Helix Neutral Newbie September 14, 2006 Share September 14, 2006 Was using SHU on my Honda and just switched over to Castrol Syntec 0w30. The engine is more rev-happy, acceleration appears to be smoother and sounded less harsh than when on SHU. Very happy with the oil now. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weixiang_06 Clutched September 14, 2006 Share September 14, 2006 wah... okie okie... but question... w30 oil is supposed to be thinner, which accounts for better fuel economy, smoother acceleration and quieter engine? right? i think i will give w30 oil a miss... my ride going for its full sythetic oil engine in early oct.. so considering my options now... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Biccat Neutral Newbie September 14, 2006 Share September 14, 2006 Why give it a miss even by knowing that it performs better overall? Any logic??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weixiang_06 Clutched September 14, 2006 Share September 14, 2006 (edited) is it really able to last a full 10,000 or 6 months whichever is earlier? mmz..how much would a branded fully synthetic engine oil cost? i want added engine protection... w30 might be a little thin for my liking? Edited September 14, 2006 by Weixiang_06 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Biccat Neutral Newbie September 14, 2006 Share September 14, 2006 1)10K - no problem. 2) Less than $60. 3) So it has got more to do with personal preference rather than proven data or statistics. Bro, if someone can proved that he can used a 5W20 in his exotic Ferrari for normal road use without any adverse effect on wear, are you convinced? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trex101 3rd Gear September 14, 2006 Share September 14, 2006 (edited) How lasting is the oil depends mostly on the quality of additives/base stock, for your info SHU "fully synthetic" are in fact hydrocrack group III oil only. Why pay a fully synthetic price for a group III oil . Castrol Syntec 0w30 which is rated MB 229.5 can in fact last up to 30k OCI. It is reputed to out protect & out perform most over the counter Synthetic. Castrol Syntec 0w30 aka GC is very well researched and tested in BITOG. Do a search/read there if you want further information on oil. European & MB rating http://www.whnet.com/4x4/oil.html Edited September 14, 2006 by Trex101 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nine_eleven 2nd Gear September 14, 2006 Share September 14, 2006 Castrol Syntec 0w30 which is rated MB 229.5 can in fact last up to 30k OCI. that is with or without 10k oil filter change? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear September 14, 2006 Share September 14, 2006 (edited) One of the oil guru has spoken Edited September 14, 2006 by Mzrmazda3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trex101 3rd Gear September 14, 2006 Share September 14, 2006 No need a filter change if you are using fleece oil filter designed for use with 229.5 engine oils. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nine_eleven 2nd Gear September 14, 2006 Share September 14, 2006 fleece filters not easy to find leh... so using normal filters, should still be 10k lah rite? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trex101 3rd Gear September 14, 2006 Share September 14, 2006 Yes, only MANN produces it for MB and European cars only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coaxialcable Neutral Newbie September 14, 2006 Author Share September 14, 2006 Quote http://www.driven.com.sg/ProductDetail.asp?Model=M2 Mobil 1 0W/40 1 Quart Price : S$14.90 Bro bro....why the Mobil 1 Gold in this page is in Silver bottle one??? I thought they are suppose to be in gold color bottle?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear September 14, 2006 Share September 14, 2006 Gold bottle ones are in 4 Ltrs while this is in loose form where 1 bottle consists of 1 quart if i'm not wrong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coaxialcable Neutral Newbie September 14, 2006 Author Share September 14, 2006 Quote That time i got my Mobil Gold for $60.00 It's from 1 of the bros selling in this folder so was kind of lucky Now i'm on Castrol SLX which i have bought from one of the spare part shops in Alexandra Next to try would be the Castrol Edge which is a 40W oil Bro, me got no lobang in buying engine oil so can't help you much on it Got Lobangz must share leh... $60 for Mobil 1 Gold is cheap!! Now got people introduce Castrol SLX......sounds tempting too! Wa....you have friends who changed their fully synthetic engine oil every 5000km?! Wa Turbo car uh??? Or he changed himself one?? hehehe...save the labour.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear September 14, 2006 Share September 14, 2006 That $60 bucks for Mobil Gold is not a lobang lah If got lobang sure share with the bros here one That time is someone selling in 1 of the folder's here My friend whom change his Shell Helix Ultra at every 5,000km is driving a Kelisa only He is a mechanic in one of the local agent's workshop so changing oil & repairing minor stuff is easy for him Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coaxialcable Neutral Newbie September 14, 2006 Author Share September 14, 2006 I called the shop, the SE there also don't know what's Mobil 1 gold or silver. Anyway....he told me 1 quart is 0.96L, so if 1 get 4 quart it's $59.60. If it's really Mobil 1 Gold quality....it's quite worth to buy! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear September 14, 2006 Share September 14, 2006 That time when Giant/Carrefour got offer for Mobil oil, they also come in this silver packing The price was cheaper than this but that time is promotion period Not too long back, i saw some 0-40W also in silver packing like this in Giant Marina Square Price can't remember liao but should be almost the same Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coaxialcable Neutral Newbie September 14, 2006 Author Share September 14, 2006 Wa seh...His kelisa must be one kinda hell speeder who takes on 1.6L car...hahaha ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...