Family monthly incoming $4k to $5k, what car is comfortable?

Quantum

How about the Sylphy? I think that the car is too often forgotten.. Not too bad for city driving. Big interior as well.. Looks nice enough to 'save' face among his friends...

But I think that 4-5K is a bit on the low side to think about a car with all the other commitments, unless he already has savings that he can dump in to reduce the loan.

I have a China friend just got class 3 Licence and his wife got class 3A licence too, he plan to buy a car, wanted me to recommend suitable Japan family Car, I propose Latio but he prefer Civic FD, IMO based on his monthly family incoming $4k+, and family members, it is quite tight to afford Civic FD [sweatdrop] , family member: my friend couple + 2 school age kids + Phili maid, and 5R HDB flat.

How your thinking [confused]

ask the chinaman to get a bicycle..

its his choice, everyone think its within his budget, can cut this can cut that, but the thing is whether he got the discipline to cut all this.

i earn 4-4.5k gross, single, parents richer than me so dun need to give allowance, only hp bill to pay and yet my money is enough.

my point is always overestimate ur expenses and see wat u can really afford.

btw i drive a 2nd hand 3yr old civic and its tough damn tough. no regrets on owning a car, but the intangibles benefits of without one could be better. i dunno? jus my 2cents worth

yes, How to say, my friend is a vain person, he doesn't want to lose to his in China friends [sweatdrop]

No offence bro, but ur china fren is already considered lucky and should be proud enuff to be in LIVING IN SG, taking up our local job market in exchange of foreign "talents". Those back in Mainland must be somehow admiring his life now, i bet.

Unless his ego is darn BIG, i have nothing else to say. If ceebic he wants, then by all means. [;)]

Edited by Super4

Usually if they need a car for work, they would've gotten a car. So I can only assume its for convenient and desire to own one.

Petrol cost is something one can greatly control if he wants to in times of need. e.g off air-con, dun drive unneccessarily, lunch in, train your right foot. Installment on the other hand is fixed. You no money to feed your kid you still need to pay loan.

I am sure the whole forum knows that Matrix is a drinker but which other car can offer that kinda space and price???

Regarding FC, you can play with that. I am sure we are not talking like a difference of 5km/l between both cars. Of coz we can always recommend them the cheap yet good yet powerful yet zhng-able vios that can attain 15km/l like yours, afterall the maids and kids all sit behind. Unless you put 2 childseats then the maid got to stay at home lor.

I must stress that it is illegal to ask the maid to 'sit' in the boot.

Hey, I thought they boycott Japanese goods...... hmmm... [gossip]

no lah.. i am not advocating my tomyam...

me thinking why not he get a latio at.... its 54k... or altis also at that range too.... the space is good....

no.. family man...

get a latio....

vios is meant for younger people.. then come till family time... Latio! [:)]

next time i want a latio or city.... vios is good.. but not so when you have a family next time....