Altis or Avante

Quantum

Altis or Avante  

464 members have voted

1. 1.

• Altis
    • Avante

Altis's sale volume is no. 1 here. it is basically a 5 year old model already.

tested by many. oh yes, its used as taxi in thailand.

U see any Avante on the road??

last year I had a business trip to Pakistan, I found the most popular car in local you guess it's what, Altis, followed by Honda City, Nissan Sunny, Mit Lancerlaugh.giflaugh.gif, but their Altis is 1.8Lthumbsup.gif, price same as Sunnysweatdrop.gif

New Hyundai Avante:

Engine Capacity (cc) : 1591

Top Speed (km/h) : 185

Max Power (bhp) : 121

Max Torque (Nm) : 153

Price: $61,999 with COE

Altis:

Engine Capacity (cc) : 1598

Max Power (bhp) : 110

Max Torque (Nm) : 150

Price : $55,988 with COE

I just went for the launch of avante. There are 2 versions. 1 with sunroof, 1 without which cost $56,999. I test drove the car. Total 5 full grown adults. Decent and comfortable ride. decent price also. Under consideration.. :)

u dun know meh? singapore population is becoming aging.

Anyway a typical Singaporean will choose the Altis over Avante. Why buy Hyundai when u can get a Toyota and save 6k somemore? If can afford Avante, might as well top up another few k and get the Civic

OMG! 1 sunroof costs 5ksly.gif, if like that, ppls definitely go for Avante w/o sunroof one liao,

121bhp engine carry 5 full grown adults definitely no problemthumbsup.gif

I think the 121bhp and 153Nm make some bros vote Avante regardless the price[dizzy], in current is there any 1.6L car has this lovely power [laugh]

Yes:

- Civic 1.6L @ 153 or 154 Nm

- Renault Megane 1.6L @ 155 Nm

I think currently amount the 1.6L cars in SG, the Renault Megane's engine has the highest max. torque. But...it still drives and feels like a slug.

Edited by Rickster

Usually people who buys altis are generally the more conservative type and they have their reasons for choosing:

- TOYOTA brand = Most reliable = high resale value [laugh]

- Functionality over looks [sly]

- Die die must own Japanese car (By self-consoling that engine still made in Japan) [sly]

- Altis everywhere, sure got alot of cheap spares and workshop supporting it...hmm quite true [nod]

- Good FC [nod]

- Comfotable and soft plushy ride. [nod]

Edited by Rickster

When i mean sluggish, i raelly mean to say i feel like i'm sitting on top of a slug and trying to drive it[whip]

Even my 1.4(M) '06 kia rio feels like a sports car when compared to my dad's megane. [shakehead][shakehead]

Hi Mean76,

I've driven Elantra (manual) 2002 before switching to Lancer 2006 abt.2 months ago.Through the years of driving Elantra, the only setback was the FC. I recorded abt. 10-11 km/l, other than that thumbs up.....spacious legroom in this class,stable handling, good suspension (with 5 adults) I supposed Elantra 2002 had improved since it's predecessor...the Elantra with 'cat's eyes' at the rear. The new Advante (auto) is documented at 12km/l.

When the COE was hovering around 9-10K in May/June 2006, my wife and I thought of doing some shopping. We went to showrooms for Altis, Sunny, Verna and Lancer. Altis...out...reason: 2 of my colleagues having problems with air-con system.Workmanship 50/50... Not very pleased with Verna...not much difference in size between 1.4 & 1.6litres. We asked (in June 2006) abt. the upcoming version of Elantra, the sales guy at Komoco told us that it wld be in the 3rd quarter of this year. Of course we couldn't wait that long when Sunny and Lancer's prices were tumbling down to approx. $45k.

If I were to be given a choice either to buy an Altis or Avante, Avante($56K)without the sun-roof wld be it.

For me, altis. No feedback from my colleagues on any issue yet. My previous ride vios also never give me any issue for the past two years or so. Well,every car has it's strength and weakness. One just have to choose which one u like. Like my colleague's two years optra, have been in and out workshop numerous times [sweatdrop] . Cannot sell due to huge loss (abt 35k for two yrs) [sweatdrop] due to poor resale value (scrap + 2k). Maybe he kanna lemon or that model got huge problem. Anyway, buying car is a bit of gamble. COE factor, prob of getting lemon etc. For me, if $$$ is no issue, perhaps I will go for hybrid. [sly] Frankly, I still do not trust Korean. BUT, I know there is a lot of Thaiyota (Toyota) hater. [laugh][laugh]

New Hyundai Avante:

Engine Capacity (cc) : 1591

Max Power (bhp) : 121

Max Torque (Nm) : 153

Price: $61,999 with COE

Altis:

Engine Capacity (cc) : 1598

Max Power (bhp) : 110

Max Torque (Nm) : 150

Price : $55,988 with COE

Brother, i tot already have this thread??? i remember i voted leh... but my choice still same as the provious... [:p]

never buy cars that are newly launched.... wait for later batches to come in....

few 'virgin' batches, sure got alot of problems.....

so stay away from avante for while first....