Jonbummer Neutral Newbie October 7, 2006 Share October 7, 2006 hi really green at this, and somehow can't find any info on previous thread finally decided to change my rims and tyres, since i think it's at not bad a deal. after having the wheels bolted on, alignment was done. the mech also drove out to 'test' all was ok, and i'm happy. reaching my carpark i made a left turn and heard some noise from the front R tyre. too tired to really bother about it, i parked this morning before going to JB in my fren's ride, i drove around the carpark, making Right and Left turns. it confirm Right turn is good, smooth but Left turn makes the Right tyres groan.. wat could be wrong? is the tyre place too near? tmw i'm going down to ask them to adjust, but dun want them to smoke me lor so want to do the thing once and for all cheers ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ac67 Neutral Newbie October 7, 2006 Share October 7, 2006 curious, what's your previous and current tyre? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonbummer Neutral Newbie October 7, 2006 Author Share October 7, 2006 oh, think the size of the trye remains the same think previous and current is the same 185/65/14 which makes the noise more puzzling... at least to me cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Biglittlebean 3rd Gear October 7, 2006 Share October 7, 2006 I think new tyres will have a period of "wearing in" due to the silicon compound that is on the surface of the tyre..... during that period, you will hear a bit of squeaks from time to time. After some time, it will be worn out and your tyre will be as normal. Heard it takes about one week. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonbummer Neutral Newbie October 7, 2006 Author Share October 7, 2006 that i understand is the Scrub In period 500km for this set of tyres but it's not the squeaks that you suggested.. more of something rubb of graining with it i dunno, i might be too sensitive but right turn ok left turn have leaves me quite unsettled.. cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear October 7, 2006 Share October 7, 2006 you sure its tyre and not wheel bearing noise??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dipstick Neutral Newbie October 8, 2006 Share October 8, 2006 If I were you, I would check the wheel-nuts to see if they are tightened properly. After the wheels have been removed and then refitted, it is necessary to retighten them after a long run. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear October 8, 2006 Share October 8, 2006 depends on the tyre size and rim width, tyre could b rubbing to the banana leaf/ aka weather shield on front. u should b able to see the rubbing line. but seriously nothing u can do except drive more gently. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dgwee Neutral Newbie October 8, 2006 Share October 8, 2006 I would also add that many tyre shops do not use torque wrenches to tighten the nuts. The use of torque wrench is very important to make sure the nuts are not over or under tighten. Also try re-balancing the wheels. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 8, 2006 Share October 8, 2006 I dont know if your is like this but I ever encounter a very dishonest tyre shop long long ago. I went there to change my battery cos it's flat, and the guy went below & adjust my tie-rod. Later I drive home, the car pulling to one side. I go back & ask him but he act blur. Later I found out the b@stard adjust the alignment to cause my tyres to wear out faster so he can sell me some tyres. He's quite a big sized guy & had a crew-cut that time. After several monthe, I saw his shop gone, so think he must have closed down. (Damm good ). Your case seems like the tyre is rubbing on the mudguard. Ask someone to drive with the tyre fully turned & u stand outside & try to see & listen where the sound is coming from. If your tyres r exactly the same size, u sud not have any prob. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonbummer Neutral Newbie October 8, 2006 Author Share October 8, 2006 hey no leh... the sound is not of metal nature. but then again, who knows??? i believe it the tyre somewat rubbing the inner wall.. or something. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonbummer Neutral Newbie October 8, 2006 Author Share October 8, 2006 hey prob is i have not even go for my long run after fitting in the new rubber i cover at most 8km no real way i can check on the wheel nuts, think bring it back to them is the best for now since it only so new Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonbummer Neutral Newbie October 8, 2006 Author Share October 8, 2006 hi oh.. wat do u mean there's nothing can be done??? since there was no change in tyre sizes or any change to the setting, shldn't turning be smooth and quiet? my concern is only that constant rubbing for long will cause the tyre to go boom before its time.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Susacarimakan 4th Gear October 8, 2006 Share October 8, 2006 Hi, Can it be the "offset" of your new rims? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonbummer Neutral Newbie October 8, 2006 Author Share October 8, 2006 hi & to all who had chip in and helped and horror to all horror, the reason for the sound is that.... The Right Dust Cover beneath the engine was loose!!!! and thus rubbing the wheel when i make left turn! thank goodness it was close to nothing at all.. cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 8, 2006 Share October 8, 2006 Worry so much for nothing. Now go & have a beer on me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonbummer Neutral Newbie October 8, 2006 Author Share October 8, 2006 ya lor... ayeAyE sir, a beer indeed!!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...