Tips Needed for Smooth Drive on Manual Transmission

Weixiang_06

The way you described, it sounds so complicating driving a MT in jam situation. No wonder more than 90% opt for AT.

I just changed to AT and feel kind of regret. No more oomph!

but the problem is i cannot rev harder and release, coz i need to maintain it at 10km/h.... haha.. coasting doesn't really help.. coz will slow down, then need to shift to gear 1, and drive off again...

10km/h... can u directly shift down to gear 1? i tried leh... not very smooth.. and i feel its like sxxt... and it feels like takig the engine for a beating which i dun like..

think singapore traffic really getting bad to worse... next time, i think i will opt for a auto ride... driving 40 months of manual.. i feel abit tired le... haha...

next time need to keep my left hand free for some other things le...

I started on manual 10 years ago before switching to auto.

Recently, just switched from auto back to manual. Do miss the ease of driving in jam that auto tranny offers... but the control and provision of power that manual offers is more shiok for me. So depend on you entirely whether you prefer one over the other - "comfort" or "power". Unless you go for the new Subaru Legacy GT Turbo B4...

Don't choose the wrong path hor.... we all know it is expensive... heh heh

haha... i like the power of being in control and provision of power...

but i hate the ease when i am stuck in super long traffic jams that seem never ending.. [furious]

reason i like manual is the gear shifting and level of engagement... driving auto is like driving an arcade ride for me.. [laugh]

like this how huh? i drive at gear 2 at 10++km/h, like engine cough cough.. not good for engine.. but engaging in gear 1, its like hard to engage and not good for engine right? since ur speed is alreadie 10++km/h....

for what i do..... is rev slightly higher when clutch is depressed, then slowly release clutch(on gear 2) while on higher revs, this will solve the problem having difficulty engaging back to gear 1....gossip.gif

okie lah.. shall see whether DarkLord can help or not, since he is also driving a manual vios....

Ermz.. I am driving an auto lorz.. sweatdrop.gif But as long as your ride did not come to a complete stop, you should be able to accelerate with gear 2.

when slow down with 2nd gear , you can use 1/2 clutch and a bit fuel to give smooth movement ... but of course cannot apply to complete stop, still have to go back 1st gear

roughly gone through you long long statment, found you seemed not to mention half clutch, actually half clutch is a sufficient manner to avoid jerks in manual car, usually 1st gear is not used as cruise only for pick up,if car still moving, never down gear to 1st gear, even at <10km/h variable speed you can control you speed by clutch/brake/accelerater in 2nd gear [thumbsup], unless its <10km/h constant speed, you can use 1st gear cruising [laugh]

driving 40 months of manual.. i feel abit tired le... haha...

Bro....don't say 40 months lah...not accurate enough. You should use "xxxx days". More accurate leh [rolleyes]

[sly]

Never encountered this kind of problem before. It all boils down to your half-clutch control at gear 2 as what some bros have said. The Vios is perfectly capable of moving off in gear 2 from rest, so there shouldn't be an issue with controlling the car at <10km/h in gear 2 in jams. The engine won't cough if you can time your clutch disconnect/connects to keep the car steady as well as tapping the throttle lightly to give the car enough power. Tested before in massive ECP jams even upslope with full aircon on.