How to improve low end torque for auto car...

Hexy

i'm driving a 1.6 auto sunny. would aftermarket drop in air filter have an effect on low torque?

thought of changing the air filter when my car is due for servicing

2 possible options:

1) Change to lighter rims and tyres.

2) install 3" inline eletric axial fan before airfilter. Have to use washable air filter. But not all cars can benefit from excess slightly compressed air. This option is cheaper than 1).

hi , i think supercharge our car still the best. but anyone know which workshop bring in supercharger for kia koup?

  On 9/19/2006 at 1:28 PM, Elfenstar said:

Another thing that might help would be say if you car can take 2 tyre profiles (e.g. mine take 175/65R14 or 185/60R14), using the one with a smaller rolling diameter (185 in my case) will help a tiny bit.

Smalling roller diameter but bigger contact patch = more friction, LPPL.

Option 2) is reversible. Low cost can see results. This is like mild forced air induction.

On 7/4/2010 at 8:14 AM, Dunno said:

Smalling roller diameter but bigger contact patch = more friction, LPPL.

Friction is good for torque!

On 9/19/2006 at 10:42 AM, Hexy said:

... as above.. anyone got any advice?

cheers [:)]

most members here is trying to poison u... [laugh][laugh][laugh]

i have a better way to improve not only your low end, even your mid end will be improve without spending a single cents..

remove anything doesnt comes with the car, things like newspaper, boxes, junks, spare tyres, jacks, tools, carpet, CDs, soft toy, deco items, laugage, condoms, tissues/ toilet roll, water bottle, pillows etc..

still not enof? maintain 1/4 petrol max at all time, empty the wiper reservoir, remove the back seat and/or passenger seat if you dun ferry people around, remove your amplifier, your woofer, rear speaker... turn off aircon and wind down your window by 1/3 only, ...

lightening the load in your car could improve your low end + mid end of your car better than legal mod you could do....

On 7/8/2010 at 3:30 PM, Tigershark1976 said:

most members here is trying to poison u... [laugh][laugh][laugh]

i have a better way to improve not only your low end, even your mid end will be improve without spending a single cents..

remove anything doesnt comes with the car, things like newspaper, boxes, junks, spare tyres, jacks, tools, carpet, CDs, soft toy, deco items, laugage, condoms, tissues/ toilet roll, water bottle, pillows etc..

still not enof? maintain 1/4 petrol max at all time, empty the wiper reservoir, remove the back seat and/or passenger seat if you dun ferry people around, remove your amplifier, your woofer, rear speaker... turn off aircon and wind down your window by 1/3 only, ...

lightening the load in your car could improve your low end + mid end of your car better than legal mod you could do....

Wah lau bro. Like that might as well ride motorbike? Save all the trouble. Cheaper some more! [laugh]

This is natural and organic ways..

You can also inflate tyre to maximum possible (for your type of vehicle)

Keep car clean and polish until mirror shine-- to reduce wind drag-- proven in WWII with 10% advantage.

I think a upgraded torque convertor really helps send more power to the wheel unfortunately i could not find any shop that did it than... so i did not buy the forestor.But as i am looking around seems tht it is available in sg. I personally have not tried it but based on overseas forums it seems it actually puts the auto car on par wif its manual equal other maybe faster casue of less human error. But than again this just information form overseas forums so dont quote me on it.

  On 7/8/2010 at 3:34 PM, Walkingtree said:

Wah lau bro. Like that might as well ride motorbike? Save all the trouble. Cheaper some more! [laugh]

bo pian, this is the confirm working "mod" + cheapest way... I mean, okie lah, dun need to switch off aircon so bad... removing off everything that doesnt comes with the car + maintain 1/3 tank full + remove spare tyre will make a big diff alrd...

but seriously, so far, out of all legal mod, i only know that light weight pully makes a significant diff on the low end... but must be careful not to get an unballance pulley...

Edited by Tigershark1976

On 7/9/2010 at 9:56 AM, 5936 said:

This is natural and organic ways..

You can also inflate tyre to maximum possible (for your type of vehicle)

Keep car clean and polish until mirror shine-- to reduce wind drag-- proven in WWII with 10% advantage.

I not so earth friendly lah. I don't insist on organic food, nor do i go for natural fibre clothing etc. [laugh][laugh] Joking.

Not so sure what you mean by inflating tyre to max for increasing torque leh. More likely increase wheelspin because less friction. End up got torque also no use. Worse is that it increase stopping distance. Best is to follow the manufacturer's recommendation for tyre pressure lah, provided you stick to the original tyre size of course.

On 7/9/2010 at 11:37 AM, Tigershark1976 said:

bo pian, this is the confirm working "mod" + cheapest way... I mean, okie lah, dun need to switch off aircon so bad... removing off everything that doesnt comes with the car + maintain 1/3 tank full + remove spare tyre will make a big diff alrd...

but seriously, so far, out of all legal mod, i only know that light weight pully makes a significant diff on the low end... but must be careful not to get an unballance pulley...

Yah lah. Can throw out all excess weight. But then owning a car is suppose to make the journey more comfortable and personal lor. So everything also throw out, no cd, no pillow, no condom etc, then must go petrol kiosk every one/two day, also quite jia lat leh. [laugh]

Put in a Megasquirt ECU , sure work one ! You can do anything with it . Advance the ignition timing , remap the Fuel table , control your turbocharger , put in big injector .... tune untill you are happy !

If you know how [;)]

Edited by Jasonjst

Want to improve your low end? Replace your ignition coil with more powerful ones. Mallory and MSD are good brands to start with. That side gap your spark plug and increase the gap a little (since your have a more powerul coil, you can have a wider gap). I am using a Mallory pro master ignition coil and I side gap my NGK iridium plugs and widen the gap to 0.88mm. The effect is awesome.

I also get more complete combstion because my A/F used to show the middle mark. It now shows lean, thus this means more complete combustion.

Edited by Mini-itx

So the 0.88mm sp gap is the top dead centre?

What happens when you set beyond this gap?