Franksg Neutral Newbie September 9, 2006 Share September 9, 2006 My friend recently lost a Camry in JH. He parked his car near a small restaurant for lunch. After lunch, he found his car gone. How do you protect your car when you drive to Malaysia? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limlien Clutched September 9, 2006 Share September 9, 2006 Drive a more then 10 yrs old car in there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stationwagon Neutral Newbie September 9, 2006 Share September 9, 2006 Sorry to hear of your friend's misfortune. JH = JoHor? There's no full-proof way to protect a car, cos whatever is man-made can be man-broken. But we can provide disincentives and deterrents to would-be thieves. For example, a good mechanical lock (eg. Disklok full steering wheel cover, which is the only one which is even effective), electronic immobilisers, careful choosing of parking area, etc. On a lighter note, I say the best way is to drive something they don't have or don't want (eg. Subaru, Lada, Skoda) and park beside a group of RAV4 or CRVs. Guaranteed they won't even look at your car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stationwagon Neutral Newbie September 9, 2006 Share September 9, 2006 Sorry, but for our knowledge and protection, would you be able to provide some info please? - Which area is this, roughly? Was it in full view of crowds? - What kind of security (immobilisers, alarms, locks) did your friend have? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolverine Neutral Newbie September 9, 2006 Share September 9, 2006 get a personal body guard... call 1800Wolverinebodyguard Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear September 9, 2006 Share September 9, 2006 Yah. Get a bodyguard to watch the car, but who's going to watch the bodyguard? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheekg98 1st Gear September 9, 2006 Share September 9, 2006 neber drive a honda or toyota to MY Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arkaneslayer Neutral Newbie September 9, 2006 Share September 9, 2006 Quote My friend recently lost a Camry in JH. He parked his car near a small restaurant for lunch. After lunch, he found his car gone. How do you protect your car when you drive to Malaysia? dun go there la Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunray Neutral Newbie September 9, 2006 Share September 9, 2006 Yes, the best is don't go there at all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheekg98 1st Gear September 9, 2006 Share September 9, 2006 but better to lose a car than ur own life Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Suxelis Neutral Newbie September 9, 2006 Share September 9, 2006 Simple. When you go to lunch or leave the car out of sight, remove and bring along fuel pump relay. On my car the engine ECU is slide in fit with big connector. So i have brought my ECU to lunch too. Car is not equipped with alarm. I do use a very visable steering lock. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear September 9, 2006 Share September 9, 2006 Last time got many pple install a "secret" switch inside the car. When u "off" it, the car cannot start. Maybe can do this. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weixiang_06 Clutched September 9, 2006 Share September 9, 2006 you think they dumb meh? i am sure they know how to counter liaoz... professional car "traders" we are talking here... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beanoyip Turbocharged September 9, 2006 Share September 9, 2006 Just don't go into that god forsaken place.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fastfuriou1 Neutral Newbie September 9, 2006 Share September 9, 2006 Quote My friend recently lost a Camry in JH. He parked his car near a small restaurant for lunch. After lunch, he found his car gone. How do you protect your car when you drive to Malaysia? Like many suggested, best not to drive in! Especially just for makan and shopping, not worth it after all....... If really no choice, try to park the car within your vision, use good branded steering lock.... Good luck... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mmatrix Neutral Newbie September 9, 2006 Share September 9, 2006 All these couldnt stop them. They steal the car by towing it away on a lorry... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear September 9, 2006 Share September 9, 2006 never ever drive a camry there thats why mine is singapore road only Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kanr 1st Gear September 9, 2006 Share September 9, 2006 The best way is not to drive in or take pte or public transport,bro!!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...