Lightspeed Clutched September 30, 2006 Share September 30, 2006 Hmm... but he didn't try the 2L one right? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hatch_lover Neutral Newbie October 1, 2006 Share October 1, 2006 I was also looking at the Mz3 earlier this year but no manual transmission available and the 2.0L was not available then. Also took the Focus for a test drive. If its a comparison of the 1.6L Civic vs 1.6L Mz3, I will take option C. The Focus. But since its a comparison of the 2.0L Civic and Mz3, I take neither. Well, there is the ST now. I quite tempted to test the ST Yesterday itchy backside, went to check my car loan outstanding amt Dunno wat is my sub-conscious mind trying to do?? At the end of the day, i will just continue to drive my current ride. Btw, wat is the status of our fren who went to test the ST?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vblaster_w211 2nd Gear October 1, 2006 Share October 1, 2006 Why Civic FD is preferred over Mazda3? Simply it's a better car? Anyhow, the FD is moving in the direction of more "sporty family sedan" than hot hatch/sedan of EG6 era. That's a move to reflect market demands, so early aficionados of EG6 series will be disappointed, of course. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magfocus 5th Gear October 1, 2006 Share October 1, 2006 Better car, thats in your opinion To each his/her own anyway. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mysteria Neutral Newbie October 1, 2006 Share October 1, 2006 (edited) Personally when the Mazda3 is mentioned, I would think of Ah Bengs ! IMHO, the Mazda3 is too much associated with Bengs and it have been around for a long long time, haven't it ? The Civic on the other hand, is brand new and fresh ! Apart from that the size, the shape, the interior, the head lights, the rear, the look all appeals to me over the Mazda3. Guess I am bias against Mazda and prefers the Honda.......hey Honda makes beautiful bikes too ! Even if the Honda Civic 2.0 cost 10K more, I would have chosen it over the Mazda3 ( wah..like I got alot of money like that ) bro are u serious?? Mazda3 bengs?? try goin for meet ups for both mazda and honda. civics are widely known to be the ah beng car of all time.. though recently vios and wrx has caught up quite a bit.. we seriously dun need another bias memeber to flame the thread.. and oh.. the mazda3 2.0 is a FL version.. Edited October 1, 2006 by Mysteria Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cool_jazz Neutral Newbie October 1, 2006 Share October 1, 2006 He is still contemplating. The ST suits your nick..... but hey.... you should just continue driving your A4 then wait for your company car Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quantum 5th Gear October 2, 2006 Author Share October 2, 2006 walau! Singaporean are very rich men , rather to spend another $10k+ to buy powerful Vtec engine to win road racing Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hilander4650 Neutral Newbie October 2, 2006 Share October 2, 2006 add 2k get the wrx lah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sm69 Neutral Newbie October 2, 2006 Share October 2, 2006 hmmm...so far all the FDs i see all drive 2nd rightmost lane one le...humble one,no cheonster ...maybe still running in... That's what I observed also. Maybe those that loves to cheong would have switched to WRX since the diff is not too much. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quantum 5th Gear October 2, 2006 Author Share October 2, 2006 I saw some SGD, SGE FDs driving 2nd rightmost lane too, How can still running in... or FDs powerful only is a fairy tales Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sm69 Neutral Newbie October 2, 2006 Share October 2, 2006 (edited) Think the driver's profile has changed. For one I switch from Toyota to Honda Civic. Still not used to driving too fast though. Edited October 2, 2006 by Sm69 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fitmugen 5th Gear October 2, 2006 Share October 2, 2006 Civic FD2.0 and Mazda 3 SP20 both are purely made in Japan, both are low end luxurious sedan, and Mazda 3 SP20 is $10k+ cheaper than Civic FD2.0, but Singaporean still select Civic FD2.0 over Mazda 3 SP20 Mazda 3 SP20 Price: $66.8K Engine: 1999cc HP: 148 Torque: 184N.m Civic FD2.0 Price: $77K(M)/$79K(A) Engine: 1998cc HP: 155 Torque: 188N.m Must also look at resale value. Hondas typically fetch a higher resale value. If you sell the car after 3 years, who knows the Civic can fetch $10k more than the Mazda3. If so, then Mazda3 will be more expensive right? Honda is a brand that is synonymous with quality, reliability and sportiness. Guess Mazda has quite a bit of catching up to do in terms of building the brand name ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...