Oil Change 5w20

Strawberrypink

Minimum can use in Singapore weather condition is 5W30 ....any lower and 30 is a problem because of the tropical heat ! You want to protect your engine, better stick with what is recommended in the owner's manual

getz can take w20 oil? how come use so thin one? coz ur baby getz is drinking petrol like water? [lipsrsealed]

seriously i think w20 oil is think leh... mmz..... for my tomyam.. manfacturers recommened a lowest visocity of w30.. no longer than that....

you want ur engine to premature kaypoh?

for me, i am going to change to w40...

[:)] now on mineral oil... wah.. i topped up tank last night

39l of petrol, i got 665km of mileage [scholar]

drinking of manual really helps to save oil...

note that i am still on thick mineral oil... with fully synthetic oil, the FC will be even better right? [thumbsup]

i read in somewhere... people use w40 oil... fully synthetic, for 10k mileage.. by the time for servicing the oil has thinned till about w30.. but still fine for my tomyam...

why getz want to risk herself by getting a w20 oil.. later thin to w10... seriously w20 is too thin for ur getz baby... sorrie to mention this, but i know getz is petrol thirsty [sweatdrop]

Maybe theres a thought tat the thinner the oil,the better the f/c.But not necessary so,there's limited protection for

the engine.In this case 20 is way too thin,better go thru engine reccomendation,if not warranty sure void dizzy.gif

maybe... strawberrypink's ride is a getz... but seriously doesn't mean ur oil thinner, you get better mileage... if its too thin, strawberry she can scrap her car early.. [lipsrsealed] due to premature death of engine.. this is not covered in warranty coz GETZ recommended engine oil is definitely NOT w20 oil... my tomyam says w30 okie.. but then i am going to use a w40 oil for 10k servicing instead...

from what i know from people driving a getz... its real thirsty man... that's why these cars were out when i was sourcing for a ride... i need GOOD fc cars... coz my mileage is like 70-80km on a normal weekday basis.... [thumbsup]

39l for 665km of mileage...

this is what i call [thumbsup] tok kong mileage!

Edited by Weixiang_06

was thinking of using Royal Purple 5w20 for my coming 20k services....

any bro/sis expert in oil can advise....

[:p]

thanks in advance..... [angel]

I think some w20 out there have good UOA readings. do some research in bitog

getz can take w20 oil? how come use so thin one? coz ur baby getz is drinking petrol like water? [lipsrsealed]

seriously i think w20 oil is think leh... mmz..... for my tomyam.. manfacturers recommened a lowest visocity of w30.. no longer than that....

you want ur engine to premature kaypoh?

There's no basis or prove that 20wt oil will increase wear or kill your engine under normal City driving. Can you kindly back up with prove in your statement.

UOA prove that good quality 20wt oil will work perfectly well in tropic Singapore.

http://theoildrop.server101.com/cgi/ultima...t=002163#000000

http://theoildrop.server101.com/cgi/ultima...t=003178#000000

http://theoildrop.server101.com/ubb/ultima...t=002507#000000

http://theoildrop.server101.com/ubb/ultima...t=002427#000000

I was using Schaeffer 5W20 since 40K mileage. Now my mileage is 65K still under same

weight of Schaeffer oil. (1st change at 50K & 2nd change at 60K)

There's no problem at all for my 1.8L Rav4 with the W20 oil. Never give me a rough

engine noise and only feel the engine is much more response (due to light wt of Oil).

I was on this oil when doing some soft offroad, NS speed, normal city driving all no

problem.

If u feel not safe, u can always do an oil change for every 5K and this Schaeffer is

so cheap only cost me $8.50 per qt. Few members from my Rav4 club also take my advice

and try out the W20 oil, some go for Redline, some go for Schaeffer and all are very

happy with the W20 oil.

Brother, just try it and if u feel not happy just do another oil change immediately.

Some times u dun try u dun know the outcome, for a short period of using W20 oil

will never damage your lovely engine. The cost for your W20 experience is only

cost u less then $60. ($34= 4 qt of Schaeffer + $25 labour & filter).

Just my 2 cents.

MarcosTan

agree with u...i am on 5w20 and felt the car is more willing to rev..thanks to terence. to be on the safe side, u can switch to a thicker oil if u dun like the feeling...after all the end result is quite subjective

okie... my apologies.. but think i will still stick to w40 or the lowest w30.. coz that's the recommended lowest weight oil for my tomyam...

if use w20.. think warranty void liaoz... just like using the low RON recommended for ur car.. if not mistaken.. honda civic fd needs minimum of RON 95.... if u use 92.. its like use at ur own risk.. engine damage not covered? u wear pinging and then.... [lipsrsealed]

Edited by Weixiang_06

Please lah! The recommended grade for new Toyota engines is 0W20. Where got void warranty? Even Toyota of Japan puts it into their manuals.

Corolla where got minimum 95? The 1.5L is 95, the 1.6 is 92. Make sure you read up first before you even attempt to make yourself sound like an expert.

BTW, don't call the Altis a Corolla Altis for crying out loud. Its not even worthy to receive the Corolla name.

Edited by Genie47

duhz.. then my manual is old one ah? mmz.. mine is the FL tomyam vios.. gotten in jan this yr... that's what was put in the manual.. recommended grade w30 oil...

piang i din say i was an expert... [:)] a noobie who wants to know more about cars loh.. [sweatdrop]

Edited by Weixiang_06