Worthwhile to buy Sonata?

Linusloh

I drove my bro's up to KL and back: very thumbsup.gifthumbsup.gif on highway and it did 150-160kmh very smoothly and still has power to spare...... roomy and comfy inside. No mechanical problems in the three plus years my bro owns it........nod.gifnod.gifnod.gif ....value for money.....thumbsup.gifthumbsup.gif

Sonata owners are quite rare in this forum... only manage to locate only about 2 others here... hahaha.... [laugh]

Well, no doubt Sonata appeals more to mature crowd (except me [:p] ) with has more desire of comfort & luxury rather than sporty & power....

So far so good for me.... driving for about 3 months liao.... Just went for my 2nd "free" servicing.... Minor warranty claims for squealing seatbelts, noisy timing belt, ... Manage to resolve that during the servicing... keeping my finger cross... [sweatdrop]

The soundproofing for the Sonata is quite good... imagine that i didn't notice about the timing belts noise until one of my colleagues actually pointed it out... Why? Cause me always seat in the car and shut the door before starting the engine... [sweatdrop] Really silent inside....

Fuel consumption-wise.... Well, almost same as most 2L cars.... Me getting about 10km/l (60% highway, 40% city)... which is consider rather good.... of course, our dear toyota carmy claims to be able to hit 11km/l... so far, some of the drivers here are unable to achieve that....

Servicing... Sigh... as always... those techinicans dunt know how to keep the car clean one... oily fingerprints around the car, stain my car mats.... damn piss off.... ask them to clean up the print and replace a set of new car mat.... Not much experience with other brands service center loh... Maybe other bros here can contribute loh...

Sonata appeals to the more mature crowd, u say? Well, I wun mind driving a Sonata if I can afford one, not to mention the high fuel consumption though I am in my late twenties. How old are u anyway?

My friend who drives a Silver Sonata is in his late forties and he wanted to get Gold colour actually. For me, only black will do and I once saw a Black Sonata with 17 inch black rims with tinted windows... really cool man! [thumbsup]

Sa ma, Sa ma, in my mid twenties loh... me driving dark blue one... black one looks nice... but too tough to maintain it loh... Looking forward to change my rims soon.... [thumbsup][thumbsup]

Thanx to all for your helpful views. I currently drive a Nissan Sunny VIP.

I personally think that black looks great.

I prefer comfort/refinement/quietness/reliability in a car. No need to handle tt well

or have power++.

I heard from a dealer tt Sonata is sound proofed by tuff kote, not sure the whole works or just the external cladding.

Me fren and me looked at it pretty closely and we decided tt it's really quite a well

built car. it has some nifty feature which most cars don't...but sadly also some short comings as well. Shan't go into detail about tt though.

The test drive left a good impression...it's quiet on the road as well as stationary. the engine's ok, not noisy, but pick up is pretty slow, and the accelerator pedal is quite heavy/stiff cf to jap cars. Suspension is tuned for comfort, absorbs most bumps well, Din try to corner anything but then again, I usu drive carefully anyway.

the h-matic gear box is interesting but dun think i'll use it much.

Wat i really needed was the assurance tt it would stay good for at least 3 years...some cars tend to deteriorate fast.

Now am waiting for prices to drop further, I'm very sure it would [nod]

wow, its really dropping fast man.... now at $80k only.... Got mine at $82k in Jan with $31k COE... consider quite good at that time as my old car is due for scrapping in Feb... too bad.. if i can wait then maybe from now to before the war ends would be a good timing.... Well, having a new car for Chinese New Year is intangliable loh... [:/]

Hi all!

Am thinking of getting new 2.0l car, am wondering if the Sonata is a good buy.

I've test drove it and found it to be a surprisingly pretty good car. Only thing

no air bags!

Anyway, with it's low price, who can complain.

What i don't know is how it behaves after a few months...any problems? fuel consumption?

Servicing problems?

Thanks all!

