Zimmy83 Neutral Newbie September 24, 2006 Share September 24, 2006 i am driving a forester 2.5xt and i really need to upgrade my brakes but don't wish to spend like hell loads..any ideas on what kind of brake sets or brands i should get and where i can get it done?? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Machspeed Neutral Newbie September 24, 2006 Share September 24, 2006 Can check out willwood or winner power.. both of them are good and it won't cost a bomb.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zimmy83 Neutral Newbie September 24, 2006 Author Share September 24, 2006 where can i find these two brands thou??any workshop in particular?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Machspeed Neutral Newbie September 24, 2006 Share September 24, 2006 Got you some links for you to check out.. http://www.wilwood.com/ & http://www.winnerpower.com.tw/ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zimmy83 Neutral Newbie September 24, 2006 Author Share September 24, 2006 thanks but do u have any idea any workshops that brings in wilwood brake sets??looking at 4 pot in front.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Machspeed Neutral Newbie September 24, 2006 Share September 24, 2006 yup.. check your pm.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zimmy83 Neutral Newbie September 24, 2006 Author Share September 24, 2006 nothing in my pm inbox dude...hmmz... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Machspeed Neutral Newbie September 24, 2006 Share September 24, 2006 paiseh.. sent already.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear September 24, 2006 Share September 24, 2006 (edited) Have you experienced brake fade??? if yes then go for a big brake upgrade (Be ready for a wonky/less effective abs). Big brake kits are 100% wank factor unless you track the car or do heaps of towing. If you havent, start with a master cylinder stopper (cusco makes them for the forester) braided lines (heaps) and a dot 5.1 fluid mated to a slotted and/or grooved discs (if you can afford them go black diamond... bloody good material and they are black... yes black discs!!!), and a decent set of pads (fast street would be the best). Good tyres are very important coz of yout brakes are better than your tyres, then theres no point as you're just gonna end up skidding which doesnt help in braking distances. Edit: i forgot, start with the pads, fluid, and tyres and if still CMI go onto the lines, discs and stopper. Edited September 24, 2006 by Elfenstar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
EventH 1st Gear September 24, 2006 Share September 24, 2006 where can one find them in singapore Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zimmy83 Neutral Newbie September 24, 2006 Author Share September 24, 2006 wah super chim man..haha... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear September 24, 2006 Share September 24, 2006 (edited) Not cheem lah... ok i explain one by one how they affect your braking. tyres> tyres are the things that hold you to the road. if you brake and they lose traction you won't be slowing anywhere near as quick as you could. if you tyres arent good enough the pad can stop the wheel from turning, but because the tyre loses traction you skid intead of stop. pads> I'm talking abt brake and not sanitary here Grippier pads help slow the turning of the wheel more than less grippy pads. Some super grippy pads need warming up if not they have little grip when cold (i.e. street driving) Discs> The main advantages of drilled and slotted discs are the same, increased brake "bite", and a continuous refreshing of the brake pad surface. Drilled discs have the additional advantage of being lighter and running cooler. (taken from brembo... cant be stuffed typing all that). master cylinder stopper> prevents flex of the brake master cylinder giving better brake feel Braided lines> prevents flex of the rubber brake lines giving better brake feel Bigger diameter discs> helps dissipate and absorb heat faster/better thus less brake fade. A result of the larger diameter also helps slow the car down a lil faster due to larger brake torque. Larger calipers with mroe pistons> The larger helps absorb and disspate heat faster. More pistons = more even/larger pressure spread = less hotspots and more even spread of heat = less fade. Do note that braking systems are meant to operate withing a certain temp range, too little or too much = lousy braking so choose your parts wisely. Edited September 24, 2006 by Elfenstar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bertcap Neutral Newbie September 24, 2006 Share September 24, 2006 Hi, can you tell me if there is a local agent for winnerpower? Thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zimmy83 Neutral Newbie September 24, 2006 Author Share September 24, 2006 i heard its better to get willword Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zimmy83 Neutral Newbie September 24, 2006 Author Share September 24, 2006 wilwood my bad Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chevycavy 1st Gear September 24, 2006 Share September 24, 2006 if you can afford them go black diamond... where can i find black diamond in sg? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear September 24, 2006 Share September 24, 2006 cant. only can get it from the needforspeed website. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chevycavy 1st Gear September 24, 2006 Share September 24, 2006 Thanks, got some black diamonds from them b4. Was just wondering if i can get some in sg too. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...