New Superb Newbie

Echelon

The Octys are letting the Superbs bask in the limelight. Octys and Fabias were the pioneers and now the flagship has arrived thumbsup.gif. Furthermore the current batch of Octys and Fabia are ard the 4 yrs mark already. But the "old birds" are still around. Some have even upgraded to the flagship as well.

If things go well, I might consider changing my Octy to a supberb as we well as I don't really like the OctyII so much. The specs kinda put me off.

Aiyoh, no more skoda for me liao. Scared already. No offence to all but IMO after market parts so limited and the resale value is terrible. Skoda by nature is a great car but however in S'pore, its [shakehead] Prob looking at VW for my next car. At least I wont lose so much after driving a few years. My octy after driving 2 years lose $25k if I sell. Siao... [hur]

Edited by Relak

I don't know what's with the local dealers for each marque .... perhaps not counting BMW, MERC, Volvo and Audi ...

Honda, Mazda, Skoda ... (notice all ending with DA) ...

There's always something lacking ... the top spec-ed model is never brought in ... [:|]

Same goes for the Focus ST.....read from Ford Club that RM bought in a lower speced one compare to the showroom one [furious] . And they gonna up the price when COE is coming down [bigcry]

[drivingcar]

Hi to all, glad to announce that I am a newbie Superb owner! Just gotten my ride yesterday, thanks to all the countless answers and advise from my "broken record" questions, to people like Koolaba and the rest in this forum that gives Skoda cars great credit and by word of mouth made the Skoda brand stand out just a little more.

18 months ago I would not have known that I would have bought a Superb today. I am glad a made the RIGHT choice. [thumbsup]

Cheers to all, now to learn all the maintance and ICE queries.

congrats! hope u are happy wif ur superb

To be honest, resale value for any car in SG is not that fantastic. Once you are ready to commit to car ownership, you must be prepared to brace the yearly depreciation. Especially for those who buy new cars, changing/scrapping/deregistering your car in the first few years of ownership will definitely cost you a lot.

To put things into perspective, one of my friends is having a hard time selling his Volvo S60 2.0T which is close to 3 years of age. The current paper value for the car is hardly $60k. New car price in Dec 2003 was $130k+. It is impossible to ask for $76k when he advertised for a private sale.

What resale value, even if the brand is a well-known marque like Volvo?

True that Skoda has very limited after-market parts available. However for those who prefer to keep their Skodas stock, it is not big deal for them, in my opinion.

hi, I would lose as much as your octy if I were to sell my M3 at the end of 2nd year. I lost that much also when I sold my Toyota Corolla. My experience therefore tell me that no car will fetch better resale value than others.

Your COE will probably dropped by $16k ($26k then against $10k now). So u only lose $9k for 2 yrs. That's reasonable. All cars experience the same plight.

FYI, I bought my car 2nd hand and not brand new so your "first few years of ownership cost alot" theory doesnt apply in this case. But I still lose alot.

Here comes the best part, its true that resale value for any car in SG is not fantastic. You mentioned Volvo, no doubt resale not fantastic also but at least got market for it and can still sell cos ppl still want it. Its still a VOLVO by any case a well known marque like you mentioned. As for skoda, you go ask around lar, local market see got how many ppl keen to buy. The market is so damn small. I know cos I tried selling it for 3 mths. Freakin hard to sell. SKODA is a good car, but others dunno, so dont buy. Stuck with the car and cant upgrade, get my drift?

Anyway wat u mean by "Putting Things Into Perspective"? not very friendly leh your statement. Whatever I mentioned was In My Opinion only. [:|]

Are you the first or second owner btw? First owner lose a lot I understand but 2nd owner losing the same amount is....I give up.. [laugh]

Bro 9k for 2 years? How you calculate? Can enlighten? I bought my car at $68k and now dealer offer me $43k for 2 years of ownership. So how does it add up to 9k? [confused]

To be honest, resale value for any car in SG is not that fantastic. Once you are ready to commit to car ownership, you must be prepared to brace the yearly depreciation. Especially for those who buy new cars, changing/scrapping/deregistering your car in the first few years of ownership will definitely cost you a lot.

To put things into perspective, one of my friends is having a hard time selling his Volvo S60 2.0T which is close to 3 years of age. The current paper value for the car is hardly $60k. New car price in Dec 2003 was $130k+. It is impossible to ask for $76k when he advertised for a private sale.

What resale value, even if the brand is a well-known marque like Volvo?

True that Skoda has very limited after-market parts available. However for those who prefer to keep their Skodas stock, it is not big deal for them, in my opinion.

I think what Relak is trying to say is that resale value aside, it is difficult to sell a Skoda in comparison to other marques which is pretty true actually.

No doubt a Volvo's value drops like crazy (but let's not forget, the value of the Skoda plummets like crazy as well), but at the end of the day, it is still easier to get rid of a Volvo than a Skoda or most of the other marques for that matter [:)]

Most of the Skodas have to be scrapped instead - It's a fact... and a sad one at that [shakehead]

Bingo Lightspeed! You struck the bulls eye while some others don't seem to get it. [laugh]

Resale value doesnt only mean in monetary aspect. High depreciation is one thing, the market demand is another. So total 2 factors I am talking about which makes it worse. I think I better not talk too much, sensitive issue here. Oh hail the mighty skoda!

Most of the Skodas have to be scrapped instead - It's a fact... and a sad one at that I double that. [:(]

Bro 9k for 2 years? How you calculate? Can enlighten? I bought my car at $68k and now dealer offer me $43k for 2 years of ownership. So how does it add up to 9k? [confused]

U have to look at the COE. How much does a new car cost today? $56k? U can't possibly sell your car at the same yearly depreciation rate that u have paid for 2 yrs ago! Assuming your COE then was $12k, the car would have cost u $54k. So, if u get to sell at $43k, that's a good deal.

That's why when i bought my Octy, went to check for paper value from LTA website the day after the car was registered. Then i mentally prepared myself for the day when the loan value is less than the scrap value. So now, it dosen't bother me. I took it like leasing the car, which is what we actually do in SG anyway.

Having said, I must say that while waiting for the break even point, I'm a very happy and satisfied owner of octyI. Was throughly happy driving it, and still am.

It's only human nature to want something better than what you have, so when i see the OctyII specs, really put me off....