My uncle had the previous version. Had alot of problems coming up after the initial 3 years. The problems he faced was mainly, ECU, Injectors, electronic stuff. And when he went outside (of komoco) to repair, many of them couldn't diagnose the problems. Or maybe because he was unlucky? [laugh]

Anyway, I would suggest you to get a cheap jap car with a long history of reliability. Hyundais are also known to be petrol guzzlers.

[sunny]

Sa ma, Sa ma, in my mid twenties loh... me driving dark blue one... black one looks nice... but too tough to maintain it loh... Looking forward to change my rims soon.... [thumbsup][thumbsup]

So when u drive your Sonata, do people think u are driving your father's car or something like that? [sweatdrop]

I prefer comfort/refinement/quietness/reliability in a car. No need to handle tt well

or have power++.

I heard from a dealer tt Sonata is sound proofed by tuff kote, not sure the whole works or just the external cladding.

Me fren and me looked at it pretty closely and we decided tt it's really quite a well

built car. it has some nifty feature which most cars don't...but sadly also some short comings as well. Shan't go into detail about tt though.

The test drive left a good impression...it's quiet on the road as well as stationary. the engine's ok, not noisy, but pick up is pretty slow, and the accelerator pedal is quite heavy/stiff cf to jap cars. Suspension is tuned for comfort, absorbs most bumps well, Din try to corner anything but then again, I usu drive carefully anyway.

Wat i really needed was the assurance tt it would stay good for at least 3 years...some cars tend to deteriorate fast.

I do think prices should drop further due to the SARS and the prolonged war in Iraq. My friend has used his car for one year plus already. No big defects so far. I think most cars should have no problems in the first three years.

How long do u plan to use the Sonata? U see, if u going to sell after three years, I think u might have to lose quite a fair bit of money.

or have power++.

Umm.. good. There other sonata owners here if i am not wrong. Hensony.. Ironheart..

ok i also have friends who owned sonatas for at least 4 years. Both have postive feedbacks. BTW, the sonata scored well and was awarded by the JDPower consumer association. Hope this sheds more light. [;)]

Yes! Yes! Me also a "young" sonata owner, hahaha... everytime a "brother" pass by usually uncle or auntie driving... hee hee... me late 20s and my wife is early 20s, we simply love this sonny... this is my 7th car and i would say this car will stay with us for a long long time...

My rational? Simple, i bought it 2nd hand (2 yrs old), great condition, 5.6k depreciation per yr, spacious, HUGE boot [shocked] , damn silent (think my starter kena tortured, often forgot the engine is on, crank again, haha [:p] ), fuel comsumption -ve point??(Same as cifero sometimes better, for camry ard 50km dif per tank), poor resale value?(dun really care [sly][sly] , cos i bought it at 1k above paper value). Anyway, who says Jap wont lose too much? Got a few frds bought sunny at ard 80k drive 2 yrs now wanna sell only 50+k left [shakehead] ... in this market once u buy brand new be prepared to lose much, even a toyota can cost u near 9-10k per yr unless u drive finish 10 yrs lor.

I mean end of the day, i PERSONALLY find it a great value for money lor, well, dif pple dif preference and calculations lah [:)] , for me to sum up, where to get such buy at this price [scholar][scholar] ? haha...

Glad to see other sonata owners :) [thumbsup][thumbsup] hope we can meet up soon :)

BTW, anybody interested to take a look at my sonny baby can visit the link below :)

http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/gforum.cgi...e=unread#unread

Hi all!

Am thinking of getting new 2.0l car, am wondering if the Sonata is a good buy.

I've test drove it and found it to be a surprisingly pretty good car. Only thing

no air bags!

Anyway, with it's low price, who can complain.

What i don't know is how it behaves after a few months...any problems? fuel consumption?

Servicing problems?

Thanks all!

Think it's value for $$.... and nice... especially the black one... with 17" rims... [inlove]