Dexlee Clutched September 17, 2006 Share September 17, 2006 (edited) Hi, any idea does audio shop sell just the tweeter without the mid? I went to some of the shops but they only sell as a component. Thanks! Edited September 17, 2006 by Dexlee ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sturtles 6th Gear September 17, 2006 Share September 17, 2006 should be ok, but you'll need to get crossovers to protect them Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kwongwing Neutral Newbie September 17, 2006 Share September 17, 2006 I believe that only the higher component speakers are sold in individual components. Brands/models like: Fontek (dunno spell correctly!), Lotus by Seas, Scanspeak, Vifa, etc. Try checking out this link: http://www.leda.com.sg/ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dexlee Clutched September 17, 2006 Author Share September 17, 2006 thanks guys, do i need to use back the same brand of tweeter to compliment the mid? i.e if i m using focal component and my tweeter spoiled, do i need to buy back the focal tweeter? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie September 17, 2006 Share September 17, 2006 u can get it independently of brand etc but with some considerations: if u're running active u can control it independently. if u're passive, u need something that can work with that current crossover point u have, unless u're into making a crossover urself. some feel that certain tweeters sound nicer with certain midwoofers (ur door speaker). so if u want some further perfection u can research into the different combos people have tried the midwoofer with / or the tweeter with. but my gut feel is that as long as it sounds nice if u can hear them, and if reviews support it being nice, it SHOULD be nice. :) u can get some tweeters locally from www.leda.com.sg or acoustictechnology.sg. the downside is some of their tweeters require 3-4 cm diameter mounting space. some others which are cheap may be OK but .. just OK. those that are really nice can be expensive. if u want cheap AND good, go into some foreign forums like www.diymobileaudio.com and read "Reviews" for "tweeter" and take your pick. i wasn't really looking for tweeters but off-hand i can recall a few mentioned that are cheap and good. e.g. Dayton RS28, BG Neo3. they might cost around S$100-150 including shipping for a pair. and would probably trash those cheapos u get from the ahem-ahem easy singapore sources. but if u're really into easy singapore sources, besides those mentioned above, u can check out individual installer shops. they also stock a VERY few independent drivers (tweeter alone) which they could fix up for u. in my opinion, many "famous brand" products are bull. a lot u pay goes for branding. enjoy tweeting! btw ordering stuff from the US incurs quite a bit of shipping charge if u order small quantities, somewhere like S$85-90. if u tongpang ur order with some people u'll save on shipping. (i recently asked if anyone wanna tongpang buying some midbass... so we can buy together if i'm really going ahead with the order. or u can find some friends and tongpang together.) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dexlee Clutched September 18, 2006 Author Share September 18, 2006 thanks Hyun, very infomative! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bosebani Neutral Newbie September 18, 2006 Share September 18, 2006 >>thanks guys, do i need to use back the same brand of tweeter to compliment the mid? i.e if i m using focal component and my tweeter spoiled, do i need to buy back the focal tweeter? >> If i am running passive, most likely I will get back the same brand same model of Tweeter to match the Mid and crossover Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie September 18, 2006 Share September 18, 2006 other models u might wanna look out for are LPG, the number i think 26 something. scan those forums, should be very informative. of course the simple way is to return back to your exact same model. but of course u'll need to look at how much $$ u have to end up spending, and what kind of sound quality u'll end up getting. u still haven't told us if it's active or passive (makes a world of difference). if it's passive, and if ur crossover is able to control tweeter sensitivity with +/- 2 or 3 dB adjustment, u can compensate for some tweeters being louder or softer (sensitivity) with that switch, otherwise have to resort to EQ. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dexlee Clutched September 18, 2006 Author Share September 18, 2006 Hi Hyun, I am running active. does it mean i can by diff brand of tweeter and mid? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie September 18, 2006 Share September 18, 2006 lucky u. open up more choices. u can change ur crossover point / slope. so check out all the markets, local, foreign. read those reviews lor. u might come away with one of those gems! do u know ur current crossover point? for example, some good tweeters are able to play well until quite low, like 2khz with a steep slope. my hunch is that'll probably be an improvement compared to ur original tweeter. and in your 2-way active system it'll lift the soundstage. enjoy researching, and update us on your selection! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dexlee Clutched September 18, 2006 Author Share September 18, 2006 well, bro.. not quite understand on those freq theory but appreciated your explaination and thanks. Will try to read up more first. Btw, I m using P80 HU running active, might need the guru(s) to tune up my system abit for me during the meet up... find that my system doesn't really sound 'nice'(dun noe the correct word to use) ..but don't know where is the problem. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie September 19, 2006 Share September 19, 2006 so u're running tweeterless now ah? maybe that's why "doesn't really sound nice" hor?? hehe.. joking. on a more serious side, some midbass or midrange drivers can almost run tweeterless, heh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dada Neutral Newbie September 19, 2006 Share September 19, 2006 (edited) Wah bro, now u like some guru giving very good advice..U've really been doing a lot of research lately ah... For me still , anyway I got my speakers out and checked, found that the connection for my speaker broke. Probably due to me slamming the door too hard on one occasion. Especially since my door one helluva heavy...Anyway maybe can meet u and lim kopi at meet up tmr.. Edited September 19, 2006 by Dada Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bobcatsysop Neutral Newbie September 19, 2006 Share September 19, 2006 Hi Bro, Are you coming down for tomorrow's meetup? I am also running Pioneer P80 but 2-way PASSIVE only.. yours is active.. I should be there by 9.30pm and will be there max 2 hours only. Dunno if my 'pomp' sound problem is solved by then.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kermit 1st Gear September 19, 2006 Share September 19, 2006 U sure 2 hours only? Let's see... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wankie Clutched September 19, 2006 Share September 19, 2006 must lead by example, follow the curfew he set Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie September 19, 2006 Share September 19, 2006 no lah i just passing on advice i gathered. that's the whole idea of info exchange mah. pass it on. it might come as good news to u that got such thing as cheap and good speakers. see ya tomorrow! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dexlee Clutched September 20, 2006 Author Share September 20, 2006 hi guys, i will try to make it tonight! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...