pt should go 100k. After that is grace. OIC... wah, like that quite worth leh... i paid only $36 for 4 pcs. My car usage so low, if can tahan till 100K km, i think will outlast my COE Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fff0 Neutral Newbie October 12, 2006 Share October 12, 2006 PT = platnium? Where u got urs at 36 bucks har? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigtoothpick 3rd Gear October 13, 2006 Author Share October 13, 2006 err.. sorry, forgot the shop address liao.. .somewhere in Ubi. if i can find the info, will revert. It was recommended by another bro in ClubHyundai, he's on this forum too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged January 20, 2007 Share January 20, 2007 Any sparkplug can easily last 50K.... be it platinium, iranium or copper spark plug, but the performance will degrade after 10K.. I used to own a splitfire sparksplug and use it for 40K, according to the manufacturer, it can last 100,000 miles.... nothing wents wrong, just that my backside itchy and I bought a set of denso copper plug at $10... upon changing my splitfire sparkplug to the copper plug, i can feel additional immediately. I believe that it is not becos that the denso cooper is good... just that my platinium plug was worn and although it is still usable, the performance drop... I dun feel anything wrog with the platinium plug becos the degrade in the performance is so slow over 40K.... Try it yourself and u'll know what am i trying to say... its only $10 anyway... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear January 21, 2007 Share January 21, 2007 It's not that the Pt plugs are worn. Any copper plug has better sparking efficiency compared to a brand new rare earth metal plug. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seanboi 1st Gear January 21, 2007 Share January 21, 2007 where u got those copper plugs? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
W2wwong Neutral Newbie January 22, 2007 Share January 22, 2007 Yours are the Pt ones? Must still take out to check. Hi, what do we actually check / look for so that it's still considered good and usable? thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
W2wwong Neutral Newbie January 22, 2007 Share January 22, 2007 (edited) PT = platnium?Where u got urs at 36 bucks har? think terence (www.mxxxxxxxxs.com) sells it around that price too, got mine from him. he has iridium ones too. Edited January 22, 2007 by W2wwong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
W2wwong Neutral Newbie January 22, 2007 Share January 22, 2007 Ir plugs can last long but they are damn overpriced. Pt plugs should actually be more valuable than Ir because Pt as a precious metal is more valuable. hi, read that iridium plugs are actually more efficient (why?) that's why it's more expensive. is this true? thanks. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...