Viperphoenix Neutral Newbie September 19, 2006 Share September 19, 2006 i do agree on ur comment on the centre console. felt the same way too. steering wheel is light though. i like that. regards ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koolaba 1st Gear September 20, 2006 Author Share September 20, 2006 To sum up: cost savings! We will see how the Octavia II will sell in Singapore with CA's price strategy. For the 1.6 MPI models, we are getting one of the least specified models. If you have noticed, the headunit slot in the Octavia II is larger (longer and a bit taller) than the usual 1 DIN size, the guys at PDI will need to exercise creativity in doing some handicraft to fit a normal 1 DIN sized headunit into the empty slot. It will be really interesting to see the end result of this exercise. To be fair to the Octavia II, it is definitely a more refined car than the Octavia I. Many thanks to CA, the current uncompetitive pricing has made it one of the least recommended buys in the 1600cc market. Let us hope that this situation takes a turn for the better in time to come. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beanoyip Turbocharged September 20, 2006 Share September 20, 2006 I seriously hope nobody buys the car, and see who gets the boot. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
King 1st Gear September 20, 2006 Share September 20, 2006 coming from a different angle Why it can sell since is price in the same range as focus and opel and megane and 307 and C4... they are all around 60-70k -focus is using old engine and not the VVTI -opel upgrade u to 1.8 -megane is using VVT engine -C4 is using hte same engine as 307 which is 110 bhp. but i want FSi engine call me vain Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
King 1st Gear September 20, 2006 Share September 20, 2006 Dun be so bad lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gz0707 4th Gear September 21, 2006 Share September 21, 2006 Actually this may be the ideal solution and I hope it happens... from a marketing angle to the consumer, it is not very exciting or even interesting to consider a brand which has poor after sales support (via word of mouth) nor priced competitively. Looks like a great product has not been able to cover up the lapses in these areas ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beanoyip Turbocharged September 21, 2006 Share September 21, 2006 The main purpose is that i want to see the SM get the boot, hire someone with passion for the brand of the car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Try_conti 2nd Gear September 21, 2006 Share September 21, 2006 In any chess game, its the pawns that will be sacrificed. There's still plenty more pawns to go. Can always pass the buck. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slonez Clutched September 22, 2006 Share September 22, 2006 Really good & comprehensive review . I always like Octavia, even Mk 1. Quite tempting .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latzu Neutral Newbie September 22, 2006 Share September 22, 2006 (edited) I would really like to see Skoda take back the agency. Just like what VW did. Exclusiv should just concentrate on getting out of the auto sales industry. Used to drive an Octy 3 years ago. Now the itch is coming back. But no way will I buy an Octy under the current dealership. Edited September 22, 2006 by Latzu Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Firstcall Clutched September 25, 2006 Share September 25, 2006 i do agree on ur comment on the centre console. felt the same way too. steering wheel is light though. i like that. regards hmm.. you test driven the car? its indeed suprising that they 'lighten' the steering. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Firstcall Clutched September 25, 2006 Share September 25, 2006 coming from a different angle Why it can sell since is price in the same range as focus and opel and megane and 307 and C4... they are all around 60-70k -focus is using old engine and not the VVTI -opel upgrade u to 1.8 -megane is using VVT engine -C4 is using hte same engine as 307 which is 110 bhp. but i want FSi engine call me vain any suprise that they sell as few cars as 2 units per mth last year? it's chicken or egg for them, they are under pressure for higher profit to cover cost with the new car but at such price and virtually no advertisement or branding,i wonder who is buying?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Firstcall Clutched September 25, 2006 Share September 25, 2006 we'll need a visionary agent with fat pocket(like Subaru's Glenn) to weather and breakthru tough market here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Try_conti 2nd Gear September 25, 2006 Share September 25, 2006 PK's pocket not deep enuf meh ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Try_conti 2nd Gear September 25, 2006 Share September 25, 2006 Hopefully visionary (for private car mkt) & not 'turn the marque into a taxi brand' visionary .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Firstcall Clutched September 26, 2006 Share September 26, 2006 haha.. .taxi visonary... it appears to be that direction... hey just look at the recent numbers from newspaper: it cost about $108 per day to rent a Superb per day, top up $2 more and you can get a Merc E class!!! I checked the European prices for both cars, they are at least 15k diff in UK! That is considered quite a big diff in UK market. How come the taxi company charge such a high rental? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Try_conti 2nd Gear September 26, 2006 Share September 26, 2006 The price diff here btw the SPB & E-Class is NOT small either, if that's what you meant. Diff market segment. Diff group of people driving it. Those who can afford it would definitely go for a Merc. As for taxi company rental charges, I have no idea about that. However, I once had a chat with a SilverArrow cab driver. This guy really like the car & keep praising it throughout my whole ride fm Jurong to Changi & he mentioned that the car is so comfortable that he can afford to drive longer hours ! Maybe that's how he re-coup the higher rental. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iconti Neutral Newbie September 27, 2006 Share September 27, 2006 The no of Skoda taxi should overtake the no of Skoda consumer cars by now. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...