Facts about high octane petrol

Limws1

The test John Bently did prove the point that if your car doesn't require higher octane petrol, buying it just cost you more $$$ with no extra benefit to your car/wallet.

Edited by Silver_blade

Finally. A nice presentation why you shouldn't waste money on 98 if your car can't use it. 95 will be just right. 92 if your car is downright economy and CMI like mine. laugh.gif

....and most importantly, if ur car can appreciate such fine wine.
Agree. No point buying a bottle of vintage when you are only starting in wine drinking...but also don't buy the cheapest ones which I find are only fit for cooking normal food. [:)][:)] Edited by Silver_blade

The worse thing is that many of the old motorcar workshops are telling their customers the wrong thing. When intermediate grade fuel was first retailed in the market, my good old mechanic discouraged me from using it and justifying it with all types of horror stories about the damage to the engine. If I had listened to him, imagine the cummulative amount of money I would have thrown down the gutter all these years.

Edited by Biccat

Grocery getters these days use 95 save for the really retarded Chevies. I can install the relay to make it smarter than the average Chevy but I like it retarded. laugh.gif

Made for Eastern Europe where RON95 also hard to find. tongue.giflaugh.gif

No lah! I would think RON95 is common for UK and is the lowest (supermarket grade). No harm using RON95 though I think your engine is really retarded like mine until can use RON92. dizzy.gif

Excellent findings! We could not have articulated and quashed the highly and commonly regarded myths behind high Octane Petrols in a simplier and more disgestable way for common Sgporeans to understand! Thanks! [thumbsup]

However - I can guarantee 1 WEEK after the postings in this thread fade away - the usual staple discussion threads will magically RE-APPEAR with titles like "Shell V-Power gives me highest FC!!" or "SPC 95 OCTANE GIVES ME POOR FC & LOSS OF POWER" or "Confirmed liao! BP 98 Octane gives me more POWER!!" [laugh][:/][sleeping]

SGporeans will never learn and I hope they continue to make the arrogant and ultra wealthy oil majors - even more wealthy and arrogant - all this wealth accumulation is proudly sponsored by SGporeans bickering about which 98 Octane gives them "more power!"

I like to paraohase a forummer in here "your car CMI means CMI, dun blame petrol octane!" [thumbsup]

High Octane petrol or low Octane doesnt really matter if one is driving a stock mid range car. But for highly-tuned cars, it is prudent to match the octane level else it'll affect the engine's detonation and cause pinging which might damage the engine.

I am not an advocate of high octane fuel. I had been pumping JB's Ron97 or Sg Ron95 for the longest time. Last week I exchanged my Shell escape points to have a $60 fuel coupon and decidied to go for V-Power instead since many of the people I known swears by its performance. I duno about FC as I reckon $60 which is lesser than 30L cant intepret much on the total FC but I do feel the better 'performance'. The rpm climbs more willingly and gear change (mine is an AT) is smoother. At OD, I need not maintain throttle pressure as hard as before and esp pleasant during climbs along the highway where I didnt have to throttle harder like when I was using my usual grade.

But, $$ factor being priority, I pumped JB Esso last Sunday... Back to the usual feel liao. Could it be psychological? I really duno.

But then again, when I was driving my EK4 with EK9 specs previously and tuned in JB using JB petrol, ny car was doing fine. One day I got a 'race' at the Sat PG drag and decided to pump Sg V-Power for better power. Turn out from petrol station only my car vibrates like f@#k and staggers all the way home. Its like what we called as '3 hole fire' as though the engine is misfiring. Damn... had to postpone the friendly match for that night and spent the rest of the night driving aimlessly in Sg trying to waste away the so much more expensive petrol.

I can honestly say this much to forummers who insist their cars' pick up is better after pumping 98 Octane.

I have been driving for 11 years now...not as many as some old folks here.. [:p] ..but having driven a wide range of cars over the years - my observation is that sometimes pick up feels better then other times, and yet Ive always used the same mid grade petrol.

Why so? So many variables from terrain, start stop acceleration, cruise to acceleration, acceleration from different gears, in different situations, and many others.

Its all in the mind - The issue I believe is that when someone pumps Octane 98 with performance enhancement in mind (after constant brainwashing from TV ads and marketing and branding of certain fuels) - he or she will actively look for ANY CUES that may suggest better pick up - and then quickly associate that with the more expensive gas they had just pumped into their cars.

My ride can use 91 ron [:p]

Yeah, mine too. The manual states "Unleaded Regular Gasoline" without stating the RON/MON rating. Thus if go by American standard this means my car can go on RON92 (if not wrong, American standard for regular is 87RON).

It depends on the car u drive bro...ur comments does not apply to all cars.

Higher spec cars require higher octane fuel for optimal performance (probably due to higher compression ratio). Any lower and there might be knocks, which the car's knock sensors will detect and retard the spark timings. Then u'll have reduced performance. (applies for cars with knock sensors)